We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service is all!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental New York Barclay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added InterContinental New York Barclay to your Saves list
InterContinental New York Barclay
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 East 48th Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #216 of 464 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersGold level
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Service is all!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Once you go to The Barclay you feel at home.
People there know how to deal with customers very well starting from the door man which call the taxi with amazing whistles!
Breakfast buffet is the best I had in my life.
Location: mid town, so basically NY walking distance from everywhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,383
    1,124
    456
    180
    109
See reviews for
671
1,032
186
630
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

Don't stay here if you'd like the following;

1. Room Service
2. A working television remote control
3. Knowledgeable and helpful staff
4. Sound night sleep ( I could here the television from the room next door all night long)

Do yourself a favor and avoid this place at all cost, even if FREE.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental New York Barclay, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Erik B,

Thank you for your review about your stay. It is truly unfortunate to see that you did not fully enjoy your time at the hotel. We take comments such as these very seriously and would like to follow up with you. We have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain more information.

I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresser, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I recently stayed at the InterContinental New York Barclay while visiting New York. The hotel was very clean and beautifully adorned. For a New York hotel the room was spacious, and the bathroom was somewhat small but not cramped.
The bed was very comfortable and the room temperature was easy and quick to adjust.
The internet was expensive (compared to what I'm used to paying; maybe not for New York) and slow.
One odd thing about the bathroom sink was that the water handles turned in the clockwise direction (the opposite from what I'm accustomed to...) This was NOT a problem, it was just different.
I was on the 11th floor and there was little noise on the street below. 47th street was not heavily traveled, which was nice.
I was awakened at midnight on Saturday to my neighbors arriving home. The mom spent about 20 minutes chewing out her two young children, then sent them to the bathroom for baths (where she periodically yelled to them). Then the husband came home and there were more discussions. Then the kids decided they wanted to chat and would not go to sleep. At first I thought the mom was using an overly loud voice, and that was why the sound traveled so well through the wall. However, once I heard the children's voices and their pre-sleep chatting, I determined that the walls were way too thin!
Overall it was a good experience except for the thin walls/noisy neighbors.

Room Tip: Pick one with no neighbors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

Found this Interconintental to be very deteriorated ... Every piece of furniture is scratched , bathroom smelled like urine everyday even after mentioning this to front desk , we found the ironing board every day left in the middle of the room and also our glasses never got even returned to the bathroom. Air conditioning wasn't on any of the days we went back and the room had also a funky smell ... When we approached the person at the front desk with all these comments , he literally gave us the feeling he could not care less about our stay. Really not a nice stay

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental New York Barclay, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Karinamireles,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at InterContinental New York Barclay, NY . It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I just stayed here over the weekend, and had a pleasant experience. The room was big enough, certainly for a NYC hotel it was large, and clean, the bathroom was small, but also clean. Location was great, in walking distance of everything, I'd recommend going to the top of Rockefeller Center, which was just a few blocks away. Also, we were able to leave our luggage with the hotel the day we checked out, while we went to a Yankees game, at no extra charge.

To address other's issues I read, I didn't use the wifi, and can't imagine who would on vacation, although it would be necessary for a business trip, but in that case, just expense it right? It wasn't noisy, at least not the room I stayed in, but the walls were thin. The people next to us were loud while we were getting ready to go out Saturday night (around 6PM), but I just turned my music on, and then I couldn't hear them anymore, and it wasn't a problem at night or in the morning. The place didn't look "tired" to me, it wasn't new, but it was kept up nicely, and I would call it antique or classic looking, not "old". I read on Wikipedia, both Earnest Hemingway, and Bill Clinton stayed there, and I thought that was very cool.

Overall, a great stay, and I would both recommend this place, and stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Overall the experience I had at the Intercon was great, I try to stay with their chain when I travel. Even though the hotel was starting its big renovation project and lacked several of the services they made up for it with customer service and attention to detail. The beds were extremely comfortable and they had blackout curtains which helps the jetlag! The food at breakfast was a bit overpriced with items like an Omelette for over $25. Breakfast for 2 can cost you over $70! I found it much better to go find a local diner or cafe and have 2 people eat for $25! However you expect highly priced food at hotels. Again this hotel is great, i can't wait to see what the renovations have in store. If you are looking for an area with nightlife though be prepared to take a cab or hop on the subway as mid-town shuts down after 6pm!

Also the Wi-Fi is free now to all IHG members and the speed was reliable!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Arrived and found out the hotel was due to close in 2 weeks for a 12 month refurbishment so they had removed the in room entertainment and mini bar without notifying us on booking or check in. Room was ok, needs the plans upgrade. Bathroom average and the bath plug did not drain unless you held open. Great location though 5-10 walk from all the shops on 5th avenue and the lady on concierge was very helpful.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental New York Barclay, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Surreyladies2013,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and appreciate your compliments regarding our great location and staff helpful. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental New York Barclay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental New York Barclay

Address: 111 East 48th Street, New York City, NY 10017
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#11 Green Hotel in New York City
#134 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#153 Business Hotel in New York City
#158 Family Hotel in New York City
#160 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental New York Barclay 5*
Number of rooms: 685
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental New York Barclay is currently under renovation. The entire building is being refurbished and will reopen by fall 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your InterContinental New York Barclay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental New York Barclay Hotel New York City
Intercontinental New York City
Intercontinental Barclay New York
New York City Intercontinental
Barclay New York
Barclay Hotel New York
Intercontinental Barclay Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental New York Barclay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.