We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental New York Barclay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added InterContinental New York Barclay to your Saves list
InterContinental New York Barclay
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 East 48th Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #214 of 463 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersGold level
Connecticut
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have been traveling to NYC for the US Open for years and have stayed at the W New York, The Waldorf Astoria and the Marriott Eastside in the past. All of these hotels are in the same general location on Lexington. This year, rates were good for the Intercontinental Barclay so we thought we'd try it. Unfortunately, we were very disappointed and would not stay here ever again.

There are 2 postives to this hotel:

Location- This hotel is in a great location. It's an easy walk to Grand Central and the 51st/53rd street subway stations. It is close to 5th avenue, St. Patricks Cathedral and really centrally located for many attractions. The other hotels I mentioned all are in the same location though so there are other options that fit this bill.

Concierge- The concierge at this hotel was very good. We asked them for a few things and they were cheerful, helpful and knowledgeable.

Unfortunately, the rooms need updating. The bathtub was peeling and generally everything seemed like it needed refreshing.

We stayed here during the US Open and this hotel is a location where many people stay associated with the tournament (ie Jr players, media etc). The primary reason for our disappointment is that on Saturday and Sunday night, they had issues with their cable provider and we were unable to watch the US Open matches on TV. This would never happen at the W, Waldorf or Marriott. When we called the front desk to make sure it wasn't something we were doing wrong, we were told that they are having a service provider issue and there is nothing they can do. We thought maybe they would get it fixed for Sunday but to our surprise they didn't do anything to accomodate all the people staying at their property in NYC for this tournament. There were many guests dissatisfied with this.

All of the other hotels in the area not only make sure they have this available, they also broadcast it in the bars and lobby and really make it a fun atmosphere. We attend the live event during the day and look forward to relaxing in the evening and following the matches from our room. We had to stream it on our lap top to watch this year which was just not the same. For this reason, we will never stay here during the US Open again. We'll go back to one of the other 3 properties who are more welcoming and prepared to host visitors for this international sporting event.

Come on Intercontinental Barclay, we had high hopes for you! To compete for business during this event you need to get your act together. Again, we are visitors every year for this tournament. There is alot of competition for business in the area so why stay here when you can get it all somewhere else?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYCBrkly, Manager at InterContinental New York Barclay, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apologies for the challenges that you experienced as that is not indicative of the level of service that we pride ourselves on. We are currently in the planning phase of a full renovation and have an extensive preventative maintenance program. We have shared your comments with the team so that they may follow-up internally and we thank you for bringing this to our attention. We also apologize for the cable issues regarding Time Warner and the ability to watch the US Open. We understand your frustration as we were even more frustrated especially since it was out of our control. We hope that you will give us another opportunity in the future and again, we apologize for the lackluster experience that you had.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,383
    1,124
    456
    180
    109
See reviews for
671
1,032
186
630
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This hotel is in a great location to explore NYC (short stroll to grand central). Hotels reception was great and the rooms were alright, however are showing signs of age, and needs to be better maintained, peeling wall paper, tap fittings loose etc
Walls are paper thin and first night discovered that the couple next door had a very unhappy baby.
Price was average in NYC and even though it was not great would stay again due to location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYCBrkly, Manager at InterContinental New York Barclay, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay and while we are delighted that you found the team to be hospitable, we apologize for not Wowing you. We are also in the planning phase of a full renovation where we will be able to address decor. We hope that you will give us another opportunity so that we can "blow you away" and create a memorable experience that you can talk about with your friends and family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This fine hotel lives up to its name in the heart of NYC - its history and location a NY classic having been built in 1920's, the interior from its entrance lobby through its restaurant, lifts and rooms maintain that history. Whilst modern hotels may impress with their feeling of light and space they do not compare to the sumptuous atmosphere created by the interior design and the go out of the way attitude the cheerful staff represents . Anna Marie Gayle assisted us with maxima of efficiency , kindness and concern... and over several days found that Anna Marie is one of many that give off this coaring vibe. Great hotel - great stay ... thank you ICH Barclays

Room Tip: ask for corner suite if available but all room are good
See more room tips
Green Features: from what I know outstanding and even looking a using bees.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Good room size, central location, helpful staff. One downside was that it was FULL of teenagers on some program, which meant crowded elevators and lobby and the occasional loud group passing in the hall. I am assuming that was just our luck and not an every day thing though. Overall, we got a great rate and thought this was a good value for NYC. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here in the future or recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I like this part of midtown, as compared to those near 6th and 7th Ave like the Hilton or Sheraton. InterContinental is smaller comparing to them, but this is also the same reason I prefer this one. I never had to wait for an elevator! Lobby is spacious, nice but never busy. The room size is good. As a business traveller, I was assigned a room with 2 double beds once and 1 king bed in my other visits. I prefer the 2 double beds room which is more spacious.
I had room service twice (too lazy to go down) and service and food was excellent. There are lots of good dining choice at relatively reasonable price on 3rd and 2nd Ave. Location is easy access to Central Park, Grand Central and 5th Ave.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I had reserved a standard king room and was upgraded to a huge suite upon check-in. The location couldn't have been better because we were able to walk to most of the sites we wanted to see. This is an old but "grand style" hotel. We didn't dine in the hotel, but there are many great restaurants within a block or two. I would definitely recommend this.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

if you are in Manhattan, the place to stay is the Intercontinental New York Barclay: it is in middle town, near everything you wanna do in town. Power breakfast tables, wi-fi, free print editions of New York Times, Wall Street and Financial Times- you can also ask to be deliverd to your door room. In short, your place in town. Last but not least, AnnMara care for all details before you ask...

Room Tip: the only suítes with kitchen.
See more room tips
Green Features: energy star classification on eletrical appliances
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental New York Barclay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental New York Barclay

Address: 111 East 48th Street, New York City, NY 10017
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#11 Green Hotel in New York City
#133 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#153 Business Hotel in New York City
#158 Family Hotel in New York City
#161 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental New York Barclay 5*
Number of rooms: 685
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental New York Barclay is currently under renovation. The entire building is being refurbished and will reopen by fall 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your InterContinental New York Barclay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental New York Barclay Hotel New York City
Intercontinental New York City
Intercontinental Barclay New York
New York City Intercontinental
Barclay New York
Barclay Hotel New York
Intercontinental Barclay Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental New York Barclay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.