We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wear comfortable walking shoes” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City to your Saves list
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   569 Lexington Avenue, at East 51st Street, New York City, NY 10022 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #308 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wear comfortable walking shoes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Far from Time Square but close to E subway line (2 blocks - 53rd & Lexington)

The rooms are small but clean (if you don't move furniture), doors bang loud when closing and will wake you up at night. Even on the 11th floor you hear street noise. Oh and there's a fire department right on 51 and Lexington - be sure to hear the sirens a few times a night as well. Bring your own soap and toiletries unless you like the smell off coriander lemon. YUK!

On the plus side, there are lots of little cafés on Lexington (heading towards Central Park), if you walk down 50th for about 10 mins, you'll see Rockefeller Center. But seriously, the E train (blue line) will save your life. Learn it, use it, love it.

The E train can easily get you to and from Airports - make sure you have $5.00 on your metro card.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadria B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Julie R,
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We apologize for the noise disturbance that you experienced and your dissatisfaction with our toiletries. We often get wonderful comments from guest regarding our choice in toiletries but we will certainly keep your comment in mind. We thank you for staying with us and hope to see you again in the future so that you can let us know how we are doing.
Nadria Buchanan- Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    733
    1,080
    591
    208
    122
See reviews for
559
807
163
723
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

This is a really nice hotel for it to belong to a chain in major city. Vicki & Raphel were exceptional and provided more customer service than we expected. Vicki helped in making our girls trip a success for the first time visitors. I will be returning.

Thanks!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadria B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Bianca S,
Thank you for staying with us and we hope look forward to future visits. I am very excited to hear of the wonderful experience you had with us and the exceptional customer service you received from Vicki and Raphael. I will certainly share your comments with them. See you soon.
Nadria Buchanan- Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

we were there for an event. the restrictions were ridiculous. workers going through the garbage just to ensure that people did not bring in food or drink. authors and workers not being allowed to enjoy a drink other than the water provided. or a snack like maybe a piece of chocolate. it was crazy!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadria B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Georgette G,
Thank you for sharing your candid feedback. I do apologize for any inconvenience that you experienced during your function. It is not our intention to make your experience with us an unpleasant one. It is our policy that clients do not bring any refreshments purchased outside into our meeting spaces. We do offer catering options for our clients who wish to utilize these services. Once again, my apologies for any inconvenience that this may have caused. I will share your comments with my team for further review.
Nadria Buchanan- Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

I attended a bachelorette party and this is where we stayed. The manager was very accommodating and made sure that we enjoyed ourselves. They upgraded us to a suite and the rooms were clean and comfortable. I would absolutely recommend this location to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadria B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear LittleMiss23,
We are very thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful experience with us . We appreciate the recommendation and hope that the next time you are in the Big Apple we will be your first choice for your lodging needs.!Thank you for staying with us.
Nadria Buchanan- Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Quite a nice hotel, very friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are very clean and serviced each day to a high standard. The location is not far from places and has a subway station next to hotel so getting around the city is easy. I would use this hotel if staying in the city again.

Room Tip: The wi-fi was quite expensive and could have been cheaper, though this was first trip to new york so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadria B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Julian3524,
Thank you for choosing our property for your four day stay in the Big Apple. I am very thrilled to hear that you were pleased with the friendliness of the staff, the location and the service provided at our hotel. We would be truly humbled if you decided to stay with us again so that we can exceed your expectations.
Nadria Buchanan- Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The location of this hotel is great but it is the staff that really makes it a great spot. Stephany at the front desk helped me with a problem upon check-in on Tuesday evening. She took my concerns to management about my room rate and quickly resolved my problem. She was a true professional and always had a smile on her face. I will definitely stay at this location again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadria B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Edward K,
Thank you for sharing such wonderful comments regarding the tremendous services rendered by Stephany.I will certainly commend her for this, we are happy that you had a great experience with us and hope to see you for future visits.
Nadria Buchanan- Manager on Duty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Pros:

Very good location. You have immediate access to the 6 train and about a block and a half to the E. Even though the hallways are very loud, you can hear just about everything the people in the rooms are saying, inside the rooms it seemed to be fairly quiet.

Cons:

Initial thought after walking to the hotel was that any of the pictures that are on the website had to be at least 10 years old. The outside of the building does not look very nice, and I was a little shocked by that.

Service here is poor, probably near the bottom of all the hotels I've stayed at. This was the first hotel that I've ever been at that I wasn't able to check in early. I'm not sure if they were completely booked but the folks at the front desk didn't provide any additional information on it. All they said was that we were there about half an hour early and check in isn't until 3, so if you come back at 3 your room will be ready. I also had a question about where the ice maker was and called three different numbers (concierge, front desk, the careline) and it took 10 minutes for someone at the front desk to answer (even when the careline care says to call anytime and we'll answer). I'm a Silver Honors member and we didn't receive our check-in goodies, and had to ask for the check-in cookie.

I realize I might be downgrading it a little too much for just poor service, but I expected a little bit more out of a "higher level" Hilton hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadria B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Frank502,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It is our aim that all our guests have an amazing experience with us and it is very disappointing to hear that your experience was anything but amazing. I am truly disappointed that we failed to deliver on our service promise. It is my hope that you will reconsider staying with us again when you are in the city so that we can truly demonstrate the level of service that you have come to expect and deserve from the Hilton family.
Nadria Buchanan- Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#208 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,690 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#380 of 468 in New York City
3.0 of 5 stars 411 reviews
Upper West Side
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
#343 of 468 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#284 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 5,431 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#263 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,218 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#96 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 5,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City

Address: 569 Lexington Avenue, at East 51st Street, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#175 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#236 Family Hotel in New York City
#242 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 764
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Metropolitan New York City is a modern, landmark hotel conveniently located on Lexington Avenue at 51st Street, in the heart of Midtown’s luxurious East Side. The contemporary hotel recently completed a $25 million dollar revitalization project which included all-new guestrooms, suites and meeting space. With it’s ideal Midtown location, the hotel is steps from fashionable Park Avenue, Fifth Avenue shopping, Bloomingdales, the United Nations and many upscale boutiques. Times Square, Broadway theaters, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Central Park, St. Patrick’s Cathedral and The Museum of Modern Art are all within walking distance. Grand Central Terminal and all major subway lines are just a few blocks from the hotel. Penn Station/Madison Square Garden and Port Authority Bus Terminal are accessible via quick taxi ride and the hotel is convenient to all (3) area airports.Each of the hotel’s 764 brand-new guestrooms (including 22 suites) features all-new carpeting, furniture and wall treatments plus brand-new bathrooms. Modern in-room amenities include high-speed Internet access, Sweet Dreams by Doubletree Sleep Experience, 37-inch flat-screen television, MP3 connectivity and brand-new work desk with ergonomic chair. Onsite hotel amenities include a newly renovated lobby with spacious seating area, trendy Met Bar lobby lounge, Met Grill (open for breakfast), room service, complimentary 24-hour Fitness Center, complimentary 24-hour business center, Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk, gift shop, salon and barber shop – all onsite. The hotel has 14,000 square feet of brand-new event space. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self & valet parking is available. The hotel allows pets, with a $50 pet surcharge per stay (under 60 lbs). 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City
New York City Doubletree
Doubletree Metropolitan New York
Doubletree Metropolitan Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.