We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and friendly ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental New York Barclay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added InterContinental New York Barclay to your Saves list
InterContinental New York Barclay
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 East 48th Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #214 of 463 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersGold level
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Cosy and friendly ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Staff are happy to help you. The room was comfy and had all the things we needed. It had a hair dryer and a safe in it as well. We were facing a quieter road Which was good at night. The bell boys are smart and kind and hold the umbrella for you if need be! There's a small cafe/store across the road which sells hot and cold breakfasts and extremely close to the hotel. Great location and lovely hotel.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYCBrkly, Manager at InterContinental New York Barclay, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Another enchanted guest! Thank you.

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,383
    1,124
    456
    180
    109
See reviews for
671
1,032
186
630
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Just got back to uk from 4 day holiday in NY. This hotel was in an ideal location and had great staff who chatted about local restaurants and how to get to certain places. The room was good size and had ironing board, iron, big closed, large ensuite with bath and shower. Breakfast was not included and we did not have it there as the prices seemed very steep. We did have dinner there one night and it was expensive but delicious. I would reccommend this hotel for its locality and it is cleanliness, lot of people mentioned the noise, it's in central NY so there is some siren noise etc, but we had great sleep on a massive comfy bed! No complaints here!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYCBrkly, Manager at InterContinental New York Barclay, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts.
Lovely to read that you had a great time with us and that you enjoyed your room as well as the restaurant !

Please come back soon

Kind regards,
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We have just returned from a 4 night stay in the Barclay.

On arrival we were warmly greeted by the doorman who instantly took our bags and gave us a ticket. We proceeded to the reception and were amazed by the grand interior lobby. High ceilings with ornate gilded decorations & polished marble floors.

The reception staff were very courteous and professional and got us checked in efficiently. Directed us to our room and told us our bags would be delivered to our room.

We proceeded to our room which was clean and well presented. Complimentary fruit and chocolate trays greeted us. And within 10minutes the door bell rung and our bags delivered.

We enjoyed a great nights sleep bar one, when we were awoken at 0730 by roadworks in a nearby street - not the hotels fault, joys of staying in busy city.

Staff were always happy to help with directions to amenities and restaurants.

PRO's
Good location - only 5-10min walk to grand central terminal, less than 10minutes to 5th avenue shopping.
Very clean and well presented hotel.
Good standard of rooms, big beds, flat screen tv, good size bathroom.
Well stocked gift shop for those last minute gifts, or if you are peckish a bag of crisps or bar of chocolate. They also had those things you always forget - tooth brush, deodorant etc...

CON's
Wireless charged at $16.95 per 24hrs - I expect complimentary wireless from a hotel of this standard.
Despite website stating tea making facilities in room we could not find them, only coffee machine with complimentary pods - Kettle in each room and half/half milk sachets would be lovely for us British!
Buffet breakfast ranges from $35 - $40pp which i felt was a little expensive. Thankfully there are plenty of alternatives near by. Wendys, McDonalds, Johnny rockets, starbucks, independent bakeries and coffee shops.

OVERALL
If we return to NYC we will be returning to this hotel as it is head and shoulders above others we have stayed in for the same budget but different parts of NYC.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYCBrkly, Manager at InterContinental New York Barclay, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you.
Your great feedback is much appreciated, it sounds like our charming property seduced you too!
As mentionned in the previous reviews, we decided to offer Wi-Fi for free for our IHG members.

Should you plan to stay at the New York Barclay again, you can now enroll online for free.

All the best
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I visited this hotel just after new years for 5 days and i couldn't have had a more enjoyable stay, the location is perfect! Literally next to times square and some incredible diners and restaurants. The staff are very friendly and welcoming and there is a very good and reasonable price taxi service which leaves directly outside the hotel at any time of day. The 24 hour gym was also ideal, especially with the jet lag! My only critisim is the wifi, the amount you pay for this hotel you would expect wifi to be available however it is very expensive! There are diners and resturants so close which give free wifi so it wasn't too much of an issue. Overall a very pleasurable stay and if i'm ever in new york again i will definitely be making another visit to the intercontinental.

Room Tip: The higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYCBrkly, Manager at InterContinental New York Barclay, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

We highly appreciate you took the time to share this positive feedback. We are sorry that the Wi-Fi cost hindered your satisfaction. As a consequence, we decided to start offering Wi-Fi connection for free to our IHG members. Everyone can become a member only by going online and enroll for free.

Should you visit New York again in a near future, just click and come...

Warm regards,
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I would first of all like to thank Elvin for the complimentary upgrade of our room to a lovely suite this made our stay more luxurious!
The hotel is quite grand, with friendly and helpful staff, the reception area is extremely comfortable and relaxing.
Room facilities are excellent with lovely soft beds and pillows with a good range of bathroom facilities etc.
In addition, I particularly enjoyed having complimentary filter coffee first thing in a morning!
The location of the hotel is very good only a short walk from Grand Central Station where I would recommend visiting the Magnolia Bakery stand.
Overall the staff, facilities and ambience of the Intercontinental New York Barclay were faultless and I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Floor 11 good views and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYCBrkly, Manager at InterContinental New York Barclay, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Carol,

Thank you very much for this glowing review.
We love being part of celebration! We are pleased that everything was to your liking.
Please convey our congratulations to your daughter again !

Hope to see you back before too long

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Great location. Excellent foyer. The hotel is popular with business travellers and locals, it is therefore not a tourist hotel and tends to be a bit more expensive. The rooms are clean and well services but a bit small and there was nothing of interest to see from the window!

One major disadvantage with this hotel, which is common to many American hotels, is the charges you have to pay for wifi connection. The US seems to lead the world in charging for what has become an expected service in many hotels in many countries.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYCBrkly, Manager at InterContinental New York Barclay, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

Although we are happy you felt comfortable in our elegant property, we can't help feeling sorry your stay was marred by the Wi-Fi cost. Let us extend our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience.
Please note that we do offer Wi-Fi for free to our IHG members, anyone can now enroll online on our IHG website for free before staying.

We sincerely hope this new tip will make your future stays at the New York Barclay fully enjoyable.

Looking forward to welcoming you again!
Best regards,
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Stayed for 4 nights for my husbands birthday. The hotel is in a great location just a short walk from many attractions. Rooms were very comfortable and along with the rest of the hotel kept very clean. This is an old traditional hotel with lots of charm and we found the staff to be just excellent especially the doormen and security. How lovely that even tho they must have hundreds of people passing thru every day, they all take the time to make you and your family feel special... My wee boy still talks about his friend Angel from the Barclay!! - would definitely return to this hotel

Room Tip: Reception were very helpful and locating a quieter room ! We got room on higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYCBrkly, Manager at InterContinental New York Barclay, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Family,

Excellent!
Thank you for choosing the New York Barclay for your husband's birthday! We are so pleased you and your family had a lovely celebration stay. Angel and the security team will be thrilled to learn that your boy still remembers them..

We hope you will be as enchanted on your next visit

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental New York Barclay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental New York Barclay

Address: 111 East 48th Street, New York City, NY 10017
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#11 Green Hotel in New York City
#133 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#153 Business Hotel in New York City
#158 Family Hotel in New York City
#161 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental New York Barclay 5*
Number of rooms: 685
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental New York Barclay is currently under renovation. The entire building is being refurbished and will reopen by fall 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your InterContinental New York Barclay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental New York Barclay Hotel New York City
Intercontinental New York City
Intercontinental Barclay New York
New York City Intercontinental
Barclay New York
Barclay Hotel New York
Intercontinental Barclay Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental New York Barclay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.