We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and very good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City

Save Saved
You added Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   569 Lexington Avenue, at East 51st Street, New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #296 of 449 hotels in New York City
Boston, MA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good value and very good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed here for one night while visiting NYC. Having stayed at a smaller hotel in NYC once before, I was impressed with the size of the room--not big, but much roomier than the previous place we stayed, and with all the important and comfortable amenities. The bed was very comfortable. Everything we needed was available. In addition, the subway was right outside and therefore it was easy to get to other parts of Manhattan. I would definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer U, Rooms Controller at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay! We are so glad you had an enjoyable time! We hope you see you back soon for another memorable stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Metropolitan Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,211 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    729
    1,256
    692
    324
    210
See reviews for
499
914
221
731
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The rooms and facilities are clean and modern -- the recent renovations very nice. The housekeeping and maintenance staff were very friendly, but can't say the same for guest services. The check-in process was adequate, but there ended up being a mix up with our room billing in the end. The check-out process was unsatisfactory. When we asked for our bills (we had two rooms being paid for separately) to be straightened out, the desk clerk (who did not smile once during this process - not even when we approached the counter) became irritable, made excuses that she couldn't fix it b/c of the auditor codes and finally said it would be easier for us to work it out amongst ourselves. After checking my credit card statement 3 days later, there was an additional charge to my account (the charge we were trying to fix) -- and my friend has to check her statement to see if it was deducted. Perhaps the Doubletree fixed it in the end, but what a pain that the process could not have been resolved on the spot.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer U, Rooms Controller at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Metropolitan Hotel. I sincerely apologize that your experience did not meet your expectations. I will be sure to contact the appropriate departments to ensure that issues like these do not happen again in the future. I hope that you will visit us again soon so we can deliver the type of enjoyable stay that you should expect from the DoubleTree by Hilton Metropolitan Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King of Prussia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I was very excited to surprise my husband with a trip to NYC for his birthday, and I found a great deal for this hotel on bookit. I was excited about the location in mid-town where we could walk to Times Square, and the subway stops are right outside the front door for E and 6 (the 2 trains we needed!) There are a bunch of great Irish pubs close by, and some excellent sushi restaurants as well.
When we arrived, we got our Doubletree Chocolate Chip Cookies- delish! The associate at the counter noticed we had booked and prepaid online, and even went above and beyond to upgrade us to a king size room (instead of the double queen I had booked). The staff was extremely helpful and the concierge service was great.
When we got to our room, we were both impressed with the size- especially for NYC. Flat screen tv, and room to walk around the room- even with a king size bed! The bathroom was small, but everything worked, so no complaints there! We were concerned when we looked out the window and notice the police and fire station, so we were prepared to hear sirens all night, but we never noticed them. We even had turn-down service our first night (which I love!)
The only complaint we would have was that the people next to us slammed the door a lot in the mornings, but that is nothing the hotel can control, so overall, if we can make it back to this hotel, we will!

Room Tip: We booked 2 months in advance and got a great deal- not too often can you find a nice midtown hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer U, Rooms Controller at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay! We are so glad you had an enjoyable time! We hope you see you back soon for another memorable stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Metropolitan Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We requested an early check in and the front desk advised us that several rooms were available so we opted for a room that was far away from the elevator. Not only did we get an upgrade to a King, but the room was not facing Lexington Ave and thus resulting in an extremely quiet room for NYC.

The bed was most comfortable and the size of the room was more than adequate for a Manhattan hotel. The AC worked like a charm, the bathroom was fine, and the bed was most comfortable. Provided in the room were the usual: radio, internet plug in, spacious closet, hair dryer, and an HD 37" TV.

The staff was very friendly and helpful and the hotel provides free internet service in the business room and a gym on the 2nd floor. Location of this hotel is hard to beat: easy access by bus or train to lower east side, museums, central park, uptown, crosstown, east and west village, Broadway. There is a subway just across the street and buses that run along Lexington, 3rd Ave, and Madison as well as the crosstown bus on 49th and 50th Streets.

Easy breakfast at the Metro Cafe on 51st just a few steps from hotel.

All in all we could not have asked for a better stay.............the weather man was also given five stars!

Highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the street and far away from the elevators!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer U, Rooms Controller at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay! We are so glad you had an enjoyable time! We hope you see you back soon for another memorable stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Metropolitan Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

A regular guest, I find the staff engagingly warm and friendly. The newly decorated rooms, handsomely done in beige, white, and gray, make the hotel seem new.
Minus: the Continental Breakfast is too expensive and less than ideal.
Best of all, this hotel has Location, Location, and Location!

Room Tip: Opt for a high floor with even-numbered rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer U, Rooms Controller at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay! We are so glad you had an enjoyable time! We hope you see you back soon for another memorable stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Metropolitan Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

The Metroplitan was an awesome place to stay. Location is everything in NYC and this place has it! Short walk to Rockefeller Center, 5th Ave shopping, and awesome restaurants on 1st and 2nd Ave. Upon arrival my hands were filled with bags and John, the bellman, charged over to offer a helping hand. I checked in at 5:30 on Friday night, the busiest time of the day in NYC and was in my room by 5:35. They have service mastered at this place. Rooms were surprisingly large for the city, and very clean and modern. Be sure to use the concierge, they were very helpful booking dinner reservations and a play. We'll be back again soon!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer U, Rooms Controller at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay! We are so glad you had an enjoyable time! We hope you see you back soon for another memorable stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Metropolitan Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We utilized the Doubletree's rooms and Metropolitan Ballroom for our convention based on the hotel's great location and have nothing but good things to say about the experience. The management was extremely responsive and accommodating to our needs - they provided whatever we wanted when we asked for it, then left us alone so we could get on with our program. They were even willing to be flexible on certain expenses, and helped us prioritize our needs to stay within budget. If you need a large (7,000 sq. ft.) facility in the heart of Midtown Manhattan, I'd strongly suggest you give Steve or Iris a call.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City

Address: 569 Lexington Avenue, at East 51st Street, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#149 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#236 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#239 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Metropolitan New York City is a modern, landmark hotel conveniently located on Lexington Avenue at 51st Street, in the heart of Midtown’s luxurious East Side. The contemporary hotel recently completed a $25 million dollar revitalization project which included all-new guestrooms, suites and meeting space. With it’s ideal Midtown location, the hotel is steps from fashionable Park Avenue, Fifth Avenue shopping, Bloomingdales, the United Nations and many upscale boutiques. Times Square, Broadway theaters, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Central Park, St. Patrick’s Cathedral and The Museum of Modern Art are all within walking distance. Grand Central Terminal and all major subway lines are just a few blocks from the hotel. Penn Station/Madison Square Garden and Port Authority Bus Terminal are accessible via quick taxi ride and the hotel is convenient to all (3) area airports.Each of the hotel’s 764 brand-new guestrooms (including 22 suites) features all-new carpeting, furniture and wall treatments plus brand-new bathrooms. Modern in-room amenities include high-speed Internet access, Sweet Dreams by Doubletree Sleep Experience, 37-inch flat-screen television, MP3 connectivity and brand-new work desk with ergonomic chair. Onsite hotel amenities include a newly renovated lobby with spacious seating area, trendy Met Bar lobby lounge, Met Grill (open for breakfast), room service, complimentary 24-hour Fitness Center, complimentary 24-hour business center, Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk, gift shop, salon and barber shop – all onsite. The hotel has 14,000 square feet of brand-new event space. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self & valet parking is available. The hotel allows pets, with a $50 pet surcharge per stay (under 60 lbs). 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Amex, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Expedia so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City
New York City Doubletree
Doubletree Metropolitan New York
Doubletree Metropolitan Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.