We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A No Lobby Holiday Inn Express” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1605 Broadway, 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30% this Summer
Ranked #179 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A No Lobby Holiday Inn Express”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My wife thinks it is better than a Holiday Inn Express because it has a bar (we didn't use) and a restaurant- A word about the restaurant and the $32.00 breakfast-You might actually be better off paying cash for your breakfast than ordering the offered online "bargain". It's a buffet like the Holiday Inn Express has. Most people opt for the plentiful offerings of cereals and the excellent fresh fruit. There is no omelette bar, if you want fresh eggs, you must request them. The menu offers eggs benedict but you can't have them if breakfast is included in your rate.

Our room had a very saggy mattress-clearly old- don't they check replace these as they wear out? I think even a Holiday Inn does that.

Also, this Hotel has no lobby. No comfortable open space for gusts to gather, relax and socialize. Instead, they took the space that was the lobby and installed a bar with angry signs that say seats reserved for bar patrons and a minimum purchase is required. Really sad. If you get a big discount, it might be worth it. We didn't and it wasn't.

Finally, no room service. Why? I don't know. No explanation was offered. But like a Holiday Inn, you will be required to schlep out for snacks, if you are so inclined.

The location is very good but there are hotels all around here that are equally well located and less expensive, with lobbies, room service and omelet stations and probably regularly replaced mattresses. This hotel is priced out of its league.

Room Tip: The Hotel believes rooms above the 40th floor are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,933
    2,169
    738
    301
    190
See reviews for
2,103
1,853
203
731
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,368)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I am disgusted with the state of the room which I paid nearly USD 300 per night. The room was not cleaned properly and we even found broken toys left by the previous occupant. The bath room is dirty and don't even mentioned the so called swimming pool. I am just amazed that the hotel charged such an amount of money for a room that don't have a fridge, the windows are so old you can't even close so the noise is horrendous. We were staying on the 27th floor so you can imagine we were even disturbed by the noise. What make me so annoyed is that some of our belongings were stolen. We reported to the security which he promised to investigate ( I think his name is Abdul) and get back to us but I have not heard nothing from him.

  • Stayed August 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We arrived in New York as our final holiday destination - having travelled around Canada and some other US cities for a few weeks before. We made the colossal mistake of leaving a satchel containing our passports, camera, iPad, sunglasses and much more in the back of the cab that dropped us off. We paid cash, didn't have the medallion number or any more info than "it was a yellow cab".
The concierge/door staff were incredible at managing our panic and initiating action on the part of the security team. We'd particularly like to thank Sam and Eugenie for their help - their demeanour, advice and support was impeccable.
Amazingly - within one hour of me telling the team of our dilemma the security team at the hotel had traced the driver and he returned to the hotel with our bag.
I literally cannot fault the service we received from the front desk to the chap who helped us to the taxi when we left.
The hotel is in a great location, has great amenities and extremely comfy beds. The room we had was lovely and large. It's not a hotel with oodles of soul when you look at the decor - but the team they have in place easily compensate for that.
Thanks so much for looking after us.
Pam and Phil

  • Stayed August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

location is perfect , in the center of activity area. All sorts of restaurants available at walking distance. Poor wifi in room, had to go in corridor to use the wifi
complained but no response and there were insects on the walls .

Stayed July 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I picked this hotel on a recommendation from my niece Laura who i decided has great taste.Well i am so glad i did the Location is excellent, the little bistro was great with lovely staff and the bar had great atmosphere and cocktails.
Will definently return.Fantastic base could not be better would recommend the on off bus tours great value for money with some excellent guides. A fabulous base from which to explore an amazing city.

Stayed August 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

A group of us stayed at the Crowne Plaza Time Square for the weekend. The location was great in the heart of Time Square which is where we wanted to be. The rooms are large for New York. The beds were very comfortable. The Crowne Plaza is a very busy hotel so be prepared to stand line in to check in. All the staff are pleasant and accommodating. The hotel does not some updating. We stored our luggage at check out because we still had several hours prior to departing New York (the process was efficient) this was a great service provided by the Crowne Plaza. Getting a taxi from the hotel was timely. I would definitely return to the Crowne Plaza.

Stayed August 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

If you want to stay in Times Square, this location is perfect. The hotel itself exceeded our expectations after staying in other hotels nearby. The room was comfortable and a nice size for the area, very clean and everything was in new condition. It was fun to walk out of the hotel and be right in the thick of Times Square!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#58 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 4,484 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#95 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 5,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Times Square New York
Hyatt Times Square New York
#44 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,341 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#127 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 5,709 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#30 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan

Address: 1605 Broadway, 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#97 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#122 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#155 Family Hotel in New York City
#163 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan 4*
Number of rooms: 795
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Times Square, always New York's most exciting scene, seems all new now that the Crowne Plaza Times Square has reinvented itself. Come check out our $85 million re-invention, and see for yourself how modern design can provide a whole new kind of comfort. Enjoy one of our 795 well-appointed guest rooms outfitted with fresh contemporary accents and plush Sleep Advantage beds. Every room offers breathtaking views of Times Square, the famous Manhattan skyline or the Hudson River, unique among hotels in Times Square. Relax in our sleek lobby lounge, or have an evening cocktail in Broadway 49 Bar. Delight in a new spin on New American Eclectic cuisine at Brasserie 1605, one of the most exciting Times Square restaurants. With options like these, it's no wonder that New York seems so new. If you ve come for a meeting, you ll benefit from the new tech-friendly environment. If you re here for an event, you ll revel in the open space and atmospheric lighting, and when you walk through our front door, you step onto Broadway dazzling lights, world-class entertainment and urban energy. That's how Crowne Plaza Times Square is keeping New York new for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Otel, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan Hotel New York City
Crowne Plaza Hotel Manhattan
Crowne Plaza New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.