We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are better options” 2 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental New York Barclay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental New York Barclay to your Saves list
InterContinental New York Barclay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 East 48th Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #200 of 459 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“There are better options”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2004

In a never-ending search for quality, good-value accommodation in New York city, I tried the Intercon for a change and was disappointed. The name 'The Barclay' lends it some grandeur and the lobby is nice, but the rooms are very average size and plain, maybe even a little dreary. It's nothing special at all and for a few days on business, the Hilton New York is better.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,373
    1,115
    455
    179
    108
See reviews for
664
1,026
186
627
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2004

Excellent hotel - the lobby is extremely stylish and sets the scene for the rest of the stay. Stayed from 16-20 April, on 14th floor at the back so very quiet room and highly comfortable bed. The room was not large, but had all amenities you could wish for. If you are prepared to pay the premium for it, breakfast in the hotel is excellent (both quality and service).

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2004

Just arrived back from 5 days in this fantastic hotel and city. First time in New York and we made a great choice of hotel. Staff were great, location great and the room was perfect. Only complaint was we had to get out of that giant comfy bed each morning. Deli across the road was good for breakfast and everything is within walking distance. Great stay in a great hotel, we will be going back........ very soon with any luck.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2004

The minute i stepped in through the fairly heavy doors at the intercontinental barclay i knew i had made the right choice of hotel. all the staff were very friendly and helpful and were willing to cater to our ever need. The Room was perfectly clean and a fair size. in-room movies were great and me an my daughter watched quite a few while we were there. It is located walking distance from pretty ,uch everything, and for the further away attractions there are buses running up and down 5th an madison avenues which are only a couple of blocks away from the hotel. There is a great indian restaurant some way along 48th street (the naan). but the restaurant in the hotel is lovely, with delicious food served by friendly, chatty waiters and waitresses. they even taught my daughter how to fold her napkin in a fancy way! (she now shows that skill off at every possible opportunity!)there is not one thing i would change about the barclay and i would recommend it to everyone of all ages and intrests. i love it and would definately go back in the future

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lONDON, UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2004

A well located traditional hotel with very comfortable rooms and great service. I stayed in both a Junior Suite and a Deluxe room on two visits (April 2004). Both were very comfortable. Concierge service and Check In staff were particularly helpful (if very busy). An enjoyable oasis of discrete calm luxury in NYC. Highly recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2004

We stayed at the Barclay IC NY during Easter 09/04/04 - 15/04/04 i.e 6 nights. It was a great hotel in the old world sense, the foyer and public rooms have great character. Having reviewed some of the comments on this site about the hotel with regards to the rude reception staff etc. I have to admitt that we did not experience any problems here. Our room was on the 5th floor at the back behind the elevators. I agree with the comment that you will experience a little noise form the streets below and the corridor outside the room but not to the extent that it wil ruin your stay here. There are various different pice categories for breakfast, we choose the Heartland @$19.50 it was excellent and sets you up for the day. Just down 48th street on Lexington Avenue there is Raffles Cafe where you can get good food all day. Again we really enjoyed our time at this hotel and would certainly go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2004

great hotel.excellent deli across the road.great value for breakfast.
Take ear plugs as the windows are not double glazed and the noise from the traffic is non stop at all times of night.horns are beeped for fun in new york.if you can get $149 a night it's fantastic value.very central.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental New York Barclay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental New York Barclay

Address: 111 East 48th Street, New York City, NY 10017
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in New York City
#120 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#139 Business Hotel in New York City
#147 Family Hotel in New York City
#155 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental New York Barclay 4*
Number of rooms: 685
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental New York Barclay is currently under renovation. The entire building is being refurbished and will reopen by fall 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental New York Barclay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental New York Barclay Hotel New York City
Intercontinental New York City
Intercontinental Barclay New York
New York City Intercontinental
Barclay New York
Barclay Hotel New York
Intercontinental Barclay Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental New York Barclay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.