We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay, Relaxing in a City of Chaos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Affinia Gardens

Save Saved
You added Affinia Gardens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Affinia Gardens
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   215 E 64th Street, New York City, NY 10021 (Formerly Lyden Gardens) (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Two Suite to Miss
Ranked #47 of 449 hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay, Relaxing in a City of Chaos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2008

Pros.
1. Excellent staff, everyone is so friendly and accomadating and a special thank you to Noemi Calederon the front desk manager for making our stay extra special.

2. The idea location on the upper east side for a more quite off the busy streets.

3. Close to great shops and central park.

4. We had the one bedroom suite and it was HUGE for NYC hotel standards. It was like having our very own apartment for the week.

The perfect place to stay at the end of a hectic new york day.

we will be back soon!

  • Liked — Location, Size, Staff was amazing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,015 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    629
    281
    60
    33
    12
See reviews for
425
196
50
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
miami
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2008

I just wanted to express how amazing my recent stay at the Affinia Gardens was. I have never stayed at a hotel where everyone is so friendly and helpful and I travel alot. I just wanted to give kudos to everyone working there and say keep up the good work. Service was outstanding, room was great I loved every minute of my stay. Can't wait to go back!!!!!!!!!

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tn
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2008

We stayed in a junior suite-- one very large room- plenty of space to spread out. had a kitchen which had a regular sized refrigerator , oven/stove, microwave, toaster, coffeepot and sink. The stove looked like it had never been used. Bathroom was small but very adequate- plenty of water pressure and hot water. Bed/pillows very comfortable. Everything very clean. I loved the tea bar in the lobby- I used it regularly since I don't drink coffee. All the hotel staff were very nice. The maid saw me returning to my room w a cup of tea and offered to hold the cup while I found my key- wonderful staff.
Cons: The door to the suite had a large gap around it - like having a night light in the room at night. Everytime any one shut their door ,which was often , our door would rattle and shake. Also be aware that even tho we were on the six floor on the" quiet side" you could still hear the traffic. We used earplugs and slept fine. Other than the noisy door - it was a great stay.

  • Liked — Large room and friendly staff, tea bar
  • Disliked — noisy door and traffic noise
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2008

Myself and two friends stayed in the Affinia Gardens during a five day break in New York. Whilst the hotel might look a little drab, the room was fantastic! Two queen sized beds in one room, and a pullout out queen size sofa-bed in the other. Both rooms had big tv's and air-con. The rooms were quiet, spacious and a joy to spend time in. We also had a well equipped kitchen, not that we did any cooking, but everything was there in case we needed to. The bathroom was clean and had new appliances.

The staff were always friendly, helpful and polite.

I really can't fault this hotel. Great stay. I'll be coming back.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2008

We switched to this hotel for an extended family vacation with older kids. The rooms are spacious and the property is modern and very well cared-for. Service was outstanding. Combine it with a good location and fair value. We know several frequent travelers to New York and are going to make a point of recommending the Affinia Gardens to them. Be sure not to miss this choice in midtown.

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, ca
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2008

We stayed here for 3 nights after moving from a cheaper hotel. I was under the impression everything in NY was small and slightly ratty unless you were willing to pay the big bucks. At a mid-range price ($400ish), this was one of the nicest hotels I've ever stayed at, and larger than most NY apartments! We had a 500 sq. ft. suite that was tastefully decorated. They pride themselves on "serenity" -- so tea served in the lobby, and a "pillow menu". Staff was very nice and great service. Good location, about 3 blocks off Central Park in an area that wasn't too noisy. Would stay there again!

  • Liked — large, tastefully decorated rooms
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
349 reviews 349 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 128 cities Reviews in 128 cities
397 helpful votes 397 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2008

This hotel is well situated for supermarkets and restaurants and is less than 10 minutes walk to 59th Street subway, Central Park and Bloomingdales. The concierges are very helpful although multi task as bell boy and porter so can be extremely busy.

Check in was not good - e-mailed ahead our room preferences and arrival time but on check-in found that our confirmed room (booked 6 weeks ago) was now not available - apparently, first in first served and as many of their guests are patients recovering from procedures from the 3 nearby hospitals - they seem to get priority.

Room 408 was a junior suite - spacious and well furnished with a small, basic kitchenette and a small bathroom. The ambience was good and the bed was comfortable. Daily housekeeping was excellent. The view of the street was of the hospital opposite, as well as a 100 garbage bags stacked up on the footpath, waiting for collection.

The hotel theme is "Tranquility" and this it is not! It is bright and well decorated but on arrival the small foyer and "Serenity Lounge" was crowded with a noisy Italian group waiting to depart. There was not enough room for everyone to sit - some sat on the floor and others on cushions. Many families use this hotel and their kids have heaps of energy.

In summary, I'd use this hotel again if I could be guaranteed a high room at the back.

  • Liked — Large, attractive rooms
  • Disliked — street noise, confirmed room not available
  • Stayed March 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Affinia Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Affinia Gardens

Address: 215 E 64th Street, New York City, NY 10021 (Formerly Lyden Gardens)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in New York City
#40 Family Hotel in New York City
#43 Business Hotel in New York City
#56 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Affinia Gardens 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking to spread out and relax? Look no further than Upper East Side hotel Affinia Gardens. Set in New York’s Upper East Side, featuring spacious rooms and suites, soothing services and comforting amenities, Affinia Gardens is the perfect place for a tranquil retreat. It’s also deceptively close to some of Manhattan’s most popular attractions, such as Central Park, just four blocks away. Our 129 suites offer generous living space, including full kitchens and large vanities with Hollywood lighting, making them ideal for stays of a day, a week or much, much longer. With rooms larger than many New York City apartments, Affinia Gardens Upper East Side hotel is your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Affinia Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Gardens Hotel New York City
Affinia Gardens New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Affinia Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.