We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, but just that” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City to your Saves list
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   569 Lexington Avenue, at East 51st Street, New York City, NY 10022 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special 10-15% Off & WiFi
Ranked #319 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
51 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Location, but just that”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Location is great: right in the middle of Midtown, with a subway station by the corner. But it's a big chain hotel with all the downsides of a big chain hotel (impersonal service, sometimes you'll have to wait longer than usual to be able to use the elevator, etc.).

Shower was just average, and I've also found that shower water was not so hot during rush hours. Bed was comfortable. The room was quiet and of an adequate size.

The staff that carried luggage requested an upfront tip (a dollar per bag), which for me was a weird attitude.

I'm not sure if I'd stay here again. There are hotels with better services and comparable rates in Midtown Manhattan.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elderc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Leawood, Kansas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This hotel is well-located. The facility is utilitarian. The rooms, while clean, lack a certain element of safety. As you can see from the photo attached, the bed frame stuck out from the bed in our room, and the staff was unresponsive when we told them that they needed to fix this on two separate occasions. If you get a room that doesn't have a bed frame to hit your ankle on, then this is a very average hotel in the heart of midtown. Not a bad deal.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leawooddoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Excellently located hotel with all needs met. The staff were friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Rooms were comfortable and extremely well maintained by the housekeeping staff. However, rooms were noisy at night-time and I found myself awoken frequently by others returning to their rooms in the early hours. For some reason, the sound of the 'key' was very noisy!! Maybe I had jet-lag? One major beef with Hiltons, though, when will room - wireless be free of charge???????

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melbourners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The subway for #6 train is right around the corner which is extremely convenient as it travels to Union Square, Lower East Side, SoHo, East Villiage and Chinatown. The train station also connects to train E and M via a walkway.

Having said that, I don't quite understand why this hotel is rated 4-star here and at Priceline. The hotel seemed to have undergone some renovation. The sink, countertop, faucet and showers are nice. Electrical outlets are well placed in the room. However, the workmanship of the renovation seemed rather poor as if it was a very hurry job and no one cared about the quality of the work. Amenities are also scarce as previous reviewers noted that there are no coffee or tea available in the room or lobby. Having said that, I appreciate the fact that they have a computer with printer so guests could check-in their flights and print boarding pass prior to going to the airport.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank etphonehm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed at Doubletree 26-30 December with my partner. For us this hotel was ideal and the location was perfect. About 10 mins walk to Time Square and Rockefeller. The hotel was very busy and completely sold out so using the lifts at peak time was frustrating at times. They have 4 lifts but only 3 were working, we were on floor 15 and waited forever sometimes for a lift to appear and often when it did appear it was full. We were happy to use the stairs but for some people that's not an option.

The lobby area gets very busy with people using their laptops and tablets as wifi is free in the lobby. If you want wifi in your room you have to pay.

Our hotel room was a perfect size. You had all you needed in the bathroom and they supplied soap, shower gel and shampoo. The bed was a little small but it was very comfortable.

Overall the hotel ticked all our boxes, clean, comfortable and great location and for 4 nights at $1,020 including taxes and charges in the holiday season it was a bargain in comparison to other hotels we looked at.

One thing I will point out is that you have to check out by midday so if you have an evening flight and leave your bags in the luggage room you have to pay $2 per bag.

We would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MI5TY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Took my wife and son to NYC for New Years. We were welcomed and taken very good care of, we have already recommended to several friends who have gone to NYC, perfect location, great atmosphere, helpful staff. Planning out next trip back and will be staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cneisent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

This was a very special visit for me and as a Hilton employee I know how a staff and hotel should be. The doormen were very helpful especially Timothy an A-Plus, genuine! he made an impression. From now on when I come back home I will look for him. The Bell Staff was very cordial and attentive. Great staff! GSA very nice and helpful they gave me extra cookies the best in the business. Housekeepers on the 11th Floor very nice and efficient. Overall my experience at the hotel was great! Keep up the good work! J

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scooby1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#304 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 8,101 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#228 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,984 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#140 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 6,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#110 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 4,511 reviews
Midtown
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
#283 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 8,594 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City

Address: 569 Lexington Avenue, at East 51st Street, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#189 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#228 Family Hotel in New York City
#237 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 764
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Metropolitan New York City is a modern, landmark hotel conveniently located on Lexington Avenue at 51st Street, in the heart of Midtown’s luxurious East Side. The contemporary hotel recently completed a $25 million dollar revitalization project which included all-new guestrooms, suites and meeting space. With it’s ideal Midtown location, the hotel is steps from fashionable Park Avenue, Fifth Avenue shopping, Bloomingdales, the United Nations and many upscale boutiques. Times Square, Broadway theaters, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Central Park, St. Patrick’s Cathedral and The Museum of Modern Art are all within walking distance. Grand Central Terminal and all major subway lines are just a few blocks from the hotel. Penn Station/Madison Square Garden and Port Authority Bus Terminal are accessible via quick taxi ride and the hotel is convenient to all (3) area airports.Each of the hotel’s 764 brand-new guestrooms (including 22 suites) features all-new carpeting, furniture and wall treatments plus brand-new bathrooms. Modern in-room amenities include high-speed Internet access, Sweet Dreams by Doubletree Sleep Experience, 37-inch flat-screen television, MP3 connectivity and brand-new work desk with ergonomic chair. Onsite hotel amenities include a newly renovated lobby with spacious seating area, trendy Met Bar lobby lounge, Met Grill (open for breakfast), room service, complimentary 24-hour Fitness Center, complimentary 24-hour business center, Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk, gift shop, salon and barber shop – all onsite. The hotel has 14,000 square feet of brand-new event space. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self & valet parking is available. The hotel allows pets, with a $50 pet surcharge per stay (under 60 lbs). 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City
New York City Doubletree
Doubletree Metropolitan New York
Doubletree Metropolitan Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#