We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect setting for our once in a lifetime trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel to your Saves list
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   215 E 64th Street, New York City, NY 10021 (Upper East Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
25% OFF LONGER STAYS
Ranked #66 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect setting for our once in a lifetime trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This hotel is absolutely wonderful. We took our daughter on a one week trip to NYC for her Sweet 16. We used the hotel as our base of operations. It was perfect for afternoon breaks, and then resting each night. The beds were comfortable, the bathrooms clean. The price was good for the size of room we had, with five guests. Every need was accommodated with relative speed. A special shout out to those who went above and beyond: Pedro, Krys, Caprice, Terrence and Michael. If we get the chance to return we would definitely choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    830
    364
    78
    36
    19
See reviews for
602
247
68
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Almaty
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I have stayed in Junior suite with a patio garden. I totally felt at home and found having a kitchen very useful. The room was good size, patio garden perfect, but kitchen and bathroom were a bit old. Not many toiletries in the bathroom. All in all the room was great. The hotel has GREAT staff, doing everything they can to help. With this kind of service I had a great stay and hope to be back.
On a few occasions I ordered from the neighboring restaurants, the food was good, and service fast.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveSassoGM, General Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Sunpleaseplz,

It is wonderful to hear that you had a great stay. My team and I appreciate the 5 circle review and the wonderful feedback especially from a senior TripAdvisor contributor. We love your “sunpleaseplz” screen name and hope that you were able to enjoy some sunshine during your visit and in our Junior Patio Suite room category that feature nearly 300 square feet of outdoor space to our already oversized rooms. Our housekeeping team is happy to provide supplemental bathroom toiletries like toothpaste, mouthwash, and cotton swabs in addition to our Comfort Zone bathroom amenities, upon request and we will review our current offerings to keep things robust. We look forward to the chance to welcome you back soon for another great stay here on the Upper East Side!

Wishing you TLC now and always,

Steve Sasso
General Manager

For more information on Affinia’s Tender Loving Comfort® movement, our Best Rate Promise, or Affinia Gardens, please visit our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We've been staying here on our trips to NYC for the last 5 years and I've been delinquent in giving it a review and I apologize. This is a great place to stay. The rooms are very big and the rooms have a kitchen, which is a real plus. The location is great because you are north of the 59th street bridge, which makes getting a taxi easier. It also far enough east so that you are in a neighborhood with supermarkets, so you can stock up your kitchen. We especially use it for breakfast, which can be expensive in the City. We just came back and were upgraded to a full suite, we usually get a junior suite, which we've always been happy with, but this was really a treat.
The price is definitely right especially on a Sunday night, we got a great deal. Compared to other hotels in New York City, you get a lot for your money.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveSassoGM, General Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Louise L,

Thank you for taking the time to post an excellent review here on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your loyalty and are glad that you took a moment to share your valuable feedback about the hotel and the local area. Our guests frequently comment on the excellent value we offer for a city that can often times be very expensive for its residents and visitors and we are delighted to hear you found this to be the case. All of our 129 spacious suites feature a full kitchen and are great amenity to have when preparing a nice breakfast or other meal. We look forward to welcoming you back for many more years to come and making sure we are always a great place to stay!

Wishing you and your friends TLC now and always,

Steve Sasso
General Manager

For more information on Affinia’s Tender Loving Comfort® movement, our Best Rate Promise, or Affinia Gardens, please visit our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Just to let you know that we had a wonderful, wonderful 7 day stay at The Affinia. Thank you very, very much for arranging our room – everything was perfect.



The staff were absolutely FANTASTIC. It was lovely to see some old faces again!



We will see you next year again – please just order some cooler weather for us!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveSassoGM, General Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear millerpb,

A wonderful stay is music to our ears here at the Affinia Gardens. We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments and post a review. A repeat stay is one of the ultimate compliments for us and we are happy we had the chance to welcome you back. As for the weather, we are constantly trying new ways to influence this but in the meantime our Engineering team will continue to work hard to make sure we are always a cool place to come back to during the summer. Thank you again and see you next year!

Wishing you TLC now and always,

Steve Sasso
General Manager

For more information on Affinia’s Tender Loving Comfort® movement, our Best Rate Promise, or Affinia Gardens, please visit our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

After coming to the Affinia Gardens for the past 7 years and MANY thousands of dollars later it's time to not come back. The last time we stayed here we said we were not coming back and this time solidified that.
While its great that they remodeled the lobby the rooms are a dump.
The furniture had rips and stains, the carpet stained and not to mention the gross bathrooms.
There's nothing like spending nearly $500 a night to come back to a hallway always filled with maids carts, bags of linens and garbage near the elevators. Every day for 6 days was it like this. The only thing maid service did in our rooms was make the bed and change the bathroom. Everything else was left as is, coffee cups, things that were obvious to toss, garbage not changed. The head of housekeeping is not doing her job at all as we did complain and only got some [--] responses. Sorry Affinia Gardens my business is going elsewhere.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

we recently spent a week in NYC, our 1st time in the Big Apple, and had the pleasure of staying at the Affinia Gardens. The service was spectacular, the rooms clean, the beds comfy. My only 2 complaints is that there was no free internet in the rooms, it was quite pricy to obtain and there was no restaurant. However we were in NYC so no shortages of restaurants nearby. Caprice, Pedro, Michael, Krys and the others were extremely helpful with directions, restaurant suggestions and general info and made sure our stay was pleasurable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveSassoGM, General Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear gilbesm,

Thank you for posting a review of the Affinia Gardens and for visiting the Big Apple for the first time. New York is such an amazing place and we are so happy to hear that you had such a pleasurable stay and that Caprice, Pedro, Michael, Krys and the rest of the team were able to assist; they truly are great ambassadors for our hotel and the city. I hope that you will be back for more trips and consider our TLC for Business package (simply use the promo code TLCBUS on our website) which includes free in-room wifi for a discounted rate enhancing our already great value for the Upper East Side. My team and I thank you again for taking the time to post and for staying with us.

Wishing you TLC now and always,

Steve Sasso
General Manager

For more information on Affinia’s Tender Loving Comfort® movement, our Best Rate Promise, or Affinia Gardens, please visit our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Thank you to the staff at the Affiinia Gardens for a lovely stay in NYC. Each time I entered the lobby, I was greeted by a smile from the staff. The rooms were huge for NYC and very comfortable. The location is also great for someone looking for a quieter spot with lots of neighborhood shops and diners. Also, easy access to Central Park. Thanks!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveSassoGM, General Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Ms. Gina G,

It is always our pleasure and Thank You very much for taking a few moments to post a review. My team and I love to see and appreciate 5 circle reviews; it is always wonderful when a valued guest takes the time to share their honest feedback for the Tripadvisor. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our large and comfortable suites, amazing staff, and exceptional Upper East Side location convenient to public transportation, great shopping, restaurants, and of course the one and only Central Park.

We look forward to the chance to welcome you back soon and my team and I are always available should you need anything.

Wishing you TLC now and always,

Steve Sasso
General Manager

For more information on Affinia’s Tender Loving Comfort® movement, our Best Rate Promise, or Affinia Gardens, please visit our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
#82 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,815 reviews
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#95 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,458 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#149 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#15 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,350 reviews
Upper East Side
Loews Regency New York Hotel
Loews Regency New York Hotel
#44 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 651 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#29 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel

Address: 215 E 64th Street, New York City, NY 10021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in New York City
#31 Business Hotel in New York City
#45 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#71 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquil. Thoughtful. Private. Just right for a little alone time in NYC. Discreetly located on the Upper East Side on an intimate, tree-lined street, the Gardens NYC is the picture of Manhattan gentility. It's surrounded by world-class NYC shopping and Manhattan's famed museums, adding grace and charm to its locale. But guests find it's just right for a tranquil retreat. With such great in-room service, you can simply take to your hotel suite and escape for some alone time. Our 129 suites, many larger than New York City apartments, offer generous living space, including full kitchens and large vanities with Hollywood lighting, making them ideal for stays of a day, a week or much, much longer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Otel, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Gardens Hotel New York City
Affinia Gardens New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.