We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental New York Barclay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental New York Barclay to your Saves list
InterContinental New York Barclay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 East 48th Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #200 of 458 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York, USA
1 review
“Great Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This hotel is wonderful. It's conveniently located in the center of Manhattan and delivers top notch service. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are very comfortable and a pleasure to stay in.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,372
    1,115
    455
    179
    108
See reviews for
664
1,025
186
627
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

AnnMara Gayle in customer relations is extremely professional and helpful. We are extremely lucky to have her assist us with all our hotel needs. My boss exclusively uses Intercontinental Barclay during each visit to NY. A million thanks to AnnMara for making the reservation process easy and making sure that each stay is a pleasant one.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The InterContinental Barclay owns up to its historic building and charms, and smoothly mixes in the modern touches that brings it up against the newly built hotels of New York. There is true warmth in this hotel, with a large lobby that makes you feel you have arrived in a true New York hotel that is not over the top and fully functional.

Checked into the hotel last month for two days of business and extended to the weekend. The doorman and bell staff were warm and personable. All engaging, and older, so obviously people who have made these jobs their careers, and not just a job to pass time by. Check in was smooth and off to my room. Two sets of elevators, so never a wait. The hallways are well lit and wide. My room was furnished and decorated with good taste. Maybe a bit small, but it had everything I needed. Who stays in their room when in New York anyway.

The location is the best. Perfect for my business purposes right off Park Avenue, and on the weekend, was ideal for leisure. Walking distance to everything and anything, including the subway.

This hotel does not pretend to have a super duper restaurant. Why would a hotel bother anyway, since it is in one city with the most restaurants people visit to dine in. The lobby restaurant is perfect for daily breakfast, then off to the city's thousands of true restaurants for lunch and dinner. The bar is also warm and cozy and great for a nightcap before heading up to bed.

I enjoyed my stay in this hotel and look forward to coming back. Forget the large hotels with velvet ropes and huge grand lobbies. I prefer my unpretentious hotel that welcomes me everytime I walk in.

Room Tip: A Lexington Ave side room will give you a feel of being in Manhattan amidst sky scrappers and the ye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYCBrkly, Manager at InterContinental New York Barclay, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding the InterContinental New York Barclay. We appreciate your kind words and loyalty. Your comments have been shared with the team so that they may see the role they play in ensuring a memorable and pleasurable stay. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Annmara in guest relations is such a pleasure! She really knows the meaning of customer service and shows it! The great service doesn't stop there. Everyone employed at this location is so accomodating. We plan on using the Intercontinental Barclay exclusively when visiting New York.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYCBrkly, Manager at InterContinental New York Barclay, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Greetings from the InterContinental NY Barclay. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and for recognizing AnnMara. She is a true asset to our team and we are thankful that she is here to deliver such memorable moments for our guests. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Intercontinental New York Barclay for three nights. We found the hotel to be very clean, the service was good and the location is fantastic. The only complaint I have is with the incredibly thin walls. Night one was all good but nights two and three not so much. We had to suffer through a very loud couple next door "enjoying each other's company" on night two and a barking dog in the room next to us on night three. Even normal conversations could be heard through the thin walls. Two nights of "noisy" neighbours left me quite tired and put a damper on what I thought was a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYCBrkly, Manager at InterContinental New York Barclay, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Greetings from the Big Apple. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay. Please accept our apologies for the disruptions that you experienced. We are sure that you understand that while we can have Security respond to some noise complaints, others we cannot. We hope to address better insulation during our renovation and hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmtk767
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Poor service - not at a 5-star level
-Staff at the restaurant does not pay attention to details and just does not learn
-The restaurant itself is quite small.
-Took us more than 30 min and 4 phone calls to get to get a technician to come and fix a TV
-The concierge is polite and knowledgeable but does not offer himself to make a restaurant reservation or circle it on the map after giving a recommendation
-The doormen are so spoiled that if you don't tip them once for getting a cab, they will show how disappointed they are
-The front desk is well staffed but you ask them to make a single black and white copy and they offer to go and use their business center even if they are not busy
-Maids are fighting so loud that everyone on the floor can hear
-Noisy construction activities start in the morning
-There is much more
And yes these are all small details; if this was a suburban Holiday Inn or Best Western I would not even pay attention but for a mid-town Manhattan hotel that calls itself 5-star Intercontinental this is disgrace.
There is Waldorf and W and a dozen of other hotels nearby and one would expect better service but every time I visit it is just another disappointment.
I know what a 5-star hotel is - and THIS is not it! May be 4-star but even that would be a stretch

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYCBrkly, Manager at InterContinental New York Barclay, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Greetings from the Big Apple. Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay and we apologize for any challenges that you may have experienced We have shared your feedback with the respective teams so that they can be aware as well as sent you a private message so that we may further investigate and train accordingly. We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future and providing you with a proper stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Julian's, Malta
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I stayed at the Intercontinental New York Barclay for the second time for 10 days commencing on the 26th October 2012. It was a trip planned with a group of girlfriends and we were unfortunate to have been caught up in hurricane Sandy during our stay.

I have nothing but praise for the service that we received at the Barclay in spite of all the difficulties that the staff had to face. They were courteous and helpful at all times and did their best to provide in house entertainment for all the guests who were stuck inside during the storm.

Besides the staff, the hotel is well located, and the rooms are comfortable and clean. I would not hesitate to return to this hotel again and to recommend it to anyone visiting New York!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental New York Barclay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental New York Barclay

Address: 111 East 48th Street, New York City, NY 10017
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#9 Green Hotel in New York City
#121 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#139 Business Hotel in New York City
#147 Family Hotel in New York City
#159 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental New York Barclay 4*
Number of rooms: 685
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental New York Barclay is currently under renovation. The entire building is being refurbished and will reopen by fall 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental New York Barclay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental New York Barclay Hotel New York City
Intercontinental New York City
Intercontinental Barclay New York
New York City Intercontinental
Barclay New York
Barclay Hotel New York
Intercontinental Barclay Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental New York Barclay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.