We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some improvements” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City to your Saves list
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   569 Lexington Avenue, at East 51st Street, New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
NYC Winter Sale from $109
Ranked #297 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Warren, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Some improvements”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Went on a Groupon deal. First person we dealt with was a bellman to store our luggage because we had tickets for a 2:00 show. He was rude, abrupt and impatient. Granted the front lobby was quite busy, but he was still over the top. The people at the front desk were very nice and helpful. In fact everyone was other than the one bellman. Had to pay for each bag when we dropped and again when we picked them up. The complete "update" at the hotel, is exaggerated. The room we stayed in was decent. Carpet and tile seemed new, but the bathroom door was rotting from the bottom and the bathtub was old, chipped and not very appealing. For the deal I got it, it was more than worth it. We could walk to Rockefeller Center, theaters and good food. Almost forgot, the Concierge here was outstanding. I asked for a great pizza, he asked more questions and made suggestions before he gave me his best advise (I know it's the right thing, but not all will do much more than pass over a list) he then proceeded to find me just the right reservation for dinner.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    839
    446
    173
    87
See reviews for
421
628
122
559
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Carteret, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Great location Uptown, very nice staff and rooms. Lobby is nice but could use some updated furniture. Rooms are very comfortable and clean. Nice restaurant for meals. Wish they had 24 hour room service but it stops at 10pm.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, TX
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We have returned to this hotel a half dozen times. The personnel is polite, the rooms are spotless, and its convenient to the subway 6/E, bus from Long Island and MTA buses and midtown Manhattan. The price is always right.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I didn't choose this hotel since Priceline chose it for me through express deals but if I were given a chance to choose my own I will probably go with another one. After seeing the reviews on Tripadvisor I thought it would be a good idea to ask for a higher-level room so I did asked. The person at check-in did assigned me one but asked me to come back half an hour later. When I came back, she said the room was prepared yet and asked me to come back later. So I repeated coming back 3 or 4 times...one word I would use to describe this process: hectic. And during this time I tried to ask them to store my luggage so I could explore the nearby area but they say it would cost me $2 and I was like what?

The room was nice and clean. However, there's no free wifi. Let me reiterate this: wifi is only free for HHonors members as well as AT-T u-verse subscribers and those who purchased passes/have promo code. You have to spend $15 a day to get wifi connected (which I thought was insane and didn't spend my money on that). I also asked for toothpaste through CareLine but nobody delivered for the first time and I had to call again.

Pretty much it, nothing special except for the cookie at check-in. Don't know how it's rated 4-star.

Room Tip: higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Doubletree by Hilton really means Hilton class and a world-class breakfast at the Metropolitan. More user-friendly than the huge Waldorf. The front desk staff are as good as anywhere at any price. The rooms are amazingly quiet for the location (except for inevitable big city noise from outside).

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

If you book well ahead of time you can get a great price at a very good hotel located in the heart of Manhattan. The review must have 200 characters minimum. The review must have 200 characters minimum. The review must have 200 characters minimum. The review must have 200 characters minimum. The review must have 200 characters minimum.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed in the hotel for a business errand. I arrived in early morning and the only fortunate thing was that they accepted my request to hold the room for the next day. However, this was the only positive thing regarding my experience at this hotel. The staffs are not willing to help. Rooms not clean. Staff are rude. I stayed in the highest floor (19th floor) but the my room was still dark due to surrounding high-rise building. Carpet was dirty with signs of food, etc. More specifically I was bothered with the attitude of front desk staff. I asked for a good restaurant nearby and they told me they are not in charge of giving directions or hints and should use my mobile phone applications like yelp to find out where the restaurants are located! Another time I asked about a charge they put on my credit card at check out and the front desk lady did shout on me that go call customer service to find out what the charge is about!!! I think this is very surprising as I had never had such experience in talking to a "front desk" person!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nycdtdt, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Behrang A:

We wish your concerns could have been addressed with the Manager on Duty so to seek a resolution and provide you with a comfortable stay. Our sincere apologies for your inconveniences experienced with us. We appreciate your comments and feedback to better our service. They will be reviewed with the team and taken into consideration.

Best Regards,

Kim Ng, Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City

Address: 569 Lexington Avenue, at East 51st Street, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#153 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#205 Family Hotel in New York City
#239 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 764
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Metropolitan New York City is a modern, landmark hotel conveniently located on Lexington Avenue at 51st Street, in the heart of Midtown’s luxurious East Side. The contemporary hotel recently completed a $25 million dollar revitalization project which included all-new guestrooms, suites and meeting space. With it’s ideal Midtown location, the hotel is steps from fashionable Park Avenue, Fifth Avenue shopping, Bloomingdales, the United Nations and many upscale boutiques. Times Square, Broadway theaters, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Central Park, St. Patrick’s Cathedral and The Museum of Modern Art are all within walking distance. Grand Central Terminal and all major subway lines are just a few blocks from the hotel. Penn Station/Madison Square Garden and Port Authority Bus Terminal are accessible via quick taxi ride and the hotel is convenient to all (3) area airports.Each of the hotel’s 764 brand-new guestrooms (including 22 suites) features all-new carpeting, furniture and wall treatments plus brand-new bathrooms. Modern in-room amenities include high-speed Internet access, Sweet Dreams by Doubletree Sleep Experience, 37-inch flat-screen television, MP3 connectivity and brand-new work desk with ergonomic chair. Onsite hotel amenities include a newly renovated lobby with spacious seating area, trendy Met Bar lobby lounge, Met Grill (open for breakfast), room service, complimentary 24-hour Fitness Center, complimentary 24-hour business center, Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk, gift shop, salon and barber shop – all onsite. The hotel has 14,000 square feet of brand-new event space. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self & valet parking is available. The hotel allows pets, with a $50 pet surcharge per stay (under 60 lbs). 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, HostelBookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City
New York City Doubletree
Doubletree Metropolitan New York
Doubletree Metropolitan Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.