We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City

Save Saved
You added Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   569 Lexington Avenue, at East 51st Street, New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #296 of 449 hotels in New York City
Albany, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I stayed here for one night a few days before Christmas. The location is amazing, being a few blocks from 5th Ave, Rockefeller Plaza, and Times Square. The #6 Subway line is literally right outside the door of the hotel which is convenient because you can get uptown or downtown very easily. Of course, each guest gets a giant, warm, chocolate chip cookie (with nuts) when they check-in. It was delicious, even with the nuts, though I do think they should offer one without nuts for those who have allergies.
Crabtree & Eveyln products were offered in the bathrooms and the rooms were of decent size. We had a room with 2 double beds and they were comfortable. I only have a couple of complaints. One: the room needed a good vacumming in the corners and I kept finding long hairs on the towels and floor of the bathroom. The housekeeping could be better. The other complaint was how loud the doors were when they closed. They could wake you from a sound sleep, even if the door closing was down the hall.
We were able to store our bags with the bellhops while we did sightseeing and shopping after checking out, which was a nice convenience, for $2 per bag.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,215 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    730
    1,258
    693
    324
    210
See reviews for
501
916
221
731
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Location is great and the hotel is much better now that it has been renovated. However, nothing at this hotel makes is great. Some areas look like they need many touch-ups even though they are renovated.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer U, Rooms Controller at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you so much for letting us know about your stay! I am so glad you enjoyed our renovations! We are constantly looking at ways to improve our hotel and will be on the lookout for any areas that need a touch up.

We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to NYC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uba, MG
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

It really depends on what you're up to in NYC in order to say if this hotel is good or not. I was in NYC for 3 days and 2 nights dedicated to getting to know Manhattan as much as my feet and money would allow me to and obviously not using any tour/sighseeing service. So the location was awesome but the hotel is overpiced as any other hotel in Manhattan. I didn't try the breakfast service as it was also overpriced and as there were many coffe shops around. The room fit my needs in terms of space as I only used it to sleep and get myself changed, not a 5 star room but also not the worst room I've ever had. Unfortunately the hotel was very crowded and I was not able to check in earlier than 1:30pm. That was not very pleasant as my flight arrived JFK at 6am and I was in Mahattan at 9am. Frontdesk people? The first one I spoke to was not the most polite one but then I was lucky enough to have nice people there the other time. The luggage storage service is useful but it would really be better if we simply could check in earlier like 10am or at most 12pm. Oh, and subway is really on the corner of the avenue. I would definately consider doubletree for the next trips to NYC.

Room Tip: If silence matters to you when getting yourself some rest, ask for a higher floor room as Manhattan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Location is great: right in the middle of Midtown, with a subway station by the corner. But it's a big chain hotel with all the downsides of a big chain hotel (impersonal service, sometimes you'll have to wait longer than usual to be able to use the elevator, etc.).

Shower was just average, and I've also found that shower water was not so hot during rush hours. Bed was comfortable. The room was quiet and of an adequate size.

The staff that carried luggage requested an upfront tip (a dollar per bag), which for me was a weird attitude.

I'm not sure if I'd stay here again. There are hotels with better services and comparable rates in Midtown Manhattan.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This hotel is well-located. The facility is utilitarian. The rooms, while clean, lack a certain element of safety. As you can see from the photo attached, the bed frame stuck out from the bed in our room, and the staff was unresponsive when we told them that they needed to fix this on two separate occasions. If you get a room that doesn't have a bed frame to hit your ankle on, then this is a very average hotel in the heart of midtown. Not a bad deal.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Excellently located hotel with all needs met. The staff were friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Rooms were comfortable and extremely well maintained by the housekeeping staff. However, rooms were noisy at night-time and I found myself awoken frequently by others returning to their rooms in the early hours. For some reason, the sound of the 'key' was very noisy!! Maybe I had jet-lag? One major beef with Hiltons, though, when will room - wireless be free of charge???????

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The subway for #6 train is right around the corner which is extremely convenient as it travels to Union Square, Lower East Side, SoHo, East Villiage and Chinatown. The train station also connects to train E and M via a walkway.

Having said that, I don't quite understand why this hotel is rated 4-star here and at Priceline. The hotel seemed to have undergone some renovation. The sink, countertop, faucet and showers are nice. Electrical outlets are well placed in the room. However, the workmanship of the renovation seemed rather poor as if it was a very hurry job and no one cared about the quality of the work. Amenities are also scarce as previous reviewers noted that there are no coffee or tea available in the room or lobby. Having said that, I appreciate the fact that they have a computer with printer so guests could check-in their flights and print boarding pass prior to going to the airport.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City

Address: 569 Lexington Avenue, at East 51st Street, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#149 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#236 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#239 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Metropolitan New York City is a modern, landmark hotel conveniently located on Lexington Avenue at 51st Street, in the heart of Midtown’s luxurious East Side. The contemporary hotel recently completed a $25 million dollar revitalization project which included all-new guestrooms, suites and meeting space. With it’s ideal Midtown location, the hotel is steps from fashionable Park Avenue, Fifth Avenue shopping, Bloomingdales, the United Nations and many upscale boutiques. Times Square, Broadway theaters, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Central Park, St. Patrick’s Cathedral and The Museum of Modern Art are all within walking distance. Grand Central Terminal and all major subway lines are just a few blocks from the hotel. Penn Station/Madison Square Garden and Port Authority Bus Terminal are accessible via quick taxi ride and the hotel is convenient to all (3) area airports.Each of the hotel’s 764 brand-new guestrooms (including 22 suites) features all-new carpeting, furniture and wall treatments plus brand-new bathrooms. Modern in-room amenities include high-speed Internet access, Sweet Dreams by Doubletree Sleep Experience, 37-inch flat-screen television, MP3 connectivity and brand-new work desk with ergonomic chair. Onsite hotel amenities include a newly renovated lobby with spacious seating area, trendy Met Bar lobby lounge, Met Grill (open for breakfast), room service, complimentary 24-hour Fitness Center, complimentary 24-hour business center, Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk, gift shop, salon and barber shop – all onsite. The hotel has 14,000 square feet of brand-new event space. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self & valet parking is available. The hotel allows pets, with a $50 pet surcharge per stay (under 60 lbs). 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Amex, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and Expedia so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City
New York City Doubletree
Doubletree Metropolitan New York
Doubletree Metropolitan Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.