We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great for families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Parker Meridien New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Le Parker Meridien New York to your Saves list
Le Parker Meridien New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   119 West 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Junior Suite + $75
Ranked #145 of 454 Hotels in New York City
washington, dc
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great location, great for families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Overall, my stay at Le Parker was great...here are my 2 cents:

CHECK-IN: This was quick and easy. The staff members were very nice. I also got to have a late check out time which was wonderful since my train left in the late afternoon.

JR SUITE: The suite is quite roomy for my family of 4. I don't know how big regular rooms are - but the Jr Suite was great...essentially, it's like 2 rooms - and by NY standards - huge. Of course it was a bit pricier, but couldn't find a hotel w. similar amenities w. this size rooms for the same price.

DECOR: I agree the hotel rooms could use a little updating. However, they are not that tired--yet. The lobby is beautiful w. marble floors although not your 'standard' lobby with a grand central area.

FOOD/DRINKS: We ate at the Burger Joint which was tasty (there was no line b/c we ate early evening) and had drinks at the Knave. The burgers and fries were cheap @ the Burger Joint and the drinks expensive @ the Knave. However, it's NYC...loved the ambiance @ the Knave. I didn't have coffee in the morning, we opted for smoothies nearby instead--but I'd try it out if I wanted a nice cappuccino in a cushy sofa and cozy setting.

LOCATION: The location is excellent...just a few blocks from Central park, Time Square, museums, and lots of shopping. There are also many good restaurants in all price ranges very close, too. Across the street (and on nearly every block in NYC) is a Starbucks and a Chopt salad place.

AMENITIES: We did make use of the pool - it was highly chlorinated - but we have a salt water pool at home so we're sensitive to "public" pools. The view is beautiful at the top, though...well worth a trip even if you don't take advantage of the pool! There's a barber shop if you need a haircut. Our room had a big tv that swiveled either towards the king bed or sitting area/sofa bed area. The fridge is stocked full of alcohol. I wish hotels would quit this--I'd much rather have a fridge for a small yogurt and/or cold waters that I bought. The bathroom is a good size--note that our Jr Suite only had a shower--perfect for my family, but perhaps not so for those with small children who like to bathe in a tub. The king bed was very comfy--can't say that was the case for the sofa bed, but I've never seen a comfy sofa bed in a hotel! Our room was quiet as well.

Would I stay here again? Absolutely - and we will be in a few months to see family again who live in the Upper West side. The only other hotel that I think we might switch to is the Quin Hotel- but there's no pool and for the same price can only get a room w. 2 queen beds...

Room Tip: Tower rooms cost more - but you can enjoy their view by going to rooftop of pool instead....we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkerGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Le Parker Meridien New York, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear nbm5b,

Thank you so much for your very in-depth and thoughtful review! I'm so glad that we were a good fit for you and your family. Like you mentioned, our Jr. Suites really are a great option for families and while most of them have large walk-in showers, we also have several with shower/bathtub combos for guests that prefer to take baths. As we don't have very many of them, guests who'd like one should contact us before they arrive so we can set one aside for them. Our Jr. Suites have a fully stocked minibar as you noted, but we also have small refrigerators (and microwaves) that we can place in guest rooms upon request for personal items. Just let us know! You should definitely try out the coffee in Knave next time you're here. Also, if you're a smoothie fan, there's a great juice bar called Le Petit Bluedog Cafe in The Underground (near Gravity) that serves amazing smoothies that are much healthier than the ones you'll find at the big chain place on the corner.
Thanks again for taking the time to share your experiences. Hopefully we'll see you again soon!

Have a Good One!

Lisa Tharp
Director of Guest Communications
guestrelations@parkermeridien.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,503
    1,312
    436
    186
    177
See reviews for
821
1,035
241
828
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (777)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

We love everything about this place. From the unmatched view from the roof, to the pool, the location, and ofcourse the burger joint, this place has now been the hotel we stay at in nyc for 5 straight summers!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkerGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Le Parker Meridien New York, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear jRa623,

Thanks very much for the nice review. I'm thrilled that you've chosen to stay with us the past five summers! We appreciate your loyalty. See you next year for summer number six!

Have a Good One!

Lisa Tharp
Director of Guest Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

There are some amazing people who work at this hotel. Several hours after we checked out last week-end my daughter realized her wallet was still in the room safe. That's enough to create a crisis but we left the safe open after what we thought was carefully checking the room. Trying to control the panic in my voice I called the hotel, asked for security, explained the situation to the security officer and held my breath, preparing for the worst. To my surprise the security officer said the wallet had been turned in, provided the 'log number' and instructions to retrieve the wallet. Hotel security also sent me an email prior to my call saying they had my daughter's wallet and asking that I call.
The wallet was returned intact. Wow!
I assume the Housekeeper Angel found the wallet and called security. I don't have the name of the Housekeeper Angel who found the wallet, the security officer who I spoke with or anyone else involved but I do want to express my sincere appreciation to everyone involved. Thank you so very much.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

I previously reviewed this hotel and noted it had pros and cons. I've returned since and an updating my review. The lobby is very very nice. The staff is very professional and helpful. Rooms are very nicely appointed. Rooftop pool (indoor) is small but pool area has very nice views and there is also an outdoor sundeck. The platnium breakfast is a certificate for a pastry and coffee/tea/hot chocolate in the Knave (coffee bar by day, bar by night) - there are multiple pastry choices - ask the barista or waitress. Moonshine bath products are in larger than the usual hotel size bottles - 3 ounces. The bath products have a fairly strong distinctive smell - I thought it was fine, but those with fragrance sensitivities might have issues. Very good location near to multiple subways, theaters, central park, times square, columbus square. Wifi normally bears a charge but is free for those with starwood status -- however, wifi was slow and often had connectivity issues during our stay.

Room Tip: There are two sets of elevators, one serving floors through 22 and one for 22 and higher. If you pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

I had 5 nights at Le Parker and will definitely be back. At first I thought my guest room was quite basic but the most important elements were done very well. Quite possibly the best hotel bed I've ever had and the bathroom is a generous size for NYC, with plenty of bench space (important for women!) and a large bath that you can soak in. The water pressure in the shower was incredible and my showers became longer with each use. The toiletries are from the hotel's Moonshine Spa and are superb.
The room was a great size and I was upgraded to the tower (level 39) which had fantastic views. One annoyance, you can't store your own items in the mini bar...not a big deal but somewhat annoying and most higher end hotels are the same.
Staff could be a little friendlier at the front desk. Also time to upgrade your hair dryers! Lose the ones attached to the wall, they're tacky and not in keeping with your brand.
If you stay here you must have a burger from the Burger Joint and don't be put off by the long line, it moves quickly.

Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

my cousin was getting married in manhattan and the hotel and its staff were so accommodating ! Anything we needed we received. The hotel really did a great job of making sure the day went as smooth as possible.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOBBS
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

My sister and I went to New York for the first time and this was the perfect hotel for us! It was a short distance to Central Park, Times Square, and Broadway. I could not have chosen a better place to be! The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. We were always treated with kindness and respect. I'm not sure how New Yorkers have gotten the reputation for being rude, we never came across a rude New Yorker... the tourist were the rude people!!!!

The rooms were very, very clean. The decor is very modern and chic, loved it. The only issue we had was one elevator was out of service so the wait time was long at times...No biggie. We understand everything is not always perfect.

Highly recommend staying here... you will not regret it!

Room Tip: Get a high floor for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Parker Meridien New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Parker Meridien New York

Address: 119 West 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in New York City
#97 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#100 Business Hotel in New York City
#100 Family Hotel in New York City
#129 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Parker Meridien New York 4*
Number of rooms: 730
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Venere, Amex, Priceline, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Le Parker Meridien New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Parker Meridien Hotel New York City
Meridien New York City
Meridien Le Parker
Le Parker Meridian

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Parker Meridien New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.