We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Parker Meridien New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Le Parker Meridien New York to your Saves list
Le Parker Meridien New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   119 West 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #166 of 461 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I stayed here Friday to Monday on veterans day weekend. Great value, great location, superb service. Bellman Maurice was of great help. I highly recommend the hotel. Rooms were decent size. That's saying a lot since every hotel in NYC, the rooms are generally smaller than what you're used to. I highly recommend them. I am planning a trip for next month to nyc again and you bet I'm looking at them.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,958 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,644
    1,444
    484
    200
    186
See reviews for
888
1,132
254
913
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (887)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

As noted by others the location is great - close to restaurants and Central Park (much appreciated by us marathon runners), room was big, bathroom was normal hotel (not New York hotel) sized, room service was fast and good. In any other city it would be a very nice hotel, in New York it qualifies as a great hotel. They have a slightly dodgy practice of charging an extra $10/day fee (a non resort resort fee?) but it does give you internet (as Starwood Gold internet is free anyway so it means it is just a $10/day extra charge onto your bill. Go figure.). Not a major but not a good practice.
Will definitely check it out again next time I am in New York.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We've always loved staying here due to its unbeatable central location and unpretentious manner.

The rooms are showing some age, but their spacious, quiet and the new furniture is very stylish and modern.

Their in-house restaurant, Norma's, is some of the best breakfast in NYC, and we appreciated being penciled in at the last minute for a Saturday morning reservation.

Only thing keeping this from great would be the somewhat overwhelmed staff and elevators. We requested a restaurant reservation through the concierge, gave our information for a confirmation, but never heard back either way. Also, the elevators tend to get very busy and require you to pad any travel time by five minutes or so just for the commute down to the lobby.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Le Parker Méridien, like any good New Yorker, knows it's value is in it's location, location, location. Adjacent to Carnegie Hall and overlooking Central Park to the North and Midtown to the South, this well known hotel makes a solid first impression with sleek MacBooks at check in and a lobby decor that manages to integrate old New York architecture and the modern flair this hotel strives for. The service is friendly and efficient.

Like all things gilded, a scratch below the surface reveals all that glitters is not gold. The rooms are bland, though the Park facing rooms have a great view and even in Manhattan I would not expect to have to pay an extra $10 for use of a pool or fitness facility at a hotel of this caliber. The bathroom door needed paint, the cold water cover was missing from the shower and the towels are reminiscent of the Days Inn circa 1980. Fellow travelers reported that the solution to a complaint about the temperature resulted in engineering coming to the room and opening the window--an old building in New York solution, for sure, but one expects a little more panache from this address and this reputation.

Tourists will love it but a discerning business traveler will find it unremarkable.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Le Parker Meridien was by far the best hotel I haved visited in NYC, and I have stayed at many. The location on West 56th St. is awesome and we were able to easily walk to the theatre district, Hell's kitchen, and the shopping along 5th Ave and the upper East and West side. It is also just a few just a few blocks from Central Park. The lobby is beautiful, check in was quick and friendly. I absolutely loved the room....very minimal in decor, a nice size, spotlessly clean. It had everything needed to be very comfortable. The bathroom looked very updated, had plenty of counter space. Large flatscreen tv, plenty of good lighting, comfortable beds. I was just thrilled with the whole set up. Each of the employees I encountered were friendly and helpful. Loved the ambience of the lobby bar. Really loved everything about this propertly and will stay here again for my next trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Almost always stay at Le Parker when in NYC. If you want mid-town location is great. Recommend checking out view from roof pool. Been in many rooms. All okay not great. As expected in NYC bathrooms are tiny. Both restaurants and the bar are great. Service is very good. Unless you are very high up do not pay for "park" view. You see a building or two. Also tower elevators are notoriously slow and crowded. My daughter waited over 20 minutes today!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkerGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Le Parker Meridien New York, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear scott s,

Thanks for the review and for making us your home away from home. We appreciate your insights and hope to see you again soon.

Have a Good One!

Lisa Tharp
Director of Guest Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I went to this hotel at christmas for a second time and again we had a great stay. The hotel is located on 56th street which was a good location for us and is only a few blocks away from time square and the main atmosphere of the city.

The hotel itself is modern, clean and a pleasant place to stay. The rooms are spacious and i would say good value for money for a 4 star hotel in New York. I would recommend this hotel to anyone with a family or couples.

The only downside for me was the restaurant for breakfast. My children are fussy eaters and could not find anything to eat however the burger restaurant next to the lobby was brilliant and had a great atmosphere with good food for kids.

However for me the best part of the hotel was the rooftop pool. The views are stunning over looking central park and you can see the whole city!

Overall a great hotel, with good amenities and an ideal location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkerGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Le Parker Meridien New York, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Lesley P,

Thanks for sharing and for spending two Christmases with us! We'd love to make it three!

Have a Good One!

Lisa Tharp
Director of Guest Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Parker Meridien New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Parker Meridien New York

Address: 119 West 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in New York City
#99 Family Hotel in New York City
#106 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#130 Business Hotel in New York City
#137 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Parker Meridien New York 4*
Number of rooms: 730
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Starwood, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Le Parker Meridien New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Parker Meridien Hotel New York City
Meridien New York City
Meridien Le Parker
Le Parker Meridian

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Parker Meridien New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.