We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Great City Location"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental New York Barclay

Save Saved
You added InterContinental New York Barclay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
InterContinental New York Barclay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 East 48th Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #179 of 446 hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersGold level
Moray
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“"Great City Location"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Recently spent six day's at the Intercontinental Barclay. On entering the foyer it's very impressive and felt light and roomy. Check-in was very straight forward, reception staff not the friendliest but efficient all the same. A decent size room maybe a little snug for a family of four two being teenagers. The furniture I felt was a little tired chipped and scratched. The beds were extremely comfortable. Bathroom was a little on the small size,the hairdryer was also located in it which made it difficult when four of us were trying to get ready in the morning. My advice would be to take a separate hairdryer with you. Another thing the room lacked phone sockets. I also found the air conditioning units annoying they were located outside the rooms on the floor where I was stayed, they were very noisy, this bothered me more at night when trying to sleep than traffic noise. Stayed in room 461. Rooms do provide a coffee machine with complimentary coffee but I wouldn't touch the mini bar, the prices were extortionate.

This hotel is in a great location, close to Grand Central Station, Fifth Avenue, The Rockefeller Centre and Time square which are all within easy walking distance.

I would stay here again simply for location.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less A/C noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,931 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,267
    988
    402
    175
    99
See reviews for
582
914
176
581
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Beautiful outside, inside. What a grand hotel should be! Front desk, Bell staff, et al extremely attentive and precise. They looked at you when they spoke to you. Grand lobby. With all these lovely attributes goes a hefty price for a stay. Lovely room, not a cookie cutter, real glass glasses in bathroom, lost points for paper coffee cups in room, but more points for having half-half in room instead of the phony powder. Was all nice, enjoyable stay. Great pillows!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I stayed at the Intercontinental Barclay for 8 nights at the end of April 2013. I loved my stay as it really encompasses what NYC is all about.

Firstly, the entrance of the hotel does have a wow factor. It's a beautiful grand building commanding a perfect position on the corner of Lexington and 48th Street. Once through the main doors a beautiful lobby opens up before you. It's grand, elegant and always buzzing.

A large front desk ensures that this busy hotel gets guests moving quickly so check-in was really quick and I was up to room within 5mins. The lifts are great and quick for an old building. The most I waited was probably about 2minutes for a lift. With a hotel that has over 600 rooms that's pretty good!

The rooms are spacious and a lovely high bed. I did love the huge flat screen TV which was perfect for watching TV in bed before starting the day. I will say that there is a slight bit of noise from external air conditioning units (I think from the building across the road) but this is NYC so you don't expect silence!

The location suited me perfectly and I'd stay in this location again. My work conference was at Times Square and I could comfortably walk this in about 15-20mins taking a different street to walk down each time.

A short walk from the hotel (less than 5mins) is Starbucks, Pret A Manger (excellent sandwiches if you are after a quick cheap snack) and a couple of other convenience stores. If you want a cheap breakfast the Comfort Diner is less than a 10min walk on 45th Street for that true NYC diner experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Lovely traditional hotel. Large impressive foyer. Check in was straightforward but reception staff could have been a bit more pleasant. Room was lovely and clean, we had a room for 3 adults, 2 double beds. Room was bigger than I expected from other reviews. Bathroom on the small side, but that didn't really matter. Good central position near Grand central station and next to Waldorf Astoria. I have recommended this hotel and will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Co. Down
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed at this hotel between 20th and 24th April 2012 on a four day Virgin Atlantic New York break from the UK. Due to severe weather at Heathrow airport, we arrived tired and jet-lagged at the hotel around 8 pm local. Check-in was quick and the staff friendly and efficient and we were soon shown to our room. The room was spacious with two huge double beds, TV etc, although, as mentioned by other reviewers, the bathroom and decor are a little dated. We quickly unpacked and went down to the lobby to try to get a snack before retiring for the night. Unfortunately, due to the very high prices in the restaurant, we ended up with soup and bread rolls. Having said that, we were too exhausted to eat much more, having left Belfast at 7 am GMT. Both of us agreed next morning that we had the best nights sleep we could remember on the huge double mattresses. The remaining evenings were equally comfortable.
We found all the staff polite and friendly, and efficient, and we had a very enjoyable stay. The hotel is close to 5th avenue and Central Park and the Empire State within walking distance too. Would we stay there again - definitely!

Room Tip: Higher floors have less traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, Minnesota
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Five days at the Barclay was a delight. The room service was outstanding both for breakfast and late dining.
Good location in mid-town Manhattan. Clean and bright with wonderful bed and linen. Perfect turn down service.

Room Tip: High floor with great elevator service
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We spent a couple of nights before Christmas 2012 at Barclay again and we were more than happy with our stay. Even though we have only booked a Deluxe Room (cheapest version) our room seemed to be more spacey and fresh than the one we had stayed at before (King Room). The room itself was reasonably clean, quiet (located on floor 13) and comfortable for two. Well, yes... the bathroom was still rather small but what do you expect for a NYC hotel (unless the presidential suite).
Front desk was super helpful and friendly. Only one of the bell boys seemed to be a bit greedy despite of not being able to get us a taxi in 30 minutes when heading out to a ballet performance...
Anyway, I can only recommend this hotel and would definitely return - anytime in NewYork.
PS.: I loved the chore singing Christmas carols in the lobby. :-)))

Room Tip: Make sure you book through InterContinental's own site. The rates are usually the same but they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental New York Barclay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental New York Barclay

Also Known As:
Intercontinental New York Barclay Hotel
Intercontinental New York Barclay Hotel New York City
Intercontinental New York City
Intercontinental Barclay
Intercontinental Barclay New York
New York City Intercontinental
Barclay New York
Barclay Hotel New York
Intercontinental Barclay Hotel New York
Address: 111 East 48th Street, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in New York City
#31 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#45 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#100 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#123 Business Hotel in New York City
#147 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental New York Barclay 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true heritage hotel, with its 1920-30's decor and stunning lobby, that welcomes guests with residential warmth and luxury. In the heart of Midtown East, The New York Barclay' s perfect location gives you access to must-see visitor attractions including Rockefeller Center, Carnegie Hall, The Metropolitan Museum of Art, Times Square and Central Park. With Grand Central Terminal a few blocks away along Lexington Avenue. The New York Barclay offers great services, a refine and very unique organic restaurant and incredible Concierge ready to help you plan your visits. Wi-Fi provided for free for our IHG members (free enrollment online or at Check-in time)! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Amex, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your InterContinental New York Barclay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental New York Barclay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.