We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All about location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hampton Inn Times Square North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Hampton Inn Times Square North to your Saves list
The Hampton Inn Times Square North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   851 Eighth Avenue @ 51st Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% through August!
Ranked #102 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“All about location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

This hotel is well located to explore New York City. We stayed here for four nights in February and enjoyed our stay. The staff were quite helpful and the rooms were clean, quite sizable and nicely decorated (suiting it's 3 star status). The windows were well sound proof baring in mind the busy street outside and we had a good nights sleep. Being quite a large hotel there sometimes was a queue for the lifts at peak times and the only downside was at the breakfast room. It was quite small in comparison with the number of guests and it was difficult to find an available table. Also breakfast was served on paper plates and with plastic cutlery to accompany them. Having said this it was all about location for us as we were out of the hotel all day. We walked to most places or used to city sightseeing bus which stopped conveniently lower down the street. Would stay here again as it is a good location to explore the city.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at The Hampton Inn Times Square North, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! Location is definitely one of our strong points being that we are walking distance to most major attractions, theaters and located just 1 block away from the subway entrance.

We hope to see you again!

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,009
    1,271
    245
    51
    31
See reviews for
1,484
901
151
332
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

This was our first time in NYC and the location of our hotel could not have been more perfect. The room was comfortable, clean, quiet and a nice size. We were able to walk to Times Square, to the various theatres and restaurants. We were also able to walk down the street to get on the Gray lines Hop on Hop of tour buses. On our last morning we walked up to Central Park and had a lovely walk in the park. The breakfast was typical Hampton Inn fare -very good but very busy. We were able to get a table every day so it really wasn't a problem. Free WiFi was great. The concierges were very helpful. Overall we had a great time and enjoyed our stay. We would stay at the Hampton Inn Times Square North again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at The Hampton Inn Times Square North, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Hello,

Thanks for posting! I will be sure to share your great feedback with the staff. It is our goal to deliver superb customer service and your comment lets me know were moving in the right direction.

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverrly, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

The hotel was very clean, friendly staff and prompt check-in. The hotel had a baggage room so we were able to check our luggage on check-out and not have to worry about our luggage while sightseeing. The room was spacious and very nice and clean. The bedding was very comfortable. The room was very quiet. The breakfast was very good and a great selection of food. It was convenient to mid-town attractions within walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at The Hampton Inn Times Square North, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Hello,

We are so glad to see that you had an enjoyable stay. We hope to see you again soon!

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I would rate this hotel as very good, based on a six day stay. The location could not be better for midtown Manhattan, being on 8th Ave and close to 50th street where all the subway lines have stations. It is a fairly modern hotel, with good sized rooms. Small bathroom though. It is quite expensive, but that is typical for this part of New York. We all hate hotels that nickel and dime you, and this Hampton is very good with free facilities. For example, the breakfast is free and not bad. Free WiFi is a good benefit and also free local and toll free telephone.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at The Hampton Inn Times Square North, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Hello Dave,


We are pleased to see that you were able to take full advantage of all the complimentary amenities the hotel has to offer. We also thank you for sharing your great feedback with the trip advisor community. Please come again!


Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superior, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

The room was comfortable and clean. They have a good buffet breakfast but as they tell you with clever lobby signage, be prepared to navigate the crowds at certain times. You cannot beat the location. It's very close to Times Square but not in it, so the street outside has a regular Manhattan volume of people vs. mobs of tourists. It was cold the week we were there so we really appreciated the 24/7 availability of coffee and hot tea in the lobby. Staff was courteous and friendly. Like many mid-town hotels, price per night varies A LOT depending on the night of the week, so read the per night cost carefully before booking. Overall a good value.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at The Hampton Inn Times Square North, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Hello,


We are so glad to see that you had an enjoyable stay. You must come again when the weather is a little better and you can enjoy some sun in NYC!

Hope this finds you well.

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

stayed at hampton inn time square our first stay at this hotel stayed from the 11/04/14 to15/04/14 the accomodation was great we had rooms 504/506 the rooms were large compared to other hampton inns in new york the public areas of the hotel were kept clean and tidy the staff were excellent and as usual the breakfast was great will stop here again on our next visit as the location was excellent

Room Tip: request higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at The Hampton Inn Times Square North, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Hello,


Thanks for sharing! We look forward to hosting your next stay in NYC as well.

Hope all is well.

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

This is a Hampton Inn. If you know that going in and expect the level of comfort and service of a Hampton Inn, you won't be disappointed. The staff is friendly, my room was comfortable and clean, and everything about the hotel worked well. Is it fancy? No. Are there huge crowds of people at breakfast? Yes. But for the location and the price, you can't beat it. Just don't expect fancy and elegant. It's a Hampton Inn!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at The Hampton Inn Times Square North, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for posting and obviously being a true Hampton veteran. We look forward to seeing you again!

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Hampton Inn Times Square North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hampton Inn Times Square North

Address: 851 Eighth Avenue @ 51st Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Family Hotel in New York City
#81 Business Hotel in New York City
#86 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hampton Inn Times Square North 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including daily hot breakfast, Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hampton Inn® Manhattan Times Square North is a newly renovated, contemporary hotel with ideal Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, The Museum of Modern Art, Carnegie Hall and Restaurant Row. Located on Eighth Avenue at 51st Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is surrounded by many restaurants, lively nightlife, shopping and New York City’s best sightseeing. The hotel is close to all major subway lines, a few blocks from Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 300 oversized, modern guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, lap desk, large work desk with ergonomic chair and Cloud Nine, the Hampton Bed Experience. COMPLIMENTARY, HOT BREAKFAST is offered daily to each guest plus On the Run Breakfast Bags™ are available from the front desk Monday through Friday, for guests who are “on-the-go.” Additional complimentary amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, coffee and tea in the lobby 24 hours per day, local telephone calls from guestroom and complimentary USA Today® (Monday through Friday). Hampton Inn® Manhattan Times Square North also has a gift shop and full-service Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk onsite. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Valet parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, JackRabbit Systems, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Hampton Inn Times Square North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hampton Inn Times Square North Hotel New York City
Hampton Inn Manhattan
Hampton Inn New York City
Hampton Inn Times Square North
New York City Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hampton Inn Times Square North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.