We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Melia at Front Desk is AMAZINGLY helpful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1605 Broadway, 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #147 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Melia at Front Desk is AMAZINGLY helpful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I am a travel agent that booked a group into the Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan with 7 rooms for end of July in May. The service then was impeccable and the reservations staff did a great job of helping me decide the types of rooms and pricing.
When the group cancelled their NYC portion of the trip, I called the hotel reservation number and cancelled the rooms with the reservation agent but did not cancel all of them per Melia when she called to confirm that I was bringing the group to the hotel the day of arrival.
I was shocked that these reservations were not cancelled, however, when I looked at the confirmation numbers, they were still live reservations. Melia was gracious when I explained that I thought I had cancelled the rooms however, I could see they were not.
She told me that she would cancel these without a penalty due to the fact that she did show some rooms cancelled with reservations but not all so it may have been their error.
This was very generous of Melia and she has won a loyal travel agent and customer with her AMAZINGLY helpful attitude. She could have made this a major issue for me to resolve, however, she displayed a most helpful attitude and has won a client for life!
Thanks to Melia, as I have regular groups booking into NYC, Crowne Plaza will be my first suggestion to the clients as the most customer friendly hotel in Manhattan!
Appreciatively,
Mark

Room Tip: Ask for the Times Square side for the views!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlaza49, Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Hi Mark!

Thanks for the wonderful comments! I'm sure Melia will be thrilled to read this. I'm glad you got the situation sorted out. We'll be glad to have you and your clients stay on site with us. We hope to see you here soon, as well! Until then have a happy summer and be safe!

Best,

Geoffrey Mills
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,445
    1,812
    612
    243
    155
See reviews for
1,718
1,580
170
618
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,122)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Collinsville, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

The hotel was just fine until we got to experience the management. We called for a wake up call on the first night. After we called we noticed there is a table tent that says if you don't get your wake-up call your stay that evening is complimentary. We kind of laughed that it would be cool if they didn't call and we got a free night (let me point out that we are NOT people who are always looking for a freebee at ALL, we were just commenting that it would be funny). Ironically, we did not get our wake-up call the next morning. It wasn't a big deal, we woke up for the conference in time anyways. However, we informed the front desk that we didn't get our call and that there is a sign that says if you don't, your room is comped. This seamed to be news to the person at the desk. Then we got passed to 4 or 5 different people and were promised that the manager would take care of the issue and to check back in tomorrow. Again, we weren't looking for a free room and it wasn't a huge deal that we didn't get our call, BUT if you put a sign out that says "if we don't call you, your night is free" then you should honor that. That's just good business. So long story short, our room was never comped. They did however give us 4 comp drinks... for three people.

When we got back i got a survey invitation, so I answered it honestly. I get a response "On behalf of our staff, we apologize for your concern. I have addressed your comment with our team members and we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future. Here's 45,000 points on your PC card as our apology." blah, blah, blah It's just insulting at this point. Don't set policies that you're not going to honor. Won't be staying with a Crown Plaza again just for the principle!

And hotel management, please don't bother with some cookie cutter response expressing your appreciation for my comments that you're not going to actually do anything about. That's just a waste of everyone's time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlaza49, Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Hi LeahJ0327,

Let me start off by apologizing for your experience here at the Crowne Plaza Times Square. As you can imagine, we strive to provide the best service you can expect and we failed you in that aspect. My sincerest apologies. However, the 45,000 points issued to are equivalent to a free night at any of our IHG properties. Once again, that isn't an excuse to defend the service you received. I'd be glad to speak to you in more detail if you wish. You can e-mail me at Sabid@cptsnyc.com. Hope to discuss your concerns further.

Regards,

Syed Abid
Social Media Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Nice hotel though dated. We stayed on 38th floor and had good views of city and Hudson River, however room itself very dated, though comfortable. Central hotel, very busy but good area to be in. Breakfasts good though service very slow. Some staff on reception helpful and concierge service very good. I would stay here again, however would request a better room.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlaza49, Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Hi kb_chapman,

Thank you very much for your review. We're disappointed to hear you weren't 100% happy with your stay. We are currently going through a multi-million dollar refresh. On your return stay, please e-mail me at Sabid@cptsnyc.com so we may provide you with the service and room you deserve. Hope to hear from you soon!

Best,

Syed Abid
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, B.C.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights at The Crowne Plaza and were very happy with our stay. The room was spacious and clean, check in was a breeze and we were so close to everything. We loved the location! I left an IPad in the room, called the next day, it was recovered and Fed Exed back to me. I was impressed with the honesty of the housekeeping staff, particularly Maria C Pucha for returning it to Lost and Found. Thank you to Al Valdes (security) for returning it to me. First class service from a First Class hotel. Well Done!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlaza49, Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Hello JohnsonFamily!

We're so glad you had a good time here at the Crowne Plaza Times Square. I'm glad we were able to get your iPad back to you! We're here to provide the best service we possibly can. We hope to see you again soon!

Best,

Fatena Williams
Front Office Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I decided not to stay at my usual hotel because when I was there a couple of months ago, they were renovating their lobby and it was a total pain. Instead I decided to give the Crowne Plaza a try based on a recommendation from a family member. The price was great, the location (near the theaters) was great, and the service was great (especially housekeeping). The room, unfortunately, was so-so. Seemed tired and dated, and the shower head was downright awful (sort of trickled water and dripped constantly). I still think they deserve a recommendation. Just have realistic expectations.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlaza49, Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Hi Kdec_austin,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We're so happy to hear about your stay. I'm disappointed that you weren't happy with your room. We're currently going through a multi-million dollar refresh currently, so you'll be impressed with our rooms very soon. We hope you give us another chance very soon!

Best,

Syed Abid
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights at the hotel and loved every minute of our stay! A BIG thank you to Brunilda at the front desk for all of her help in checking in! Our corner room was very large and had a beautiful view of the River! All of the staff made our 10th anniversary trip to New York City a very special one!! Excellent service!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlaza49, Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Hi EmandKae,

Thanks much for the review! Brunilda will be thrilled to know that she was able to make your anniversary a bit more memorable. We can't wait to have you back! Let us know when you're coming so we can prepare accordingly.

Best,

Fatena Williams
Front Office Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Everything was amazing. The property was amazing, the room was stunning, the service wasn't bad (though it didn't blow me away because sometimes we requested things and they never came). The room needed some repairs (cracked bathtub), but they did everything in their power to fix the problem. Get a corner room, its worth it. And it looked like the very high floors, and the lower floors were more renovated then the middle floors (newer doors, better looking exits from the elevator). The Buffet was modest at best, the selection was decent, but if you are looking for omelettes and quality lunches, skip the buffet and just buy regular breakfast item by item. Actually, if the breakfast wasn't included in your rate for $1 more (there was a promo that had breakfast buffet for 2 for an extra $1), don't get the buffet. Or, if you want a quick lunch, they have a new amazing cafe in the lobby. It is amazing (get the pecan sticky bun! It is just amazing). They gave us a lot of comps due to the late check in, but I was very happy with what they did because of it. Everything was amazing, and even though there were several problems, they fixed them all ASAP. Thanks for a great trip. Room 3315 July18th-22nd. PS. Late checkout may or may not be available, and we were lucky enough to get until 1:30pm, the fitness centre wasn't owned by the hotel and there was a $10 entry fee, unless if you were an IHG rewards member, and the wifi was $15 a night unless if you were and IHG rewards member. Also, DONT GET A CAR IN NEW YORK!!! You really don't need it. You have uber, sidecar, lyft, taxi's, the subway, and the busses that over run the city. If you have a car, chances are you wont be going anywhere quickly due to traffic, and its $50 a night for parking with no in and out privileges. You can walk everywhere. Thanks for a great stay. Overall- 4.5/5 stars.

Room Tip: Corner rooms, request a renovated room, note that the higher the floor the less water pressure, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlaza49, Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Hi Austin!

Wow, thank you for that detailed review. We really do appreciate it. We're so happy to hear that your stay was a positive one. Also, you're absolutely right! We are currently going through a multi-million dollar refresh of our rooms and hallways. So you'll be seeing a very welcomed change very soon. The Grab & Co is a fantastic choice for those on the run or in a hurry. We're so glad you got to try our facilities on property. We'd be happy to have you again, Austin. Please visit us again soon!

Best,

Geoffrey Mills
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan

Address: 1605 Broadway, 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#99 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#106 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#121 Family Hotel in New York City
#143 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan 4*
Number of rooms: 770
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Times Square, always New York's most exciting scene, seems all new now that the Crowne Plaza Times Square has reinvented itself. Come check out our $85 million re-invention, and see for yourself how modern design can provide a whole new kind of comfort. Enjoy one of our 795 well-appointed guest rooms outfitted with fresh contemporary accents and plush Sleep Advantage beds. Every room offers breathtaking views of Times Square, the famous Manhattan skyline or the Hudson River, unique among hotels in Times Square. Relax in our sleek lobby lounge, or have an evening cocktail in Broadway 49 Bar. Delight in a new spin on New American Eclectic cuisine at Brasserie 1605, one of the most exciting Times Square restaurants. With options like these, it's no wonder that New York seems so new. If you ve come for a meeting, you ll benefit from the new tech-friendly environment. If you re here for an event, you ll revel in the open space and atmospheric lighting, and when you walk through our front door, you step onto Broadway dazzling lights, world-class entertainment and urban energy. That's how Crowne Plaza Times Square is keeping New York new for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan Hotel New York City
Crowne Plaza Hotel Manhattan
Crowne Plaza New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.