We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good location and good experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hampton Inn Times Square North

Save Saved
You added The Hampton Inn Times Square North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Hampton Inn Times Square North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   851 Eighth Avenue @ 51st Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Hell's Kitchen)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off for Special Rate
Ranked #63 of 446 hotels in New York City
howell
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A good location and good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The hotel is located in a great location. We enjoyed theater and concerts the night before, had a midnight snack at the diner across the street and walked to central park and 5th avenue the next day.

We were able to check in early without a problem AND we were able to check out late with out a problem or fee. We also had our garage parking ticket stamped for a great price for 24 hr parking right next door. There is always hot coffee in the lobby 24/7. The room was clean. The beds comfortable. And the room size was quite spacious by NYC standards. The bathroom was nice. Absolutely nothing to complain about. Well, except the madhouse that was breakfast. SUPER crowded and full of nasty grumpy people all trying to get their b'fast. It was ridiculous. But it was also free, so I guess that is what happens with free food in NYC. :) I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,026 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,742
    1,049
    168
    40
    27
See reviews for
1101
696
121
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This is one fantastic hotel. We stayed 4 nights and loved everything about this Hampton Inn. Everyone on staff was friendly and helpful, the breakfast was good (same as every hotel in this chain) and the room was large and modern (updated bath and flat panel TV). The greatest thing about this hotel is the location. It is in a very popular area of mid-town Manhattan that is safe and just a quick walk to restaurants, Broadway theaters, Central Park and museums. Also, the subway is only one block away. On one day of our stay, we never used public transportation as everything we wanted to do from morning until night was walking distance from this hotel. We will definitely be back the next time we visit NYC.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I was chaperoning a NY field trip with my daughters. So I really set my expectations at the lowest. We walked from the bus station aprox 8 blocks. So centrally located, everything is close by. We stayed on the 4th floor no noise from the street. Upon our arrival The lobby looked really nice & updated, Being that we were a large group , Check in was a breeze. Rooms were really nice, SUPER clean and spacious storage. Beds were comfortable and the bedding (the down comforter ) was a dream. Staff was exceptional. So polite and always smiling and voluntarily helpful. Remember, we were there with a dozen pre-teen/teenager girls (lol) The complimentary coffee and cookies in the lobby is an amazing asset. (I never use the coffee machine provided in the rooms). Great choices for breakfasts and always replenished. My first stay, definitely not my last.

Room Tip: Try to stay on lower levels so you can use the stairs instead of waiting for the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Most enjoyable 5 day stay at the Hampton Inn Times Square North. We were well taken care of by very helpful friendly staff. The location is excellent being very near Central Park, 5th Ave., Broadway, Times Square, etc. Look forward to my next stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corner Brook, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

If you are driving get instructions on parking before you arrive. The line ups at breakfast can be large so get there early but other than that we had a great stay. The staff were helpful, and the rooms were what you would expect from a Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I have to say that this hotel exceeded my expectations! The location was perfect. It's one block from the Broadway musical "Wicked", 3 Blocks from time Square, 1 block from Hell's kitchen, 1/2 a block from cvs, 7/11 and the subway.

The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly! We were given a map and told of the different locations we could go to for the 4th of July fireworks. I also called the front desk to ask them about timing to get to the airport and they were helpful in answering my questions.

The room was clean and comfortable. Nothing too fancy but it was perfectly clean! The AC worked great and we couldn't hear any of the outside noise.

My only gripe about this place is that when people were walking in the hallways we could hear loud and clear. We didn't experience anything too annoying but did notice it.

I am definitely coming back and staying here because the value is great. Oh and did I mention that they have free breakfast every morning?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

My cousins are visiting from Arkansas this week and we decided to spend a night in the city. The parking garage is right next to the hotel entrance and the hotel will stamp your ticket and you will get a discounted rate. Check in was a breeze. We reserved 2 rooms and they gave us rooms directly across the hall from each other without me having to ask. The beds were comfortable. The room temperature was a little too warm for me, but it was very hot and humid outside. The location of the hotel is wonderful. So close to Times Square, the theater district, the subway and gray line bus. Also just a few blocks away from the West Side Highway if you drive in. The rooms were clean and surprisingly large for NYC. Go to breakfast early if you don't want to stand in line, but the line does move quickly if you get there later. Every employee I met and spoke to was helpful, friendly, and nice. I would return to this hotel in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Hampton Inn Times Square North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hampton Inn Times Square North

Also Known As:
The Hampton Inn Times Square North Hotel New York City
The Hampton Inn Times Square North Hotel
Hampton Inn Times Square
Hampton Inn Manhattan
Hampton Inn New York City
Hampton Inn Times Square North
New York City Hampton Inn
Address: 851 Eighth Avenue @ 51st Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in New York City
#66 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hampton Inn Times Square North 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including daily hot breakfast, Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hampton Inn® Manhattan Times Square North is a newly renovated, contemporary hotel with ideal Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, The Museum of Modern Art, Carnegie Hall and Restaurant Row. Located on Eighth Avenue at 51st Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is surrounded by many restaurants, lively nightlife, shopping and New York City’s best sightseeing. The hotel is close to all major subway lines, a few blocks from Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 300 oversized, modern guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, lap desk, large work desk with ergonomic chair and Cloud Nine, the Hampton Bed Experience. COMPLIMENTARY, HOT BREAKFAST is offered daily to each guest plus On the Run Breakfast Bags™ are available from the front desk Monday through Friday, for guests who are “on-the-go.” Additional complimentary amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, coffee and tea in the lobby 24 hours per day, local telephone calls from guestroom and complimentary USA Today® (Monday through Friday). Hampton Inn® Manhattan Times Square North also has a gift shop and full-service Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk onsite. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Valet parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Venere, Hilton Hotels, Priceline and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your The Hampton Inn Times Square North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hampton Inn Times Square North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.