We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to All” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   851 Eighth Avenue @ 51st Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% through August!
Ranked #106 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Close to All”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Very typical good Hampton Inn. Clean and comfortable room. Primary benefit is that you could walk to Times Square, theater district, but as with all Manhattan hotels, it was little pricey. The staff was on the ball. Efficient and friendly. As in Las Vegas, at night there was a staff member at the elevators to ensure guest safety and not allow unwanted folks access to the rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a view room on the 11th floor. Just adds a little to the experience but you will be facing E...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,094
    1,329
    260
    56
    33
See reviews for
1,569
938
154
347
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (587)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto On Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Great location, great staff. Room was fine, good view over 8th Ave. Fantastic complimentary breakfast. Free bottled water available. One elevator was out of order. Just a couple of blocks from Times Square and Central Park.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

pricey, but what do you expect for Manhattan good location close to Times Square but directly in the congested area complimentary breakfast a nice amenity, but quality not that good very friendly staff

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, CA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

a little small but sufficient. Clean and neat. Staff were very nice. Within walking distance of Time Square and many theaters. Nice free buffet breakfast. Free Wifi. HINT: check back online after making reservations--rates changed periodically and two days before arrival our room rate went down $101.00 per night and it was easy to change from confirmation email, just clicked on Modify reservations.

Room Tip: If two people get the King bed rather than two queens--room a little small for two beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My husband and I travel to NYC two to three times a year. 2012 we stayed at The Hampton Inn Times Square North 3 times. It is by far the best management team you could ask for in such a busy location. We started to stay at this location after 12 years of staying at another Hilton property. This December marks the fourth year in a row times 2 or 3 stays a year that we have stayed here. My husband and I are huge theater buffs and this is the perfect local for just such a love. We are also huge fans of the personnel on staff at this location. In particular Melissa Infante. Melissa has always been friendly and attentive to our requests, more than that she has accommodated guests we have sent to her. There is no finer place to stay in NYC than this Hampton Inn !! See you in December!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Front desk staff not attentive! I had the worst customer service with an attitude. The room I requested was anything that I requested and when I asked for another room it was bothersome, I overheard a guest checking in with great customer service, the front desk staff explained the amenities, I was told nothing, just handed a key! Dont go here!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaInfante, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel. The issues you encountered at check-in have been addressed. We appreciate you bringing this to us and we hope you will give our property a second chance to show you the quality hospitality you deserve if you return to our area in the future. We would really love to have you back so we can show you what our warm Hamptonality is all about.

Melissa Infante
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Nice Quality Hotel, Great Price for MidTown NYC. The rooms were clean and beds were comfortable. The free breakfast was good (same as every Hampton Inn). Staff was friendly and helpful. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Sq...
#181 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,616 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#96 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 5,084 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#57 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 4,381 reviews
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#149 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North

Address: 851 Eighth Avenue @ 51st Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in New York City
#93 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#108 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including daily hot breakfast, Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hampton Inn® Manhattan Times Square North is a newly renovated, contemporary hotel with ideal Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, The Museum of Modern Art, Carnegie Hall and Restaurant Row. Located on Eighth Avenue at 51st Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is surrounded by many restaurants, lively nightlife, shopping and New York City’s best sightseeing. The hotel is close to all major subway lines, a few blocks from Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 300 oversized, modern guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, lap desk, large work desk with ergonomic chair and Cloud Nine, the Hampton Bed Experience. COMPLIMENTARY, HOT BREAKFAST is offered daily to each guest plus On the Run Breakfast Bags™ are available from the front desk Monday through Friday, for guests who are “on-the-go.” Additional complimentary amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, coffee and tea in the lobby 24 hours per day, local telephone calls from guestroom and complimentary USA Today® (Monday through Friday). Hampton Inn® Manhattan Times Square North also has a gift shop and full-service Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk onsite. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Valet parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hampton Inn Times Square North Hotel New York City
Hampton Inn Manhattan
Hampton Inn New York City
Hampton Inn Times Square North
New York City Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.