We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in NYC for families” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Parker Meridien New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Le Parker Meridien New York to your Saves list
Le Parker Meridien New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   119 West 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save 20%!
Ranked #156 of 454 Hotels in New York City
Salisbury, Vermont
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best hotel in NYC for families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Stayed here for my second time. Service was fantastic....they went above and beyond. Heat in the room was oppresive...one call to the front desk and they were there in minutes fixing it. Large rooms with great views. Cheese and fruit platter with thank you note in our room the first evening. Travelled with two tweens and felt safe letting them explore the hotel on their on and was thankfull for the extra space. In a very safe neighborhood near Central park but walking distance to most attractions. I have finally found the best hotel in NYC that meets all my needs. Extra pillows,towels any request we asked for was immediately met.

Room Tip: Tower rooms and corner suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkerGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Le Parker Meridien New York, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear vtfarmwife,

Thanks for the nice review. I'm glad we were such a good fit for you and your family. We can't wait to have you as our guests again.

Have a Good One!

Lisa Tharp
Director of Guest Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,517
    1,337
    447
    188
    178
See reviews for
825
1,055
242
841
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (794)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

My family and I always stay here for our trips to New York City. Since 2003, we have loved seeing Maurice and the other bellman welcome us to what we like to call our "home away from home".

From the moment we walked in, a "New York" feeling Purveys throughout. The lobby is a great mixture of contemporary and classic feels from the cathedral ceilings and pillars to the sheik front desk and mirrors hallway. Once in the elevator, the kids always love watching the cartoons and celebrating their time at the hotel. The barbershop, hairdresser and restaurants give it a bustling feel like but not too much.

The rooms are spacious and modern and, what some may call, stark, but totally awesome and modern. We always get a tower room looking over the park and it's the best view. Excluding the pool view which cannot be described.

Norma's is fantastic and the burger joint is to die for. Being a starwood member, we always try to stay at their hotels and this is by far the best. After finding it in 2003, we've ever wanted to stay anywhere else and never will. It's location, atmosphere and service are amazing and everyone should stay here if possible. In fact, we may be coming back in December for a football game and will be staying at le parker meridien. Looking forward to it!

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkerGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Le Parker Meridien New York, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Bobbyleggs,

Thanks so much for your kind words about Maurice and for your loyalty! Psst... we like you too! Please feel free to reach out to me if there's anything you need for your December visit.

See you soon!

Lisa Tharp
Director of Guest Communications
guestrelations@parkermeridien.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

One of my favorite hotels in NY it's got a nice Upper West Side feel. Close to Central Park with nice Central Park views on the higher floors. Most chic hotels (such as the W's) have tiny rooms in NY, but the rooms here are reasonably large and the bathroom was normal hotel sized.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here Friday to Monday on veterans day weekend. Great value, great location, superb service. Bellman Maurice was of great help. I highly recommend the hotel. Rooms were decent size. That's saying a lot since every hotel in NYC, the rooms are generally smaller than what you're used to. I highly recommend them. I am planning a trip for next month to nyc again and you bet I'm looking at them.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

As noted by others the location is great - close to restaurants and Central Park (much appreciated by us marathon runners), room was big, bathroom was normal hotel (not New York hotel) sized, room service was fast and good. In any other city it would be a very nice hotel, in New York it qualifies as a great hotel. They have a slightly dodgy practice of charging an extra $10/day fee (a non resort resort fee?) but it does give you internet (as Starwood Gold internet is free anyway so it means it is just a $10/day extra charge onto your bill. Go figure.). Not a major but not a good practice.
Will definitely check it out again next time I am in New York.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We've always loved staying here due to its unbeatable central location and unpretentious manner.

The rooms are showing some age, but their spacious, quiet and the new furniture is very stylish and modern.

Their in-house restaurant, Norma's, is some of the best breakfast in NYC, and we appreciated being penciled in at the last minute for a Saturday morning reservation.

Only thing keeping this from great would be the somewhat overwhelmed staff and elevators. We requested a restaurant reservation through the concierge, gave our information for a confirmation, but never heard back either way. Also, the elevators tend to get very busy and require you to pad any travel time by five minutes or so just for the commute down to the lobby.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Le Parker Méridien, like any good New Yorker, knows it's value is in it's location, location, location. Adjacent to Carnegie Hall and overlooking Central Park to the North and Midtown to the South, this well known hotel makes a solid first impression with sleek MacBooks at check in and a lobby decor that manages to integrate old New York architecture and the modern flair this hotel strives for. The service is friendly and efficient.

Like all things gilded, a scratch below the surface reveals all that glitters is not gold. The rooms are bland, though the Park facing rooms have a great view and even in Manhattan I would not expect to have to pay an extra $10 for use of a pool or fitness facility at a hotel of this caliber. The bathroom door needed paint, the cold water cover was missing from the shower and the towels are reminiscent of the Days Inn circa 1980. Fellow travelers reported that the solution to a complaint about the temperature resulted in engineering coming to the room and opening the window--an old building in New York solution, for sure, but one expects a little more panache from this address and this reputation.

Tourists will love it but a discerning business traveler will find it unremarkable.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Parker Meridien New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Parker Meridien New York

Address: 119 West 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in New York City
#100 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#102 Family Hotel in New York City
#107 Business Hotel in New York City
#129 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Parker Meridien New York 4*
Number of rooms: 730
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Starwood, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Le Parker Meridien New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Parker Meridien Hotel New York City
Meridien New York City
Meridien Le Parker
Le Parker Meridian

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Parker Meridien New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.