We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish classy excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental New York Barclay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental New York Barclay to your Saves list
InterContinental New York Barclay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 East 48th Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #201 of 459 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersGold level
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Stylish classy excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

We have just spent five nights at the Barclay and I must say the experience was excellent. I confess I am one of those people who tend to go for hotels that are priced higher end but I was convinced by my partner that this hotel would do at the price. Well she was both right and wrong because whilst it was a great decision the phrase 'would do' does not do the place justice, it's older in style but has an exceptionally clean and fresh feel, the rooms are a decent size and the beds are huge and gorgeous so much so it was an effort to get out of bed even with the amazing sites to see! A lot of which incidentally are a short walk away. Everyone was very pleasant and checking in took about a minute, superb in every way and when I do return to NYC it will save me a long while deciding on a hotel because this is the one for me without hesitation. I can't believe that on a lot of U.K. Web sites this hotel is priced up relatively cheaply as a package. I don't know how it compares to U.S. Prices but for us Brits it is honestly on of life's few emailing bargains. Don't look any further :-)

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYCBrkly, Manager at InterContinental New York Barclay, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Steve,

This is an outstanding review for which we thank you very much.
Thank you for your trust and for choosing the InterContinental New York Barclay, it is a thrill to learn that you had a top-notch experience and and we so much look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Please return before too long !

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,373
    1,115
    455
    179
    108
See reviews for
664
1,026
186
627
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Stayed in the hotel for a long weekend, all the staff were brilliant the room was clean and in good repair. The hotel is situated in an excellent area allowing everything to only be a short walk away. The lobby is finished to very high standard making the hotel feel posh. The only disappointment was we had was the buffet breakfast that we had included in the package. The hot eggs and bacon, etc were all Luke warm at best. When mentioned to the waiters got the impression it was what is was. The other items were all very nice. The waiters were all very helpful with coffee and orange juice. I felt that at $86 for breakfast for 2 this should of been perfect. If I paid over £50 for breakfast in the UK I would of expected it to be faultless.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYCBrkly, Manager at InterContinental New York Barclay, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Sam,

Thank you for posting a review.
We are glad to hear that you had a top-notch overall experience. It's a pity about the food temperature during breakfast, and even though this did not prevent you from savoring the moment, we will let our restaurant team know about it immediately. Thank you for bringing the inconvenience to our attention.

Hope to welcome you back soon

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

My wife and I spent close to a week at the Barclay in early March and enjoyed the hotel immensely. We just loved it's classic look, it's large-size rooms and cleanliness. We were fortunate to obtain a great price through Hotwire which sealed the deal.

Location is just perfect - close to public transportation and on the quieter mid-town east side, just a 10-minute walk to Times Square.

In short, a professionally run hotel and would agree 100% with the very positive reviews posted on this site.

Room Tip: Select higher floor to avoid any traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYCBrkly, Manager at InterContinental New York Barclay, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are totally enchanted by the enthusiastic tone of your review, we can literally feel your satisfaction and that is extremely touching. What a privilege! Thank you

We hope you and your wife would return before too long

All the best
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Just finished a 4 night getaway at this wonderful hotel.
From the time we checked in ( thanks to Arthur at the front desk) everything was as smooth as silk. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in NYC.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYCBrkly, Manager at InterContinental New York Barclay, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your appraisal
Our team put a great effort in to making each guest feel comfortable and special, we are honored it exceeded you expectations ! We will of course congratulate Arthur for the great start he made to your stay.

We hope you will return again soon

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a 5 night stay at this grand hotel. Its a 40 minute taxi ride from JFK, set fee $53 plus toll and tip. The hotel is within walking distance of many of New York famous sites. Our room was large as was our bed! The tv in our room was top of the range Samsung. The room was cleaned daily to a high standard. The lobby was spectacular, very grand!
I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting New York.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYCBrkly, Manager at InterContinental New York Barclay, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear guest,

Wow, that is a such a rewarding summary of your stay, Thank you!
We are thrilled to read that you had a wonderful experience with us and hope you will soon repeat it!

All the best from the New York Barclay

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Just came back from a short stay at the hotel, service was excellent, room was very comfortable, although tired in some places. In the best possible location for seeing Manhattan. Could not have been more pleased with the stay, plenty of room in the one allocated.One little hiccup first room was being repaired when we first entered, but soon put right on visit back to reception, no further problems.Would not hesitate to stop again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYCBrkly, Manager at InterContinental New York Barclay, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the InterContinental New York Barclay and really thankful for your compliments regarding the service and comfort.

Looking forward to welcoming you again real soon
Warm regards,
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Great hotel and great staff. We have been staying here at least three to four times a year for the last ten years. In fact, I am writing this review from my room at the Barclay tonight. We received sad news as we checked in. The Barclay will close at the end of June for at least a year long renovation and while I will come back when they reopen, I just don't know where to stay in NYC close to this area for the next year.

We will miss our 'Home Away from Home' and all of our good friends.

(disregard the rating on the pool - error on clicking)

Mike H.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYCBrkly, Manager at InterContinental New York Barclay, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Valued guest,

We could never thank you enough, we are incredibly grateful for your never-ending loyalty along these years. It is now time for our Grande Dame to get a facelift, rise and shine again. You will then be able to enjoy a Brand New home away from home!

Do not hesitate to contact the Executive Office or the Guest relations department, we would be delighted to help you find a temporary replacing property matching your expectations.

Best wishes from the entire New York Barclay Team!
Kindly

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental New York Barclay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental New York Barclay

Address: 111 East 48th Street, New York City, NY 10017
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in New York City
#121 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#139 Business Hotel in New York City
#147 Family Hotel in New York City
#156 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental New York Barclay 4*
Number of rooms: 685
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental New York Barclay is currently under renovation. The entire building is being refurbished and will reopen by fall 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental New York Barclay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental New York Barclay Hotel New York City
Intercontinental New York City
Intercontinental Barclay New York
New York City Intercontinental
Barclay New York
Barclay Hotel New York
Intercontinental Barclay Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental New York Barclay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.