We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NYC's Best Kept Secret” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel to your Saves list
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   215 E 64th Street, New York City, NY 10021 (Upper East Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Exclusive 20% Savings
Ranked #55 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Palm Beach
1 review
“NYC's Best Kept Secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Affinia Gardens exceeded my expectations and continues to do so as I am an extended stay guest. When I arrived late at night (midnight) after several flight delays on Jan 28, my room was unavailable due to a guest having to stay an extra night and the hotel was completely booked...this could have been a disaster as I needed to be at Cornell Med Center at 7am the next morning. Niño, the night desk clerk, was more than apologetic and sent me to stay at their sister hotel in Midtown, Affinia 50. The hotel comped my room that night and gave me cab fare for both to and from the hotel.
Affinia 50's staff were very warm and welcoming and the hotel is in a great location. There is some street noise and some construction going on inside the hotel after 9am right now. The rooms are huge by NYC standards and they may be due for a little facelift/updating.. they were clean and the bed linens were of higher quality, but the matress was firmer than I am use to...I was there for 12 hours and what I remember most was the friendly staff.
Affinia Gardens is amazing...I usually stay in 5 star hotels when I visit NYC, but when staying for two weeks, it just did not make sense to spend a ton of money...especially when I needed to be walking distance to Cornell. I love that this hotel has kitchens in every room- not just kitchenettes, but full size refrigerators, stoves with ovens, microwaves, etc... My room even has a full size dishwasher. The hotel staff goes above and beyond to help their guests. I changed rooms 3 times only because I needed more space to accommodate a friend staying with me and the hotel bellman, Krys, literally moved us from room to room while we were out at lunch. Krys is amazing! He makes everyone feel right at home here and everyone loves him...the rest of the staff is just as amazing...so professional, yet friendly and helpful as well. The hotel sent me a really nice bottle of red wine with an apology note for the mix up with the room on my first night- I had forgotten all about it, but this sort of gesture is exactly what a hotel guest needs to be reminded that the hotel really does care about it's guests. I have stayed in 3 different rooms and have found the corner rooms to be the best layout. Street side or garden side, it does not matter as they are both quiet (for NYC that is!). I went from staying in a junior suite to a one bedroom and both are very spacious. The one bedroom is like a regular apartment! The couches in all of my rooms had pull out beds. For the price, this hotel can not be beat. Great location, a gourmet food restaraunt, regular supermarket, organic vitamin store+supermarket (with juice bar and smoothie bar, shots of wheatgrass and all), 24 hr drug stores, beauty salons and shopping all within a block. My husband is equally impressed and he is the picky one! We are definitely making Affinia Hotels our new must stay at hotel when we visit NYC...especially Affinia Gardens!

Room Tip: The corner rooms are the best, all rooms seem to be quiet without street noise no matter which floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    766
    339
    69
    35
    16
See reviews for
538
237
61
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coxsackie, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

The staff was wonderful and professional. Kris the bellman, the front desk staff and housekeeping made our stay the best. We were in town with family for surgery, we had special requests which were all met with a smile. Will definitely stay here any time we come back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The Affinia Gardens has everything going for it. The location on the upper East Side is great, a quiet neighborhood but easy walk to main streets with convenient great restaurants, a wonderfully helpful and friendly staff (from front desk to bell help to housekeeping, all were sincerely and genuinely helpful) and quite extensive kitchen facilities in each room. This was terrific for us, as we were staying there while getting care and nearby hospitals and the ability to cook and to order-in takeout food and re-heat it was a God-send. This hotel is like a wonderful secret compared to all of the big chains in NYC. Only detriment was the lack of a view, at least from our lower floor room, but this was a pretty minor concern. Overall, we had a great stay and this hotel has become my hotel of choice for future NYC stays.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The staff here is extremely professional, kind, compassionate and helpful. We stayed here with a family member who was in town for an appt at Sloan Kettering.

Krys ( his trademark hat looks great on him) was amazing with assisting with our travel needs. Also overnight security officer Mr Fitzroy went above and beyond to help us secure a taxi on a very early chilly morning - thanks again!

Our suite was spacious and had two lovely balconys. The room was very clean and the beds super comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood florida/Guangzhou
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Amazing hotel... large beautiful rooms/kitchen/ and helpful staff.. paticularly Sal, Caprice and Pedro. Will stay here whenever I get to the New York.
What else can I say.. been coming to NY for years... this was amazing!!!
Dr. Judie Manulkin

Room Tip: I think they qll are fine I stayed in the smallest" and it was very large..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Rooms are huge by NYC standards, kitchen, couch, etc. One could live here. Clean! Good staff - really appreciated service Kris provided, very courteous & professional. Close to several great diners, Central Park and subway. If you want a hotel bar & room service, this is not the place for you but if you want clean, quiet, friendly place this is it. We'd happily stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Pleased with everything except te WIFI service when obtanined from the room. It was not reliable due to the fact that its connection stopped short after a little usage time and sometimes asking to chose the extension of time for the service eventhough it had already been contracted for a week long. Please consider this as a way to collaborate with the hotel and not as a complaint.
I also want to point out the excellent service and kindness of your employees, particularly from SHEFI, CAPRICE, NIGEL, SAL, JOANA and VASHYNA.

Room Tip: Rooms facing north are absolutely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel

Address: 215 E 64th Street, New York City, NY 10021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in New York City
#30 Business Hotel in New York City
#31 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#61 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquil. Thoughtful. Private. Just right for a little alone time in NYC. Discreetly located on the Upper East Side on an intimate, tree-lined street, the Gardens NYC is the picture of Manhattan gentility. It's surrounded by world-class NYC shopping and Manhattan's famed museums, adding grace and charm to its locale. But guests find it's just right for a tranquil retreat. With such great in-room service, you can simply take to your hotel suite and escape for some alone time. Our 129 suites, many larger than New York City apartments, offer generous living space, including full kitchens and large vanities with Hollywood lighting, making them ideal for stays of a day, a week or much, much longer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Gardens Hotel New York City
Affinia Gardens New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.