We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good position. Clean rooms, quick check in and check out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City

Save Saved
You added Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   569 Lexington Avenue, at East 51st Street, New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #299 of 449 hotels in New York City
Bassano Del Grappa, Italy
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Very good position. Clean rooms, quick check in and check out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The hotel is located in a very good position, just a few minutes walking from Rockfeller center and 5th Avenue. Rooms are clean and wide. Staff is fast and service is good. If needed it is possible to leave the bags at the hotel once you have checked out for only 2 $. Breakfast is the only weak point because hot food (such as scrambled eggs) was not included. Hall and bar are OK.

Room Tip: With "Diamond" status you are automatically upgraded to better quality rooms. For lower tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer U, Rooms Controller at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for such a great review! We are so glad you enjoyed our location! We hope to see you again soon for another great stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,207 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    728
    1,253
    692
    324
    210
See reviews for
497
913
221
730
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I recently stayed at the hotel after Hurricane Sandy took out power to my apartment in lower Manhattan. The place was great and the hotel's employees were even better. Marlyn and Alexandra made my stay as comfortable as possible during a time when the rest of the city was in a frenzy. I would highly recommend the establishment.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer U, Rooms Controller at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for such a great review! I am so glad that you felt comfortable staying with us when you had to leave your apartment! Our staff worked very hard to make all of our guests feel extra comfortable and we are so glad we were able to assist in a difficult time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This was our second stay...and the hotel keeps getting better. We especially loved the new look, and the staff was wonderful as usual...welcomed us back like family! Special thanks to the Front Desk Manager who made us feel like we're coming back home. We were very comfortable. Thank you Doubletree!...Samson Family

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer U, Rooms Controller at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you so much for a great review! I am so glad you see you had a wonderful stay!

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I was "stuck" in NYC due to Hurricane Sandy where the conference I attended was cancelled on Sunday but all flights were also cancelled.

Anyway, I must admit that under the circumstances my stay at the hotel was pretty darn good. The staff that remained was pleasant and attentive and we still had a breakfast available.

Also, I want to cite Mr. Robert Sierra -- Bellman. He was most helpful directing me to local restaurants that were open in the area -- even though most eateries were closed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the end of the hallways away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer U, Rooms Controller at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for such a great review! I am so glad you found comfort in being able to stay with us during the storm. We have an amazing staff and we wanted to make sure this unfortunate situation was comfortable for our guests.

We hope you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We were stranded during Hurricane Sandy. While other hotels offered buffets, this hotel charged top dollar (over $400 a night and got more expensive as we became more trapped), had no food service at all before 6 pm and suspended all housekeeping (although empty rooms they could make money on we're cleaned). Absolutely disgusted. You make your name by how you treat people in a disaster. These guys failed miserably and exploited their guests. We finally decided to move to the Omni. For $50 LESS a night we got true 5 star and care. Avoid this place at all cost. They should be ashamed of themselves.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer U, Rooms Controller at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for letting us know about your stay! I am sorry we did not meet your expectations when you were here during the hurricane. Our limited staff worked very hard to make sure all of our guests are comfortable, and I regret to see that you did not feel this way.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Having just returned from 3 nights at the Doubletree, wanted to take a moment to write a quick review. The location of the hotel is fantastic. It's close to the subways, Central Park, shopping, Grand Central Station and tons of restaurants (check out the "Luncheonette" around the corner for breakfast! Head left out of hotel and take your first left!)
The rooms are quite large by NYC standards and beds were comfy and fitted with nice linens.
Our bathtub looked like it had been recently re-done and had cracked a bit around the drain, but nothing major. An amazing hair dryer is provided in the bathroom as well. Considering how busy the area is, we heard nothing and slept like babies (we were on the 16th floor)!
My one complaint (and this happens at a lot of hotels where we have stayed) is that as part of their "green" initiatives, they say that they will not change towels and sheets every day. You are to drop in tub/on floor those towels that you want changed and hang the ones you don't. EVERY morning we hung towels and EVERY morning we received freshly laundered ones!! I would much rather have used towels a few times, than know that I was contributing to an excess of laundry. I'm hoping DoubleTree will speak to housekeeping staff about this and enforce their written "green" policies.
All in all, a great stay. With so many great restaurants, we never ate at the hotel, but the bar/lounge area looked really cozy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer U, Rooms Controller at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay! We are so glad you had a great time! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Happy with our stay here Oct 12-13 2012. Convenient location to shops, theater district. Got a fair rate for a fall weekend, from their web site online. We booked a Queen room, but they gave us a King (room 215) when we checked in. The room was in an odd location, on the 2nd floor _next_ to the gym, with storage & meeting rooms adjacent, and no view at all. But it was huge, with a desk & 2 side chairs. We didn't need to unpack from our suitcases, but if you did-- the very small wardrobe instead of a closet, might be an annoyance. Clean spacious, modern room & bathroom, fine water pressure, comfortable bed with great linens/comforter. Hotel Mgt-- what's up with no hooks in the bathroom-- not even on the back of the door? No hooks, no shelves, no place to put your clothing or a robe?! Plus note that the thermostat does not control heat unit. We thought it was broken, & it was too warm at times. You can control fan speed through window unit, which we would have found out if we'd bothered to call the desk & ask. Front desk staff were pleasant; no problems checking in & out, bell staff was helpful calling us cabs & offering to help with luggage.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer U, Rooms Controller at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay! I am so glad you had an enjoyable time! I will be sure to pass along the information about the hooks in the bathroom. We hope to see you again soon for another great stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City

Address: 569 Lexington Avenue, at East 51st Street, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#150 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#237 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#247 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Metropolitan New York City is a modern, landmark hotel conveniently located on Lexington Avenue at 51st Street, in the heart of Midtown’s luxurious East Side. The contemporary hotel recently completed a $25 million dollar revitalization project which included all-new guestrooms, suites and meeting space. With it’s ideal Midtown location, the hotel is steps from fashionable Park Avenue, Fifth Avenue shopping, Bloomingdales, the United Nations and many upscale boutiques. Times Square, Broadway theaters, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Central Park, St. Patrick’s Cathedral and The Museum of Modern Art are all within walking distance. Grand Central Terminal and all major subway lines are just a few blocks from the hotel. Penn Station/Madison Square Garden and Port Authority Bus Terminal are accessible via quick taxi ride and the hotel is convenient to all (3) area airports.Each of the hotel’s 764 brand-new guestrooms (including 22 suites) features all-new carpeting, furniture and wall treatments plus brand-new bathrooms. Modern in-room amenities include high-speed Internet access, Sweet Dreams by Doubletree Sleep Experience, 37-inch flat-screen television, MP3 connectivity and brand-new work desk with ergonomic chair. Onsite hotel amenities include a newly renovated lobby with spacious seating area, trendy Met Bar lobby lounge, Met Grill (open for breakfast), room service, complimentary 24-hour Fitness Center, complimentary 24-hour business center, Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk, gift shop, salon and barber shop – all onsite. The hotel has 14,000 square feet of brand-new event space. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self & valet parking is available. The hotel allows pets, with a $50 pet surcharge per stay (under 60 lbs). 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Amex, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Tingo, BookIt.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City
New York City Doubletree
Doubletree Metropolitan New York
Doubletree Metropolitan Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.