We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't stay anywhere else” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hampton Inn Times Square North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Hampton Inn Times Square North to your Saves list
The Hampton Inn Times Square North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   851 Eighth Avenue @ 51st Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% through August!
Ranked #98 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
chicago
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wouldn't stay anywhere else”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I am regulary in NYC for business and the Hampton Inn Times Square North is my go to place. Can't beat the service and accommodating staff. Rooms are large and comfortable, especially by NYC standards. Location allows easy access to tourist attractions but also to the real life requirements like restaurants, grocery stores, and Central Park. I won't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaInfante, Guest Relations Manager at The Hampton Inn Times Square North, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. We love having you here!!!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Infante
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,988
    1,253
    237
    50
    31
See reviews for
1,468
885
149
325
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Top Contributor
441 reviews 441 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I spent five nights in this hotel, while attending a conference at the New York Hilton Midtown. The staff is friendly, the rooms are comfortable and clean, and the location is superb. Breakfast is free, but because of the small area and lots of guests, you are better off either going very early or skipping it altogether. I love the fact that there is tea and coffee all day long. Everything worked flawlessly and I plan to stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: Higher floors would probably lead to better acoustics, being away from the street, but you will pay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaInfante, Guest Relations Manager at The Hampton Inn Times Square North, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
We truly loved having you here!! We hope to see you in the near future!


Regards,
Melissa Infante
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Traveled to NYC for a long weekend with 10 of female family members. Wanted a hotel in a good location, with clean and comfy beds. The Hampton inn worked out great. The 8th St location put us within easy walking distance of Times Square, Broadway shows, and the awesome restaurants of Hell's Kitchen. The free breakfast was good - pre-made omelets, waffle machines, a breakfast meat and the normal assortment of sweet breads, cereals, etc. It was nice to be able to grab breakfast so conveniently.

The hotel is surprisingly quiet for its great location. We were on floors 8 and 9 (out of 11), facing 8th Ave. There was very little street or hallway noise.

There is a 24 hour coffee and tea bar in the lobby. That was a nice perk as it was cold and windy for our weekend, and that was a nice warm up when we came in.

The staff were all very friendly. The concierge gave us solid recommendations and a discount card to save 15% at certain eateries and attractions.

All in all, if you're planning to a lot of exploring, this hotel is a good choice. There is a subway station directly across the street, you can the A and C train. Or you can ride/walk to the Times Square station for many more choices.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaInfante, Guest Relations Manager at The Hampton Inn Times Square North, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful experience on Tripadvisor. We loved having you here!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Infante
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Just returned from 4 nights at this hotel for my mums 50th birthday. The hotel were fab and had got my mum flowers, chocolates birthday cake and card! Was a wonderful surprise for her and made the stay extra special - big thank you to Catherine gornell for arranging.

The hotel rooms and bathrooms are a little dated but perfectly clean and comfortable there was 4 adults sharing our room and was fine. The breakfast is varied and very nice and hot drinks and cookies available all the time near reception.

The hotel location is brilliant, just off Times Square.. Walk a few blocks up and your at Central Park and 5th avenue and the other direction is Empire State Building. There are 2 subways literally on doorstop so that's also very convenient.

Would recommend this hotel to anybody!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaInfante, Guest Relations Manager at The Hampton Inn Times Square North, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
We truly love haivng you here. Thank you so much for sharing your excellent experience on Tripadvisor. We hope to see you again!

Regards
Melissa Infante
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

I booked my room plus four rooms for 16 college students for six nights or 5 nights. The experience could not be better. Reservation process and customer service was flawless. Service in the hotel is outstanding. Checkout was seamless. The breakfast is a big plus for the students ! I will be back again next year.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaInfante, Guest Relations Manager at The Hampton Inn Times Square North, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us!! We loved having you all here!! We hope to see you again in the near future!!!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Infante
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Thank you so much for an amazing experience. My family and I had a great time. The staff from housekeeping all the way to the front desk are friendly. The manager Melissa is always smiling and very helpful. I can't wait to come back. Loved this hotel!!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaInfante, Guest Relations Manager at The Hampton Inn Times Square North, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Girlsnightout 22,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We loved to have you here!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Infante
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

The Hampton Inn is in a great location. I love the breakfast, the coffee and hot chocolate. The front desk staff is always busy but they all do a great job. The hotel is close to the subways, Times Square and Central Park. I can't wait to come to New York City and stay here again!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaInfante, Guest Relations Manager at The Hampton Inn Times Square North, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Maria J,

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience on Tripadvisor. We love to have you here!!!!

Regards,
Melissa Infante
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hampton Inn Times Square North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hampton Inn Times Square North

Address: 851 Eighth Avenue @ 51st Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Family Hotel in New York City
#78 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#80 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hampton Inn Times Square North 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including daily hot breakfast, Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hampton Inn® Manhattan Times Square North is a newly renovated, contemporary hotel with ideal Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, The Museum of Modern Art, Carnegie Hall and Restaurant Row. Located on Eighth Avenue at 51st Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is surrounded by many restaurants, lively nightlife, shopping and New York City’s best sightseeing. The hotel is close to all major subway lines, a few blocks from Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 300 oversized, modern guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, lap desk, large work desk with ergonomic chair and Cloud Nine, the Hampton Bed Experience. COMPLIMENTARY, HOT BREAKFAST is offered daily to each guest plus On the Run Breakfast Bags™ are available from the front desk Monday through Friday, for guests who are “on-the-go.” Additional complimentary amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, coffee and tea in the lobby 24 hours per day, local telephone calls from guestroom and complimentary USA Today® (Monday through Friday). Hampton Inn® Manhattan Times Square North also has a gift shop and full-service Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk onsite. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Valet parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Hilton Hotels so you can book your The Hampton Inn Times Square North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hampton Inn Times Square North Hotel New York City
Hampton Inn Manhattan
Hampton Inn New York City
Hampton Inn Times Square North
New York City Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hampton Inn Times Square North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.