We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City

Save Saved
You added Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   569 Lexington Avenue, at East 51st Street, New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
NYC Fall Sale from $159
Ranked #283 of 452 hotels in New York City
Crawley
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed at Doubletree 26-30 December with my partner. For us this hotel was ideal and the location was perfect. About 10 mins walk to Time Square and Rockefeller. The hotel was very busy and completely sold out so using the lifts at peak time was frustrating at times. They have 4 lifts but only 3 were working, we were on floor 15 and waited forever sometimes for a lift to appear and often when it did appear it was full. We were happy to use the stairs but for some people that's not an option.

The lobby area gets very busy with people using their laptops and tablets as wifi is free in the lobby. If you want wifi in your room you have to pay.

Our hotel room was a perfect size. You had all you needed in the bathroom and they supplied soap, shower gel and shampoo. The bed was a little small but it was very comfortable.

Overall the hotel ticked all our boxes, clean, comfortable and great location and for 4 nights at $1,020 including taxes and charges in the holiday season it was a bargain in comparison to other hotels we looked at.

One thing I will point out is that you have to check out by midday so if you have an evening flight and leave your bags in the luggage room you have to pay $2 per bag.

We would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,731 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    455
    698
    370
    139
    69
See reviews for
349
521
93
448
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Took my wife and son to NYC for New Years. We were welcomed and taken very good care of, we have already recommended to several friends who have gone to NYC, perfect location, great atmosphere, helpful staff. Planning out next trip back and will be staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This was a very special visit for me and as a Hilton employee I know how a staff and hotel should be. The doormen were very helpful especially Timothy an A-Plus, genuine! he made an impression. From now on when I come back home I will look for him. The Bell Staff was very cordial and attentive. Great staff! GSA very nice and helpful they gave me extra cookies the best in the business. Housekeepers on the 11th Floor very nice and efficient. Overall my experience at the hotel was great! Keep up the good work! J

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is a good solid hotel that I use for business when in NYC. It has a great location and often has rates well below its Hilton brothers. This is a basic hotel. Not fancy, but clean and comfortable. The staff is alway pleasant and there is plenty of hot water and the TVs work. What more do you really need in NYC. You aren't in your room. Save some money, stay here and then you can eat a fancy place for dinner!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham NH
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I'm from NYC and was exceedingly impressed by the friendliness of the staff and the convenient location of the hotel. The room was very clean and nicely decorated. Because we booked through Hotels.com my wife wasn't able to check in for me, and the desk agent immediately gave us a room upgrade to make up for her inconvenience. Some advice: place "do not disturb" card on your door, since the very efficient maid staff will otherwise knock on your door by 8:30am to see if it's empty. Also, check for local cheaper parking on one of the Manhattan cheap parking web-pages. Also, best coffee and croissants are around the corner at Oren's, 3rd avenue near 51st. We were very happy with this hotel and its prices.

Room Tip: Even on the 4th floor our room (right on Lexington) was absolutely quiet. It's an urban hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was in a great location. Close to walk to many sites and also close to subway. Room was comfortable and clean. Two items I would note: room was too warm - we had hotel staff up on two occasions during our 4 night stay and still couldn't get the room temp below 77 tropical degrees. Also housekeeping was most annoying repeatedly knocking on doors and announcing "houseKEEPING" over and over while we tried to sleep.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Having spent 12 hours travelling, on arrival the 4 of us were totally ignored by the hotel porter and had to handle our own luggage. The front desk receptionist was offhand, brusque and most unwelcoming even sending us to the wrong rooms. The bar area was a joke with people from outside bringing in their bags of food and eating it at the bar tables - how do they allow this with no room for residents to enjoy a pre-dinner drink. There was a problem with the a/c in our room and the guy that came to fix it said he could only set it on one temperature & if we were too hot to open the window - you can't!! We asked for extra hangers twice - we gave up!

The only positive comment I can make about this hotel is that the beds & pillows were comfortable. No way would any of us return here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City

Address: 569 Lexington Avenue, at East 51st Street, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#149 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#218 Family Hotel in New York City
#229 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Metropolitan New York City is a modern, landmark hotel conveniently located on Lexington Avenue at 51st Street, in the heart of Midtown’s luxurious East Side. The contemporary hotel recently completed a $25 million dollar revitalization project which included all-new guestrooms, suites and meeting space. With it’s ideal Midtown location, the hotel is steps from fashionable Park Avenue, Fifth Avenue shopping, Bloomingdales, the United Nations and many upscale boutiques. Times Square, Broadway theaters, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Central Park, St. Patrick’s Cathedral and The Museum of Modern Art are all within walking distance. Grand Central Terminal and all major subway lines are just a few blocks from the hotel. Penn Station/Madison Square Garden and Port Authority Bus Terminal are accessible via quick taxi ride and the hotel is convenient to all (3) area airports.Each of the hotel’s 764 brand-new guestrooms (including 22 suites) features all-new carpeting, furniture and wall treatments plus brand-new bathrooms. Modern in-room amenities include high-speed Internet access, Sweet Dreams by Doubletree Sleep Experience, 37-inch flat-screen television, MP3 connectivity and brand-new work desk with ergonomic chair. Onsite hotel amenities include a newly renovated lobby with spacious seating area, trendy Met Bar lobby lounge, Met Grill (open for breakfast), room service, complimentary 24-hour Fitness Center, complimentary 24-hour business center, Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk, gift shop, salon and barber shop – all onsite. The hotel has 14,000 square feet of brand-new event space. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self & valet parking is available. The hotel allows pets, with a $50 pet surcharge per stay (under 60 lbs). 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Amex, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, HostelBookers, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City
New York City Doubletree
Doubletree Metropolitan New York
Doubletree Metropolitan Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.