We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location location location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1605 Broadway, 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #164 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Wayne, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Location location location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

The room was not roomy but well appointed, a desk with chair along with two arm chairs and plenty of outlet for charging devices. The best part was the location, it so easy to get everywhere from here. We did not go to the bar but would have if we had not had the kids with us, it looks out onto Broadway and seemed like a nice place for a nightcap. Last year we stayed at the Continental (another IHG property 4 blocks away), the rooms were slightly nicer there but here the location was better, the staff was much friendlier and more helpful and the hotel lobby and bar were more inviting. I also enjoyed the morning cafe, very convenient. We will return to this location.

Room Tip: Stay on the highest floor possible, the view is better and there is less to no street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kudrna5, Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for your feedback! Hotel rooms in New York City tend to be smaller than average so we did try our best to make sure the layout of our rooms are efficient. We agree that we are in the center of it all. We look forward to welcoming you back and definitely agree that you should have a drink at Bar 49 and take in the view. Please email me directly at amontoya@cptsnyc.com before your travels.

All the best,

Larry Colleton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,761
    2,021
    692
    286
    171
See reviews for
1,930
1,759
190
689
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,299)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Very central location within walking distance of many attractions. excellent service at breakfast, reception and porters. Food was excellent(only had breakfast!!) with plenty of choice and availability. Rooms were spotless and clean to a very high standard. and above all great value for money.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kudrna5, Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for the lovely feedback. It brings great excitement for us to know that the service we are providing to our guests is memorable. We agree that our food at Broadway 1605 and Bar 49 is of great quality, with a variety of options to choose from. Please let us know the next time you plan to travel to New York City. We would love for you to stay with us again!

Kind regards,

Larry Colleton,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights in April 2014 with my family. If you are expecting luxury rooms and fantastic service then this is not the hotel for you. However, you are in New York City, who needs luxury rooms? If you are after a place to get your head down in a fantastic location after a busy day of sightseeing then this is right up your street (or should I say avenue). Bang in the centre of the busiest part of Manhattan - Times Square - the Crowne Plaza provided me with a perfect spot to sleep in between the hectic days in the Big Apple. The rooms are fairly basic as is the service, however I would stay here again simply for location.


The swimming pool was impressive and fairly empty in the morning; this was a nice place to chill before going out. One thing I particularly enjoyed doing was sitting for an hour or two in the bar downstairs (which overlooks Times Square) with a drink, watching the world go by.

All in all, if you are somebody who is looking for extravagant decor and luxurious rooms then pay extra money and go and stay in a different hotel, however if you are somebody who is content with somewhere to get their head down, with basic amenities such as bed, shower, television and you are more concerned as to what NYC has to offer as a city, then the value of this hotel will be great for you.

All in

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel will provide better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlaza49, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Hello Jack V,
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. We are thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful time with us here at the Crowne Plaza Times Square and that you enjoyed the comforts of your room. The location is certainly great for guests who want to be in the middle of Times Square. I am thrilled to know that you enjoyed your time at our Broadway 49 Bar Please let us know the next time you will be back in New York City. We would love to have you stay with us again!
Best regards,
Larry Colleton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed there in march. It was very cold that week. I would definite recommend staying here in the summer months. if you stay here in the winter time, you better be cold blooded, because we got very hot in our room. We called and ask about our room not cooling down. They told us that we could not cool our room down because the entire cooling system is turned off, if the temp outside drops below 42-45 degrees. The hotel ask us to open our window to let some cool air in. That did not help right away. Luckily we brought our own fan with us. That would be the only complaint I have staying there.
Great location. A decent view from where our room was located. The rooms where very clean. I will stay there again in the future.

Room Tip: if you like your rooms dark, I would not recommend a room facing time square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlaza49, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Hello Gatortripin,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your candid feedback. We are consistently undergoing changes to improve our overall service and amenities available to our guests. Your comments are greatly appreciated and have been forwarded over to the appropriate departments to discuss and review to prevent this from happening in the future. We hope to have you back again soon!

Best regards,
Larry Colleton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Having visited this hotel last year for a quick visit, my partner and I decided to stay here again for our full visit to NYC.

The hotel on a whole is feeling slightly old now, with a particular business feel. Value for money for this hotel is excellent, with the main positives being its location. Right on top of times sqaure is the perfect area to be in! Also, with great access to the 42nd street subway it gives easy transport to the whole of NYC.

As well as the great location, the bar offers a great choice of alcoholic drinks, especially their coctails. Considering where you are, the price isnt too bad and you can enjoy a quiet drink overlooking Times Square.

Overall, there are better hotels in the city and there are also far worse. If you are more reliant in the location than the quality of rooms (that given these rooms are in perfect condition, just slightly dated) then I'd pick this hotel.

Note - we paid slightly more for the Times Square view, but to be honest, although it wasn't much more, its probably not worth it unless you get a room on the lower floors of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amontoya29, Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Let us start by saying thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Times Square! We agree that we are in the best location in New York City, where all the action is. We are currently undergoing a multi-million dollar renovation so the exhausted areas of our hotel, will not be present soon! We are thrilled that you were able to enjoy a cocktail and bask in the views of Times Square, it's one of our recommendations to all our guests! We hope that if you travel to the Big Apple again, you choose us!

All the best,

Larry Colleton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Our family spent four nights at this property in Times Square. It is an excellent hotel, with a wonderful staff, outstanding rooms which are very large for New York City, and convenient in terms of location to shows, restaurants, and the tour operators. The bar and restaurant overlooks Times Square with a stunning view. The hotel has a very visible security staff, and every staff member we encountered at the hotel was friendly and professional, any request is addressed instantly. We have stayed at this property several times and are always most favorably pleased with the overall experience.

Room Tip: Request a room on the Times Square side of the building for a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlaza49, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Danny,

Thank you for your 5stars review, we are absolutely thrilled to learn that you have a memorable stay at our property, that is exactly what we strive for and what we want for our valued guests to experience.
We appreciate your loyalty and would love to take the opportunity to thank you for your kind words, it will be definitely shared with our entire team.
Please let us know next time you will be in NYC we would love to see you again in the near future.

Best regards.
Larry Colleton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owensboro, KY
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed because my daughter was on business. Not worth the price and some of the staff (valet and Bellmen not friendly, first and last impression upon arrival and departure). Clean room but not very comfortable sleeping. I think they must be renovating because we were given keys that didn't work and the bellman didn't know how either. He had to go back to the desk and get the keyless entry card. WHAT??? The location is wonderful which I guess justifies the price. Very safe feeling in the area even walking at night. Times Square is worth the visit. Lots of history in Manhattan. I don't think I would stay again unless there is a huge discount.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlaza49, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Breed26

Thank you for your candid and detailed review, we appreciate our guest's feedback. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the location and cleanliness of our property however we are saddened to hear you we're disappointed with the service, this is definitely not the type of service we are known for, your comments will brought to our management team and it will definitely improve our services. We apologize on behalf of our team for any inconvenience.
We sincerely hope you can come back and that we can offer not only a great service but surprise you with a very warm welcoming.

Best regards.
Larry Colleton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan

Address: 1605 Broadway, 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#100 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#109 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#145 Family Hotel in New York City
#158 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan 4*
Number of rooms: 795
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Times Square, always New York's most exciting scene, seems all new now that the Crowne Plaza Times Square has reinvented itself. Come check out our $85 million re-invention, and see for yourself how modern design can provide a whole new kind of comfort. Enjoy one of our 795 well-appointed guest rooms outfitted with fresh contemporary accents and plush Sleep Advantage beds. Every room offers breathtaking views of Times Square, the famous Manhattan skyline or the Hudson River, unique among hotels in Times Square. Relax in our sleek lobby lounge, or have an evening cocktail in Broadway 49 Bar. Delight in a new spin on New American Eclectic cuisine at Brasserie 1605, one of the most exciting Times Square restaurants. With options like these, it's no wonder that New York seems so new. If you ve come for a meeting, you ll benefit from the new tech-friendly environment. If you re here for an event, you ll revel in the open space and atmospheric lighting, and when you walk through our front door, you step onto Broadway dazzling lights, world-class entertainment and urban energy. That's how Crowne Plaza Times Square is keeping New York new for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan Hotel New York City
Crowne Plaza Hotel Manhattan
Crowne Plaza New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.