We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place to say!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City

Save Saved
You added Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   569 Lexington Avenue, at East 51st Street, New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
NYC Summer Sale from $159
Ranked #289 of 451 hotels in New York City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing place to say!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011 via mobile

Great hotel! Amazing location, best staff at any hotel I've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShiseidoRuiz, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Hi and thank you so much for your recent stay with us at the Doubletree by Hilton Metropolitan Hotel. We're so glad to hear that you had such an exceptional stay and hope to make every stay just as memorable. We can't wait to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,244 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    741
    1,269
    698
    325
    211
See reviews for
513
917
222
741
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

I was incredibly apprehensive of this hotel after reading prior TripAdvisor reviews - which ranged from good to awful.

Overall, I felt the hotel was fine. I have to concur with many reviews that the hotel rooms and hallways are in need of renovation. Carpeting needs to be cleaned; wallpaper needs to be replaced in corridors, bathrooms and rooms. The rooms were average size for New York standards, but the sleep was certainly comfortable enough. There are complaints about the NYPD 17th Precinct and a fire station that is next door - this could be an issue if you are on a low floor (5 or lower), but we were not affected by it. All of the room decor and condition issues will be resolved soon as the rooms undergo a complete renovation (examples of the decoration palates are on display in the lobby).

The breakfast (included in our rate) was fine. The Met Grill staff was terrific - especially Bolivar who waited our table all three days. Management should give this man a serious raise - he deserves it.

The concierge staff, bell staff, and front desk staff were all good and we have several requests taken care of promptly. We arrived early (before 2:00 pm) and we had rooms immediately available. Checkout was quick.

The hotel location was fine for our needs - convenient to the Theater district; directly on the East side 4/5/6 subway lines, and within 1.5 miles of Penn Station.

For the price, a good stay - especially over Christmas. A higher rating would be given for improvements in the physical condition of the rooms...

Room Tip: request a higher floor.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShiseidoRuiz, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Hello and thank you for submitting your review of your recent stay with us at the Doubletree by Hilton Metropolitan Hotel. We're glad to hear that overall you such a great experience with us and look forward to many more wonderful stays. Our staff is here to ensure you're comfortable and feel genuinely cared for start to finish. We'll be sure to pass on your positive comments to our team, espcially Bolivar. We're aware that our hotel can definately use a face lift and that's exactly what we're in the process of doing. Our rooms have begun renovation which is scheduled for completion in May 2012. This will surely resolve a lot of the concerns that you addressed and our team here is continuing to target areas that are awaiting to be renovated. As you saw the decoration palates on display in the lobby you know what will soon be awaiting you and we hope to welcome you back so you can see all the exciting improvements first hand. Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for one night in December 2011, and was extremely underwhelmed with the service and quality I experienced at the property. It was certainly not what have come to expect from the Hilton family. Although the location was excellent (only a short walk from many of New York's major attractions), the room was small, the heating was up too high with no way to adjust the thermostat, and worst of all, all of the water sources in the room released brown water with a pungent odour - this in a city renowned for the quality of its tap water! I called the "Careline" and was told an engineer was being sent to the room, but no engineer ever came. I was eventually able to get clean water myself by running the taps for about fifteen minutes.

Hilton HHonors Gold members should also be wary of this hotel. It took a considerable amount of effort - several phone calls both to front desk and HHonors, and two physical visits downstairs - to receive the free breakfast to which Gold members are entitled. I was given several stories by staff as to why I was not entitled to a free breakfast, including that Hilton has stopped offering breakfast to Gold members, or that this hotel is a franchise that has opted out of the breakfast benefit for Golds. I confirmed with Hilton HHonors that neither of these excuses are true. Eventually I was told by the Duty Manager that the Executive Lounge (where breakfast is usually taken) was closed due to the renovations that commenced two days before my stay, but that I was able to take my free breakfast in the hotel restaurant instead. This was all well and good, but I have since found out that other HHonors members have been in the Executive Lounge on and after the date of my stay - so this was a lie as well! It seems that hotel staff, management included, have no clue what they are talking about when it comes to HHonors benefits.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShiseidoRuiz, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, December 31, 2011
Hello and thank you for your recent stay with us at the Doubletree by Hilton Metropolitan Hotel as well as taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I'm glad you found our location just as convenient as we do. We strive to provide all of our guests with warm and caring service as well as the attention they deserve each and every time and from the information we received that was not the impression we gave you. Please be assured that we will discuss your comments, as we do with the feedback from all of our guests, with our reception desk and Enigneering teams to ensure that the level of service they are provide our guests should be nothing less than extraordinary. It appears that during your most recent stay with us you were misinformed with regards to your HHonors Gold membership and would like to take this opportunity to correct that. Please be advised that the hotel will not be phasing out the Gold member tier or any of the benefits that come along with that membership or any membership. What has changed is that in order for our HHonors Gold guests to receive their complimentary breakfast and room upgrade it must be selected as an option within you’re my Way Preferences. You may currently have the 1,000 Bonus Points option selected which is why the breakfast was not provided at upon arrival but you would need to select one or the other as we are not offering both. This appears to be what has created some confusion as we were offering breakfast to all Gold members whether the option was selected or not. Our Executive Floor along with the Lounge went out of service as of December 28th and I'm sorry to hear that was not the information you were given. Our renovation is currently underway and our rooms will be getting a fresh and updated look. We hope you'll come back and see all the great changes we've made. Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avondale, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

We stayed at the doubletree in manhattan on 57th & lexington & it was amazing. This was our first time to NY & the hotel was great. Smaller than we are used to on the westcoast but it was nice all the same. Great staff with great directions on where to go & what to visit. It was overall a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShiseidoRuiz, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Happy New Year! Thank you for your recent stay with us at the Doubletree by Hilton Metropolitan Hotel as well as taking the time to let us know how your experience with us was. We're so glad to hear that it was "amazing" and our location and staff exceeded you expectations. We look forward to seeing you soon. Please keep in mind that our rooms renovation is scheduled for completion in May 2012 and there are exciting changes being made. We hope you'll enjoy our new look as much as we do!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

We visited New York for 2 nights and stayed at Metropolitan Doubletree Hilton. It wes like a nightmare! The first day the rooms were not ready, and we had to wait until 7 pm to have our rooms (despite our reservation 1 month ago!). Than, the rooms were not clean (especially bathrooms). The night was also terrible, because we could hear any small noise from the door, up down, everwhere... And the last day, at the check out time we had to wait more than 1 hour for our car coming from the garage (it supposed to came in 5 to 10 minutes).. The only good thing that remains is the good location of the hotel... It shouldn't be a "Hilton"

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShiseidoRuiz, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Hello and Happy New Year! First and foremost we would like to thank you for your recent stay with us here at the Doubletree by Hilton Metropolitan Hotel and for taking the time to review us. We strive to provide all of our guests with warm and caring service as well as the attention they deserve each and every time and from the information we received that was not the impression we gave you. Please be assured that we will discuss your comments, as we do with the feedback from all of our guests, with our teams to ensure that the level of service they are providing our guests should be nothing less than extraordinary. Please contact me at jmartir@dtnewyork.com so we can address the matter in detail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

Fantastic location! Room was average size for Manhattan; but VERY quiet during the night, and stays quite dark with the shades pulled. Excellent sleep quality. Efficient front desk. rooms are fairly recently renovated, with neutral tones, contemporary looking fixtures. Internet is $16/day, which I hate. Three very big good quality white towels in the bathroom. Good shower with shower curtain bowed away from the tub to create extra space. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShiseidoRuiz, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, December 27, 2011
Hi and thank you for your recent stay with us at the Doubletree by Hilton Metropolitan Hotel as well as your recent review. We are so happy that you had a great stay and we met so many of your expectations. We hope we can do so with each and every visit and please be sure we'll never stop trying. Although there is a charge for our in-room high speed internet service please be aware that we do offer a 24 hour complimentary business center and our lobby/bar offers complimentary wifi access as well. If you haven't already you can also take advantage of joining our HHonors program as one of the benefits of reaching Gold or Diamond status is complimentary in-room access when you stay with us and since you're definately coming back it might be something worth looking into. We hope to see you and wish you a very Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

This hotel is in a great location. My husband and I traveled to NYC (my first time) last week for 5 days for my birthday.

We were greeted by a beautiful lobby and a friendly front desk staff.

One of the major downfalls was that the room left a lot to be desired. While I didn't mind the size (we had a King deluxe which was actually larger than I expected for NYC standards), the room was very dingy. Everything seemed clean enough, but a little undone. There was wallpaper coming off the walls, bathroom hardware wasn't completely attached, only the heat was turned on so we couldn't cool off our hot room, etc (we were later advised by the front desk staff that we could open our window to let a little cool air in to cool it off). I recognize that the hotel is about to be renovated and that's probably why small things have not been fixed. But is that really an excuse? Seems like guests who are staying there before the renovation are being punished for not booking their stay after the renovation.

Another major disappointment was the concierge staff. Each time we called concierge to ask a question (i.e. info on cabs, or recommendations for dinner) they didn't answer. We even left voice messages for them and they never returned our call. We wound up having to call the front desk staff (who, again, were super friendly) for information. One night, around 8pm, we walked down to the concierge desk (because we couldn't get them on the phone) to ask for dinner recommendations. It was my birthday and we wanted to go somewhere fun but had a hard time choosing based on what we could find online. To our surprise (again, this was about 8pm), the concierge desk was closed. Who closes their concierge desk before 8pm on a Saturday? Seems like you should know people are going to be asking for dinner recommendations. Isn't that a huge portion of what concierge staff do?

Positives: friendly front desk staff, great location (you are literally 4-5 blocks from Rockefeller Center), a major subway (the 6) is next door, the Cafe Metro next door was really good, inexpensive, and stayed open until 11pm in case you needed an after dinner snack. I am very picky about hotel beds and found this one very comfortable to sleep in after long days walking around NYC. The lobby smelled wonderful too! I would definitely stay here again after the hotel rooms have been renovated.

Room Tip: Request a high floor for the views. Totally worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShiseidoRuiz, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, December 27, 2011
Hi and thank you for your recent stay with us at the Doubletree by Hilton Metropolitan Hotel as well as taking the time to submit this recent review. We're so glad that our staff made you feel at home and was helpful and friendly all the way. It's key in ensuring that all of our guests are cared for and receiving the attention that they deserve. Our location is also something we take pride in. It's so great to be just minutes away from some of the citys best attractions, restaurants, and convenient transportation options. I'd also like to thank you for expressing your concerns with regards to the condition of some of our rooms. We in no way want you to feel that we're overlooking those conditions as you described them or merely using the renovation as "an excuse" to not address them. We can ensure you that our Engineering team is here working on them to the best of our ability. We want to continue to provide an our guests with great service and an ideal NYC setting so as opposed to closing our doors entirely to address these concerns we're tackling them as quickly as possible. If you will, it's similar to the concept of how the NYC subway line is maintained. Rather than shut a line down completely and provide a disservice to commuters they tackle the issues one by one, step by step. I'm sorry to hear our concierge was unable to assist you during your stay but we're glad our front desk team came to the rescue. The concierge is staffed from 8a-8p Mon to Sat and 8a-6p on Sundays. Being the holiday weekend it was an incredibly hectic time for them and the lines seemed to be never ending. When planning a future stay please feel free to contact the hotel directly so we can assist you in pre-planning any and all arrangements. Overall, we're glad your stay was pleasant and we look forward to seeing you again as a new and fresh Doubletree is awaiting you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City

Address: 569 Lexington Avenue, at East 51st Street, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#145 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#230 Family Hotel in New York City
#234 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Metropolitan New York City is a modern, landmark hotel conveniently located on Lexington Avenue at 51st Street, in the heart of Midtown’s luxurious East Side. The contemporary hotel recently completed a $25 million dollar revitalization project which included all-new guestrooms, suites and meeting space. With it’s ideal Midtown location, the hotel is steps from fashionable Park Avenue, Fifth Avenue shopping, Bloomingdales, the United Nations and many upscale boutiques. Times Square, Broadway theaters, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Central Park, St. Patrick’s Cathedral and The Museum of Modern Art are all within walking distance. Grand Central Terminal and all major subway lines are just a few blocks from the hotel. Penn Station/Madison Square Garden and Port Authority Bus Terminal are accessible via quick taxi ride and the hotel is convenient to all (3) area airports.Each of the hotel’s 764 brand-new guestrooms (including 22 suites) features all-new carpeting, furniture and wall treatments plus brand-new bathrooms. Modern in-room amenities include high-speed Internet access, Sweet Dreams by Doubletree Sleep Experience, 37-inch flat-screen television, MP3 connectivity and brand-new work desk with ergonomic chair. Onsite hotel amenities include a newly renovated lobby with spacious seating area, trendy Met Bar lobby lounge, Met Grill (open for breakfast), room service, complimentary 24-hour Fitness Center, complimentary 24-hour business center, Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk, gift shop, salon and barber shop – all onsite. The hotel has 14,000 square feet of brand-new event space. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self & valet parking is available. The hotel allows pets, with a $50 pet surcharge per stay (under 60 lbs). 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Agoda, Otel, TripOnline SA, Venere, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, HostelBookers and Expedia so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City
New York City Doubletree
Doubletree Metropolitan New York
Doubletree Metropolitan Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.