We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1605 Broadway, 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special New York Savings!
Ranked #144 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Location Location Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Ideally situated in Times Square, great place to stay in NY. Hotel staff were very helpful, after messing up our room booking initially (had booked a room above 42nd floor - months in advance - but they had reserved us a room on the 19th) reception managed to sort that out on checking in.
No problems with the room, possibly a little tired, but in a minor way. Great view over Times Square and the city.
Great free service provided allowing bags to be stored after checking out allowed us to roam unhindered until we came back in the afternoon and picked our bags up. Liike that! Thanks Crowne Plaza.
Would probably have been 5 stars if it wasn't for the room mess up. Even so, would I come again? Yes!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlaza49, Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Hi AdrianFP!

Thank you for the review! We're glad we were able to help situate the error on the booking. We understand that can be frustrating, especially upon check-in. Our rooms are currently going through a major refresh so we hope you'll like the rooms even more after. We hope to earn that 5th star very soon! Thank you again for staying with us. We hope to see you soon!

Regards,

Fatena Q. Williams
Front Office Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,289
    1,694
    576
    227
    145
See reviews for
1,624
1,478
161
584
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,027)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

The last time I stayed in TS (many years ago) it was busy and crowded, but not like this! It was just Crazy this visit. Soo much foot and vehicle traffic! If you want to take a cab out, you need to walk at least a half mile lest your cab sit endlessly in traffic. It is so congested it is honestly a bit dangerous. A tour bus collided injuring 15 pedestrians during our visit, and I am surprised only by the fact it has not happened before.

The hotel was nice enough, but Not a 4 star hotel. There is wear on the edges: chipped mirrors and peeling paint on tub, dirty windows. But beds comfortable, upholstery clean and not worn. Generally room interior was clean and quiet. Good maid service. Front desk ok, room was not ready for early check-in as requested, but few hotels manage to accomplish this, so I don't hold it against them.

INTERNET/PHONE reception : Terrible. But I guess this is a problem in many places in the city. They do nickel and dime for everything from internet use to local calls.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlaza49, Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Hi Truthbetold2U!

Thanks for the review. I want to start by saying thank you for giving our property a chance. We agree, Times Square isn't for everyone. It can get busy, loud, and overwhelming. However, others seem to enjoy the hustle and bustle. We appreciate your review of our rooms. We are currrently going through a very expansive room refresh but that's no excuse for you to receive services not beholding of a 4 star property. We hope this won't deter you from visiting us if you do choose a Times Square property in the future.

Regards,

Syed Abid
Social Media Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, IN
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a conference in July for 6 days. Very nice hotel, very secure and right in the middle of the crazy that is Times Square. Nice room & nice view. Expensive for us, but about average for the area. I loved that we could escape Times Square but slipping into the hotel. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlaza49, Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Hi LittleMissMessy!

Thank you for staying with us. We're happy to hear our property was to your liking! We really are in the heart of it all so it can get very hectic outside the hotel. However, we try and keep it as peaceful and comfortable for guests as we possibly can. We hope you'll visit us again even though Times Square can be overwhelming for some. Have a great summer!

All the best,

Syed Abid
Social Media Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
İstanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

This hotel is perfect. Rooms are great. Even we have arrived early , we could reach our rooms very fastly. They are very helpful and kind staff. Hotel is situated very close to Times Square where you must absolutely visit in Manhattan. Hotel lobby is wide and have place enough for drnk and take snacks. Breakfast was perfect. Service staff was very kind. Hotel has a nice Times Square view.

Room Tip: Take rooms from Times Square side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlaza49, Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Hello Cagdas,

Thanks much for that wonderful review. We strive to provide the best possible service we can. We're glad to see our efforts pay off in the form of your positive feedback. We hope you'll visit us again. Have a great rest of the summer!

Warm regards,

Geoffrey Mills
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

If you are planning a trip in NYC and wishing to visit the usual tourist destinations in the city, I suggest that you stay in this hotel because it is in the middle of everything, it's basically steps away to Time Square , a walking distance to different broadway shows, the Rockefeller Center, Grand central, Empire state building, Central Park and others. Walking around this places can be very exhausting and having a hotel where you can rest in between would be a good idea to get energized just to keep you going in this busy city. In terms of rooms, I can say that they are a little small but, hey you are in NYC, so this is something to be expected, they are well maintained though, beds are comfortable and restrooms are nicely done. I will certainly go back in this hotel if I need to stay in the city again.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlaza49, Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Hi Euone!

Thank you very much for the wonderful review. We're glad you got to enjoy our beautiful property as well as the location. As you mentioned, we really are in the center of it all. Whether it be the lights, Broadway shows, restaurants or public transportation, we're central to it. We are happy to hear you were able to enjoy all aspects of our hotel and we wish you'll be back soon!

Regards,

Fatena Q. Williams
Front Office Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We recently spent a couple of nights at the Crowne Plaza while in New York to see a couple of shows. The hotel was perfectly located--within walking distance to all the theaters, shopping, and other tourist attractions. The room was lovely, very clean, well appointed, and had a great view. We ordered room service one night, and were very pleasantly surprised by the excellent presentation and delightful waiter. Would definitely recommend, although the price was a bit steep.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Times Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlaza49, Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Hi ngoudey,

Thank you for taking the time out to write a review. Your comments are very much appreciated. We're happy to hear you had a great time with us and we hope everything was to your liking. Please visit us again soon. We'd love to have you!

Regards,

Syed Abid
Social Media Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Smallish room but average for midtown hotels. Nothing special but perfectly adequate. Elevators reasonably speedy. Reasonably quiet, not too much noise from the street or neighboring rooms.

Staff were pleasant and helpful. Lots of tourists but since I was a tourist also it seems churlish to complain about that.

Extremely convenient to most of the Broadway theatre district. My friend and I had drinks in the bar and the service was friendly and prompt. We did not eat in the hotel so I did not form an opinion of the food. It's an easy walk down to Shake Shack on 8th Avenue if that's your thing (as it was mine).

This is a good, solid hotel and especially if you like collecting IHG points it's a good choice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlaza49, Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Hello ImeldaTheHon,

Thank you very much for the kind words. We're glad you enjoyed our property. We are central to all of Times Square so yes, if you're in the city then this is where you want to be. We hope you do return to the Crowne Plaza Times Square for a return stay as we'd love to have you!

Regards,

Fatena Q. Williams
Front Office Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan

Address: 1605 Broadway, 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#93 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#103 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#123 Family Hotel in New York City
#132 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan 4*
Number of rooms: 770
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Times Square, always New York's most exciting scene, seems all new now that the Crowne Plaza Times Square has reinvented itself. Come check out our $85 million re-invention, and see for yourself how modern design can provide a whole new kind of comfort. Enjoy one of our 795 well-appointed guest rooms outfitted with fresh contemporary accents and plush Sleep Advantage beds. Every room offers breathtaking views of Times Square, the famous Manhattan skyline or the Hudson River, unique among hotels in Times Square. Relax in our sleek lobby lounge, or have an evening cocktail in Broadway 49 Bar. Delight in a new spin on New American Eclectic cuisine at Brasserie 1605, one of the most exciting Times Square restaurants. With options like these, it's no wonder that New York seems so new. If you ve come for a meeting, you ll benefit from the new tech-friendly environment. If you re here for an event, you ll revel in the open space and atmospheric lighting, and when you walk through our front door, you step onto Broadway dazzling lights, world-class entertainment and urban energy. That's how Crowne Plaza Times Square is keeping New York new for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan Hotel New York City
Crowne Plaza Hotel Manhattan
Crowne Plaza New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.