We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whirlwind Week!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental New York Barclay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added InterContinental New York Barclay to your Saves list
InterContinental New York Barclay
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 East 48th Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #216 of 464 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Whirlwind Week!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

A stressful week in New York, but this place made you feel good and relaxed when returning after a busy day. Cleaning staff ALL very friendly and spoke in the hallways, doormen always chatting, laughing and very helpful

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,383
    1,124
    456
    180
    109
See reviews for
671
1,032
186
630
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Estero, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Talked into joining membership program for the perks, but it wasn't worth the $. Upgrade not as promised, fruit basket = small orange, small apple, tiny pear on a saucer-sized plate, tiny bottle of water each day, candy = one wrapped piece. Room not ready when promised. The rooms are well-appointed but tiny. The bathrooms are minute(our faucets leaked). This is an old, old hotel that has been updated but not truly renovated for today's market. Spent little time in the room as this was for business. Convenient location, and lovely lobby, bar, and breakfast.
I like Intercontinental Hotels in general, and stay there frequently, but for this hotel I would ask to see the room before committing. And skip their program.

Room Tip: Ask to see the rooms so you are not stuck near service entrances. Back of hotel quieter than front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYCBrkly, Manager at InterContinental New York Barclay, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback as your insight is much appreciated. We apologize for any disappointment you may have experienced in regards to your Ambassador membership as we hold a special place for our loyalty members. We are also currently in the process of planning a full renovation where we will be able to better address hardware needs. Thank you again for taking the time to share your comments and we hope that you will, in fact, give us another opportunity so that we can restore your faith.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I'd read a few mixed reviews so was not sure what to expect from this hotel. I shouldn't have worried though as we breazed through check in without any hassle. We went to our lovely room on the 11th floor. The room was spotlessly clean throught. We had 2 queen beds with top quality high thread count bedding. The beds has toppers so were really comfy. The curtains were thick so that no light/noise came through. The air con worked perfectly. We had a mini bar/fridge and a great coffee pod machine. Big flat screen tv and an ipod docking station/alarm clock.
Reception was big and subtle and had an air of calm. There was a gift shop which wasn't too expensive. 3 lifts which all worked.Concierge was great and were able to answer all our questions plus provide tourist maps.
We slept really well and didn't hear any noise from the corridor which is often the case in city hotels.
The location was great on Lexington and 48th. A short walk and you could find yourself in Times Square or at Tiffanys/Bloomingdales. Subway stations are nearby as is the main train station. There are lots of lovely deli's nearby so eating out isn't a problem.
There was a big guy on the bell hop called Richard who was so charming and helpful. He'd chat to you as he went about his job.
The housekeeping team were good and thorough. Everyday the room was set to a high spec and clean throughout. The shower was powerful and easy to use.
The day we checked out we were able to use the spa facilities to freshen up which was good as our flight was late evening.
The lady who responds on here was wonderful and ensured that we had no issues. The hotel went above and beyond to make sure we had a fabulous stay.
I would certainly recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a room on floor 11 with 2 beds.
See more room tips
Green Features: Barclay Bee is a great way to save the earth and the housekeepers will only give you fresh linen and towels if you ask for it. This has no detrimental effect on the room.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat Governorate, Oman
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Simply one of the very good serviced hotel and with a good location near the Times square
But not in the middle.The service and the decor and the ambience of the Hotel is amazing
The quality of food is very good a little pricey but hey,we are talking this in New York.
The concierge is good and gives you a lot of extra tips. The room size are spacious and very clean
The location is on the quiet area about 15 minutes walk to the middle of Times Square .
Price much cheaper than intercontinental Times Square.
If you a theater person than book your theater tickets in advance at the Hotel they sell them very expensive on the Hit shows like Motown or The book of Mormons.

Room Tip: The Hotel is all non smoking ask the top floors away from the lift and go for the deluxe room.
See more room tips
Green Features: They encourage the guests to reuse the linens and towels
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The hotel has an old world charm about it. There is a sense of grandeur looking at it across the street. I suppose it could have something to do with the facade and the flags flying.

Location: I love the location as it is a very short walk to 5th Avenue, Central Park and Times Square. Walking along the streets here makes me feel safe even at night. The surrounding is so different from that of Times Square where I would feel claustrophobic and congested.

Room: Size-wise, it is reasonably spacious. The furnishings are obviously old but maintained well. This is an expensive hotel and for the price we paid for the room, I was perhaps a tad disappointed. Free wifi in the room would have been appreciated but that is not the case.

Service: Good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We booked via Hotwire.com and lucked in and got the Intercontinental The Barclay. We were happy with this. The location is great close to all the major things and grand central for those not so close being in midtown. It was perfect for our first trip to New York. We received a room on the 7th floor and we were surprised at how quiet this hotel was. As our room was set back from the road we had no road noise which we were expecting as most reviews from all hotels say expect road noise. It is the city that doesn't sleep after all! The room size was generous for New York and was clean and we had no problems with anything in the room.
Internet was expensive so we used the free wifi spots at all public buildings in New York when we needed to contact home.
We didn't have breakfast in the hotel, we didn't get is as part of our room, however there is plenty of deli's all around the hotel you can chose from that is way cheaper. We did have a late night desert and the hotel New York Cheesecake was one of the best I have ever eaten. Made even more special when the waiter found some in the kitchen after it was sold out. He gave it to me on the house as he saw how disappointed I was because it was sold out and it was a small piece with no coolie or fruit. Service was impressive from the restaurant staff and the concierge desk. They were always friendly and happy to help us whether it was for currency enquiries (and referring us to external places for a better deal) or transport to the airport. The guys at the front door who run the taxis were always in good humour and a laugh.
We can't complain about the Intercontinental and would definitely recommend it to others to stay here. We didn't pay full price and were glad to have got such a good deal. It is a great place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
191 hotel reviews
Reviews in 136 cities Reviews in 136 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This InterContinental by far was my favourite hotel in the world. The stay was so luxurious and amazing. The hotel was updated (or at least our room was) and we loved the changes made. Super clean and super friendly!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental New York Barclay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental New York Barclay

Address: 111 East 48th Street, New York City, NY 10017
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#11 Green Hotel in New York City
#134 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#153 Business Hotel in New York City
#158 Family Hotel in New York City
#160 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental New York Barclay 5*
Number of rooms: 685
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental New York Barclay is currently under renovation. The entire building is being refurbished and will reopen by fall 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your InterContinental New York Barclay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental New York Barclay Hotel New York City
Intercontinental New York City
Intercontinental Barclay New York
New York City Intercontinental
Barclay New York
Barclay Hotel New York
Intercontinental Barclay Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental New York Barclay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.