We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1605 Broadway, 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #148 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Kontiolahti, Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

The most exciting and incredible hotel! Arrived on 28 Februar 2014. Check in was nice and easy. Perfect location, excellent wiew from 39th floor. The room was very clean and quiet. Friendly crew at reception and in the bar. We'll (mother and teenage son) be back! We love it!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlaza49, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you for the amazing 5-star review! We are thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful time with us here at the Crowne Plaza Times Square and that you enjoyed the comforts of your room. We are glad to hear that our staff made a positive stay for you and your son. The location is certainly great for guests who want to be in the middle of Times Square. Please let us know the next time you will be back in New York City. We would love to have you stay with us again!
Best Regards,
Larry Colleton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,442
    1,811
    611
    243
    156
See reviews for
1,717
1,581
170
618
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,121)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza Times Square for our honeymoon trip to New York and we couldn't have asked for anything better. The staff at the hotel were polite and even gave us a bottle of fizz and specially wrapped sweets once they found out we were on honeymoon. A real special treat! The location is perfect with subway stations, Times Square and shops galore just on your doorstep. Our room faced the Hudson river and so the only noise was the slight hum of traffic and sirens now and then. It was a stunning view of the Hudson and New Jersey when the sun set.
The room was spotless and cleaned everyday, with a powerful rainfall shower and a huge comfortable king size bed. We were thoroughly impressed with our stay and would stay here again if we make a return visit. Thank you Crowne Plaza!

Room Tip: Ask for a high room facing the Hudson river for a beautiful sun set view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amontoya29, Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for the 5 star review and congratulations on your marriage! It brings such happiness to us knowing that our guests were satisfied with their stay! We agree that we are in the center of it all and are thrilled that you enjoyed our location as well as comforts of our rooms. Please let us know if you plan to travel to New York City again, we would love to help you plan your next trip!

Warm regards,

Larry Colleton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed for New Years Eve. I would certainly recommend that you stay in the Times Square precinct (if that is why you are in New York for New Year). It allows you to be able to get through the barriers, etc while making your way to and from your hotel. As for the Crowne Plaza, it is what you would expect from a hotel of this caliber. However, their processes to deal with NYE were pretty average ... you would have thought it was their first time! Rather than giving people their NYE wrist band (for access through the barricades) on check-in, they required EVERY PERSON to line up NYE morning - from 9.00am - and then had TWO staff members allocated to the task. I had been in the foyer from 7.00am but could not possibly pick them up then!?@# This was incredibly frustrating and wasted many hours of everyone's time on a day when timing was very important as roads/trains etc were blocked after about 1.00pm. I also have a personal issue with no free wi-fi. Having just come from Italy where wi-fi is free even in the smallest, family owned hotel/apartment, it seems ludicrous to me that anyone can walk in from the street and get free wi-fi in the foyer, but you have to pay to use wi-fi in your VERY EXPENSIVE room (particularly on NYE). Overall, it is a fantastic hotel and location, they just need to plan better for the massive influx of tourists on NYE.

Room Tip: We had the times square view room. You cannot see "the ball" but it is still an awesome v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Arrived at Crowne Plaza on 16 April 2014 early evening. Check in was quick and easy. The manager was going to give us free Wi-Fi but he also noticed we had IHG membership, so we got it anyway. Went to the elevator's to find them very busy, a school party had just arrived. It didn't take too long and we never had that problem again. Got up to our room and what a view, My daughter had been in touch with the hotel to ask if it was possible to have a corner room with a view as we were celebrating my 60th birthday. Room 2127 had that view. The grab and go breakfast was great to get out early, one of us would go down, get what we needed and take it back to the room and carry on getting ready. Could also make coffee in the room, just had to get my own milk. The bar was a nice place to spend time in the evening before going out again or when we got back. Did stand at the bar one night waiting to get served and everyone seemed too busy. A "won't be long" would have done, we gave up and left. Had nice complimentary cocktails another night and lunch at the bar the day we checked out. Hotel rang the number for me and passed me the phone to book our pre booked mini bus back to the airport. Cleaning staff were very good and friendly, we had plenty of towels for 3 ladies, a bit small but when you have that many rooms! Hairdryer worked well, our own not so good. Plenty of plugs, mainly in the lamps, we did have to put books underneath them to make them higher for our plugs to fit in. Crowne Plaza was in such a good location to get around, couldn't fault it.

Room Tip: Just ask in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlaza49, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Hello jan4eve,
 
Thank you for taking the time to write such a ravishing review of our property! We are thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful time with us here at the Crowne Plaza Times Square and that you enjoyed the comforts of our rooms.
Our staff was excited to hear that they were hospitable and made a positive impact on your stay with us, and I am personally happy to know that they were able to upgrade your room. We can't wait to have you back. Please let us know the next time you will be returning. We hope to see you again soon!
Best regards,

Larry Colleton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Some good, some bad.

The check in line was really long. The hotel is usually packed full with tourists from Europe, South America and Middle America(aka the fat housewives and their bouncy kids heading to Hershey's World). So you are looking for a quiet business stay, definitely find another hotel. It was really noisy Thursday to Saturday nights with crying babies, screaming kids and loud stereos playing the latest hits all from the hallway.

Given that weakness, the room itself is very spacious with a large king bed and full wrap around windows giving a panoramic view of Time Square. The bathroom itself is also very large and convenient with a very nice walk-in shower that is very functional and not pretentious.

The elevators are a little bit slow and the bell staff is definitely very over-worked. With that said, the staff tries to be helpful. The location of the hotel is an extra bonus. The hotel is very centrally situated at the heart of Time Square and there are multiple great and not so great Tourist Trap type restaurants a stone's throw away. The subway and post office are just a few blocks walk.

The housekeeping did an immaculate job keeping the room very clean, much better than my previous experience with Millenium Broadway.

The price is pretty reasonable for New York City.

Will stay again with some second thoughts due to the noise and the clientele. Staff is wonderful!

Room Tip: Do not choose the 15th floor, very rowdy the few nights I stayed there, a cross between the youth h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlaza49, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
 Thank you Kyle92131 for your great feedback! We are glad you enjoyed our hotel location as we are conveniently located within walking distance to many venues in our area. We are glad to hear that you recognized that our rooms are cleaned to the highest standards; our luxurious beds are extremely comfortable! New York City is a hectic city, especially Times Square, but we try our best to accommodate our guests so they can relax after a long day exploring this busy city. We hope to have you back with us soon!
Best,
Geoffrey Mills
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

My brother, mother and myself took our first trip to the Big Apple. We stayed at the Crowne Plaza. The hotel was beautiful, our rooms were great. Loved the coffee station setup in the lobby in the morning. The resturant in the hotel was great to eat with one exception. Dont order the buffet, cost alot more, got better food ordering straight off the menu and less expensive. We also ordered room service for dessert, 40 for 2 desserts plus tip, not worth it. They have a nice bar in hotel with good food. Over all this hotel was a great place to stay with everything you would need at your fingertips, would stay there again, if we ever visit again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlaza49, Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you Becki D for the amazing 4-star review! We are thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful time with us here at the Crowne Plaza Times Square and that you enjoyed the comforts of your room and our food. We hope you were able to visit all the restaurants, shops, and attractions in the Times Square vicinity. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit!
Best,
Larry Colleton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Stayed there for 5 nights. I am a IHG Ambassador Gold member. I have been staying regularly @ Crowne Plaza Hotels in Asia. It is one of the best hotel chain. However, after staying @ Crowne Plaza New York Times Square. I might consider other chain. The hotel has got NO In-room Amanities. No fridge, no boiling kettle, no toothbrush. The worst part is the room service is so bad, they only changed our bed sheet after 4 nights. The bathtub is never cleaned. This hotel is comparable to a motel.Everything is bad. Check out is so chaotic that we nearly missed our plane. I think the hotel manager should be responsible for having the worst management of Crowne Plaza chain. The house keeping/consierge/bell desk is always busy. The whole experience is so dissapointing that i will never stay @ Crowne Plaza New York Times Square anymore.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlaza49, Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you d4rk88 for taking the time out to write a review and for your candid feedback. I am disheartened to read about your experience with us.  We strive to provide outstanding customer service to all our guests.  I apologize that you experienced several challenges during your stay and I want to thank you for your continued loyalty to IHG rewards. We do not provide refrigerators in our rooms, however, upon request we do provide one for a nominal one-time fee of $30. Your comments are greatly appreciated and have been forwarded over to the appropriate departments to discuss and review. W I would love to discuss the matter further, please contact me at amontoya@cptsnyc.com at your earliest convenience so we may rectify your concerns. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back for another visit so we can prove to you how much we value you as a guest.
Best,
Alejandro Montoya
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan

Address: 1605 Broadway, 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#99 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#102 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#121 Family Hotel in New York City
#144 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan 4*
Number of rooms: 770
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Times Square, always New York's most exciting scene, seems all new now that the Crowne Plaza Times Square has reinvented itself. Come check out our $85 million re-invention, and see for yourself how modern design can provide a whole new kind of comfort. Enjoy one of our 795 well-appointed guest rooms outfitted with fresh contemporary accents and plush Sleep Advantage beds. Every room offers breathtaking views of Times Square, the famous Manhattan skyline or the Hudson River, unique among hotels in Times Square. Relax in our sleek lobby lounge, or have an evening cocktail in Broadway 49 Bar. Delight in a new spin on New American Eclectic cuisine at Brasserie 1605, one of the most exciting Times Square restaurants. With options like these, it's no wonder that New York seems so new. If you ve come for a meeting, you ll benefit from the new tech-friendly environment. If you re here for an event, you ll revel in the open space and atmospheric lighting, and when you walk through our front door, you step onto Broadway dazzling lights, world-class entertainment and urban energy. That's how Crowne Plaza Times Square is keeping New York new for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan Hotel New York City
Crowne Plaza Hotel Manhattan
Crowne Plaza New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.