We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best NYC hotel - great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hampton Inn Times Square North

Save Saved
You added The Hampton Inn Times Square North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Hampton Inn Times Square North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   851 Eighth Avenue @ 51st Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Hell's Kitchen)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off for Special Rate
Ranked #77 of 452 hotels in New York City
Lakeland, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best NYC hotel - great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Best NYC hotel I have stayed at. Clean, updated and great experience. Rooms are what you see online not just a fancy lobby. A few blocks from Central Park and Times Square. Do not stay at Hotel Pennsylvania (did previously BIG mistake). Will definitely stay again on our next trip to the city.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,015 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,725
    1,039
    182
    40
    29
See reviews for
1246
746
127
284
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The Hampton Inn Times Square North has a terrific location in the heart of everything and more importantly they are an extremely clean hotel with a great hotel staff....Everyone that my family and I came in contact with were extremely courteous.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The Hampton Inn Times Square North is in a very convenient location on 8th Street. The hotel is within walking distance of Rockefellor Plaza, Times Square, Theater District and Hells Kitchen. The river where you can catch the water taxis and ferries is a 15-20 minute walk as well. There are several excellent restaurants near by - especially in the Hells Kitchen neighborhood. It's also really convenient for those people interested in the double-decker Bus tours - all of the bus tours leave from within a couple blocks of the hotel.

The rooms are nice. The beds are comfortable. The staff is very polite and accomodating. They moved us to quieter room on our second night. Our original room was on the fourth floor and faced the street, so it was pretty noisy. We moved to the 10th floor with a room in the back which was much quieter. The views aren't great but since you're not in the room very much anyway, it isn't really a big deal.

Would definitely stay here again if we visited NYC in the future.

Room Tip: If you prefer quiet rooms, ask for a room on a higher floor towards the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Just returned from a stay in NYC at this Hampton Inn. Our group of 4 thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Check-in was about the smoothest we've had at any hotel in Manhattan. The front desk staff was very friendly and accommodating. The room was clean and larger than other hotels we've experienced in NYC. The breakfast area was clean and filled our needs for breakfast, saving us lots of time and money having to buy breakfast elsewhere. The location was perfect ~ a manageable walk south to Times Square, east to Radio City and Rockefeller Center and north to Central Park, Carnegie Hall, Columbus Circle, etc. And, lots of restaurants to choose from on 8th Avenue. We will definitely be using this hotel on our next trips to Manhattan!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooksville, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We've stayed here several times and have never been disappointed. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Location is one block from Times Square...enough said. The included breakfast is always excellent. Staff is always polite and helpful. Melissa really was helpful to give us the best value for our money. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights and loved it! The location can't be beat. 1 block off Times Square on 8th Avenue which is NY Restaurant Row with every kind of food just out the front door. The hotel was very clean and quiet and provided a great atmosphere to relax in after a busy day in the city. The hot breakfast was plentiful and the hotel even went the extra mile to have gluten-free bread and muffins for me when I told them I had Celiac disease. I have stayed a 4 different Hilton brand hotels in NYC and this is my favorite. The staff is especially attentive to special needs of their guests and that's what makes it great for me.

Room Tip: For a quiet night, ask for a room that does not face 8th Avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We arrived early and were given a room with no hassles. The room was spotless and well stocked. The hotel itself was close to just about everything. Everyone in the hotel were so friendly and helpful. The only problem was they only have 2 elevators and 1 was broken for our entire stay which meant lengthy waits most of the time. Would highly recommend this hotel to all.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper ask for a room at the back of the hotel instead of the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hampton Inn Times Square North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hampton Inn Times Square North

Address: 851 Eighth Avenue @ 51st Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Family Hotel in New York City
#68 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#76 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hampton Inn Times Square North 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including daily hot breakfast, Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hampton Inn® Manhattan Times Square North is a newly renovated, contemporary hotel with ideal Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, The Museum of Modern Art, Carnegie Hall and Restaurant Row. Located on Eighth Avenue at 51st Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is surrounded by many restaurants, lively nightlife, shopping and New York City’s best sightseeing. The hotel is close to all major subway lines, a few blocks from Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 300 oversized, modern guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, lap desk, large work desk with ergonomic chair and Cloud Nine, the Hampton Bed Experience. COMPLIMENTARY, HOT BREAKFAST is offered daily to each guest plus On the Run Breakfast Bags™ are available from the front desk Monday through Friday, for guests who are “on-the-go.” Additional complimentary amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, coffee and tea in the lobby 24 hours per day, local telephone calls from guestroom and complimentary USA Today® (Monday through Friday). Hampton Inn® Manhattan Times Square North also has a gift shop and full-service Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk onsite. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Valet parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Hampton Inn Times Square North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hampton Inn Times Square North Hotel New York City
Hampton Inn Manhattan
Hampton Inn New York City
Hampton Inn Times Square North
New York City Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hampton Inn Times Square North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.