We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Biggest Room Ever in NYC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City to your Saves list
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   569 Lexington Avenue, at East 51st Street, New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
NYC Winter Sale from $109
Ranked #299 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Biggest Room Ever in NYC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I checked into the Double Tree for New Years and was upgraded to a larger room, biggest I've ever had in NYC. I was very pleased. However Double Tree is a brand of Hilton and that means pay for in room wifi. The lobby resembled an upscale youth hostel overflowing with travelers clutching onto their digital devices and competing for the free in public spaces wireless. You couldn't access the lobby bar without stepping over some tourist trying to charge their netbook.

Room Tip: Slow elevators as for a lower floor room and walk the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer U, Rooms Controller at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay! I am so glad to see you had an enjoyable stay and we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to NYC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    577
    836
    445
    173
    87
See reviews for
420
626
120
559
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This was my first time visiting New York City and I was unsure about to stay. I am glad I came across this hotel and booked my stay here. My experience was wonderful. Excellent staff and service- Especially from Franklin at the front desk and Rafael. Very accommodating to our needs and made us feel comfortable. They were also very helpful in regards to room service and city tips. If you would like to have a pleasant stay and be taken care of, this is the hotel. Thank you double tree and special thanks to Franklin and Rafael. :)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Plata, Argentina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed here from January 1st until January 10th, after spending New Year's Eve at The Lexington (due to lack of available rooms at the Doubletree for that weekend). The hotel's location is excellent. Most of the major attractions are within walking distance, and the subway entrance is literally just around the corner. The staff is great, we were treated very well for each request and consult we did. This hotel is promoted as "newly renovated", but it shows that some time has passed since the renovation. The look of the hotel is very nice and modern, but the walls and carpets already show some wear and tear. Also, the bed was too soft for us, but we are used to a more firm matress. Besides that, the overall quality of the hotel and its services is quite good. We even had an iron and ironing board in the room (we missed the fridge and coffee maker, which are available in equivalent rooms of other Doubletree hotels). And the free wifi is only available in the lobby, there's an additional charge to use it from the rooms. One last important thing to take into account: most of the door locks (at least on the 11th and 12th floors) don't work well. This was remarked by the housekeeping staff, who warned us to double-check the door before leaving, because they need a good pull to actually stay locked (they even mentioned that "a guy" roams around the floors checking for unlocked doors, to take stuff from the rooms).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer U, Rooms Controller at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your stay. I apologize if there was anything wrong with your lock while staying with us. I will be sure to contact the engineering department to ensure any issues with locks are handled.

I hope that the rest of your stay in NYC was great and that you return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The property is a little bit older, but the staff is very nice and the rooms were very clean. The bed linens/ bedding was new and the beds were very comfortable. The parking garage egress to the hotel is bit difficult with bags and you have to pre pay at the hotel desk, if you want the hotel rate. I had a room on the 12th floor and I slept well, without any city noise.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer U, Rooms Controller at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you so much for letting us know about your stay! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverthorne, Colorado
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Old, dated, noisy, in desperate need of facelift, this is NOT a 4 star level property--Somehow got on the rating systems at this level and remained there for some reason. Staff is friendly enough, and compensate for shortcomings by making adjustments and responding to failures, but property itself is at best, adequate or average. Had other members of my party stay at the Westin Grand Central, also a 4-star rated hotel, and it is several steps ahead of the doubletree. Disappointed that Hilton lets one of its prime spots deteriorate like this.
Arrived with three bags, trying to navigate through revolving door to find bellman "out to lunch", other bellman simply stares at my struggles, and after I am well inside the hotel lobby, offers to help! Front desk manager at Hilton HHonors desk was on a personal phone call for several minutes, without acknowledgement or apology for keeping me waiting, and then only cursory or bordering on rude (well this IS New York, but I've been here and lived in the area before, I know that)
Hallways scuff marks everywhere, door to room with poor seals, so morning maid services with noises and gaggles gets you up and running much earlier than planned.
Walls are quite thin, so be careful what you say in here....could hear neighbors' yelling and screaming. (agreed that in NYC you can and will hear a lot more, including sirens and street noise)
Rooms are musty, carpets haven't been cleaned in a while. dated and definitely NOT bright or attractive--80's maybe? No in room amenities such as coffee maker/mini fridge, etc. No morning paper.
Plumbing--serious problems with mysteriously malfunctioning toilets plugging up, necessitating calls to "care line"
If you have a choice, select another hotel or try to find a VERY LOW price for this one, because it is definitely NOT worth a 4 star hotel pricing value.

Room Tip: Select higher floor rooms to minimize road noise, hopefully better ambient hallway noises. Try to us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer U, Rooms Controller at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. I apologize that your stay was anything less than extraordinary. I will be sure to pass along all of your comments to the proper departments for follow up.

We hope to see you again soon for a stay that will surely exceed your expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corcoran, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We enjoyed our stay with adjoining rooms on the 11th floor just off the elevator. There was some street noise (right across from the fire station) and one night hallway noise. We found the rooms clean and comfortable. (i did find a sock in the closet floor upon check-in) The girls loved the warm cookies upon check in. We were in-house at a sold out time Dec. 27 - 30 and had no long waits (except for the elevator one am) Concierge was a bit snappy with me when inquiring about the discount tkts booth in times square (they have tickets they want to sell-albeit full price).
Comfortable lounge area in lobby, we would get breakfast next door and eat in the lobby while we planned the day out. Upon reservation I did ask for adjoining rooms and an upgrade, which we did receive. Enjoyed the area- central to everything. Beware if you go this time of year, there are mobs of tourists in the midtown/roc center/times square area. We also used the subway system alot, and was just outside the hotel. Would stay at the property again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer U, Rooms Controller at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I've stayed at a number of the hotels in the neighborhood of the Doubletree (Waldorf, W, Marriott, Courtyard Marriott). The Doubletree is not in general as good as any of them in terms of the rooms *YET* it is very frequently the cheapest and it does offer good value and the service is good. If you are paying $119 a night - and in January and other non-peak times it is certainly possible, it's a very good deal. The rooms are clean, there is a decent bar downstairs. Yes, the check-in area and lobby can be chaotic. And yes, it has nothing particularly special. But it does offer clean rooms at very reasonable prices and is where I stay the most in this neighborhood.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer U, Rooms Controller at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to NYC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City

Address: 569 Lexington Avenue, at East 51st Street, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#154 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#205 Family Hotel in New York City
#239 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 764
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Metropolitan New York City is a modern, landmark hotel conveniently located on Lexington Avenue at 51st Street, in the heart of Midtown’s luxurious East Side. The contemporary hotel recently completed a $25 million dollar revitalization project which included all-new guestrooms, suites and meeting space. With it’s ideal Midtown location, the hotel is steps from fashionable Park Avenue, Fifth Avenue shopping, Bloomingdales, the United Nations and many upscale boutiques. Times Square, Broadway theaters, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Central Park, St. Patrick’s Cathedral and The Museum of Modern Art are all within walking distance. Grand Central Terminal and all major subway lines are just a few blocks from the hotel. Penn Station/Madison Square Garden and Port Authority Bus Terminal are accessible via quick taxi ride and the hotel is convenient to all (3) area airports.Each of the hotel’s 764 brand-new guestrooms (including 22 suites) features all-new carpeting, furniture and wall treatments plus brand-new bathrooms. Modern in-room amenities include high-speed Internet access, Sweet Dreams by Doubletree Sleep Experience, 37-inch flat-screen television, MP3 connectivity and brand-new work desk with ergonomic chair. Onsite hotel amenities include a newly renovated lobby with spacious seating area, trendy Met Bar lobby lounge, Met Grill (open for breakfast), room service, complimentary 24-hour Fitness Center, complimentary 24-hour business center, Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk, gift shop, salon and barber shop – all onsite. The hotel has 14,000 square feet of brand-new event space. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self & valet parking is available. The hotel allows pets, with a $50 pet surcharge per stay (under 60 lbs). 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, HostelBookers, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City
New York City Doubletree
Doubletree Metropolitan New York
Doubletree Metropolitan Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.