We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1605 Broadway, 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #148 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Blacksburg, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

A great hotel in a great location. We had 2 rooms, and stayed here during a business trip with small kids. Everything was great. Room service, the location, the decor....everything was fantastic. I've stayed in the city quite a bit, and this one is very similar to the W, westin, or even sheraton....typical smaller room size, typical high prices, but great location, staff, restaurant/bar. Will be back

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property! I am very glad that you had such a successful stay with us! It sounds like you experienced a lot of the amenities that we offer here at the Crowne Plaza Hotel! Hopefully you come back to see us again very soon!
Best,
Yaniv Packin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,461
    1,822
    614
    244
    155
See reviews for
1,724
1,591
170
620
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,132)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We had a girls weekend planned and we stayed at the Crowne Plaza. The location is excellent and the room was clean and big. The staff was really good and helpful. We arrived and had a small room so they upgraded us to a larger room with a much better view.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your review! I am so glad that you enjoyed some well-deserved Girl Time while staying with us! All of our rooms are lovely so I am thrilled that we were able to accomodate you with a larger room! I hope that you visit us again soon so we can get things done to perfection, the first time around.
Best,
Yaniv Packin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Our experience at the crow plaza was very good....at first they had gave us room facing the back of the hotel which was not what we paid and request... I was furious and immediately went to the front desk to demand a new room with a Times Square view and the manager Veronica handled pretty good by offering my request.....since then everything went well our Times Square view was extraordinary not to mention that the room was super clean and when we check out Sandra an the front desk was very friendly and professional.... I would definitively stay there again on my next visit to New York.....

Room Tip: Internet is not free!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your review! I am very glad that the situation with your room was taken care of professionally and efficiently! Our goal is to ensure every guest leaves the hotel with a wonderful impression and it seems that this is what occurred with you! Our staff is pleased to hear that they were mentioned in your review. We strive to ensure our guests are provided the room types that they booked however we apoligize that this did not happen on your hotel stay. We are glad that our management staff was able to correct this for you timely. I hope that you chose to stay with us again when you revisit Times Square NYC.
Best,
Yaniv Packin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belém, Para, Brazil
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The Crowne Plaza is a great hotel at a wonderful location, near Times Square, and with the most comfortable bed of any hotel where I've been staying before.
However, there was a problem. I was traveling with my 10 year old daughter. On the day we were leaving the hotel, we went up to the 25th to our room. Between floors 24 and 25 the elevator broke. We turn on the alarm and waited more than 20 minutes without any help from the security staff. With the help of a guest, we got out.
I went to the lobby and looked for the security staff. Even at this point, we could hear the alarm from the elevator. Later, the hotel manager offered us 6 popsicles Häagen-Dazs as if that would solve the scare that my daughter suffered.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of our property! I am very glad that you found our beds to be so comfortable, hope you had a pleasant stay. I would like to sincerely apologize for the elevator situation, we will further inquire on what occurred with the team. The issue you encountered is certainly unacceptable and I apologize that your daughter was frightened . We strive to ensure that matters that occur at our hotel are handled in a timely manner. I thank you for bringing this to my attention so I can follow up with the appropriate departments.
We hope you give us another chance to make your hotel stay the best that it can be. Please visit us again soon.
Best,
Yaniv Packin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lanacshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

4 ladies travelled from the uk celebrating a 50th birthday staying for a full week at the crowne plaza.We emailed the hotel prior to our stay asking for a time square view.We arrived a few hours early and was told told our room was not ready.NO PROBLEM dumped the luggage and got in queue for cheap broadway show ( mama mia fantastic) on our return room was ready (3918) room was good not the view we had asked for but let's face it you ain't going to be in the room only to sleep.
On our return from mama Mia we was surprised to find chocolate cake and sparkling water for our friends birthday a lovely touch.This hotel is in the heart of it and was exactly as we wanted it.The only downside was the price of breakfast $32 for the Buffett what a price and cold at that only ate there once due to cost and it all being cold.We are planning a return in the near future would we choos ethics hotel ........YES purely because of its location.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
claire2829:
Thank you for your fantastic review and for choosing to celebrate such a special occasion with us here at the Crowne Plaza Times Square! We hope you ladies all enjoyed the cake! We certainly wanted to send some birthday greeting to the birthday girl! We apologize that the room you were given did not have the view you were expecting. We try our best to accommodate all our guests with the best available rooms. We do have a Full American Buffet Breakfast that includes some hot food items so please try that option the next time you stay with us. We are glad to hear that you all had the chance to watch Mamma Mia as there are plenty more theatres located around us so we hope you’ll come back to New York to watch some more shows! Please visit us again soon. We can’t wait to have you stay with us again!
Best,
Yaniv Packin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aston, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Great location,friendly and pleasant staff. Clean and good size rooms with beautiful view of Time Square. Within walking distance of many attractions and good restaurants Sandra at front desk was especially kind and helpful. This was our second stay here ( last was in Oct.) and I was amazed that she remember us. It was an unexpected nice personal touch! The higher floors are quieter and have the best views

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
sussyrn:
Thank you for the awesome five-star review and your continued loyalty to the Crowne Plaza Times Square! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the location of our hotel and our amazing Times Square View rooms. All our staff pride ourselves on delivering exceptional service so we are glad to hear that Sandra was able to recognize your previous stay at our property and welcome you back once again. Please let us know when you will be coming back to New York City. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Best,
Yaniv Packin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The Crowne Plaza has ample room space , small but nicely renovated bathrooms...terrific maid service...a lobby bar that is perfect for a snack before the theatre (loved those turkey burger sliders)...or a cocktail after theatre...a terrific view of Broadway from the lobby bar....right in the heart of Times Square/theatre District...and a lovely place to escape from the hubbub of the terrific area. Perfect location and excellent amenities. A surprise that this nicely priced hotel was also a wonderful NY hotel.

Room Tip: King size room...!!! with a view from an upper floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Carolyn M:
Thank you for the perfect review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Crowne Plaza Times Square! Our chef and bartenders are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the Turkey Burger Sliders and our refreshing cocktails. Our Broadway 49 Bar and Lounge offers other great selections so we hope you come back to try some other items! We hope you enjoyed some great broadway shows while you were on this trip and that you come back for more! Please let us know the next time you will return to New York City. We look forward to having you stay with us again!
Best,
Yaniv Packin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan

Address: 1605 Broadway, 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#99 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#102 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#119 Family Hotel in New York City
#144 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan 4*
Number of rooms: 770
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Times Square, always New York's most exciting scene, seems all new now that the Crowne Plaza Times Square has reinvented itself. Come check out our $85 million re-invention, and see for yourself how modern design can provide a whole new kind of comfort. Enjoy one of our 795 well-appointed guest rooms outfitted with fresh contemporary accents and plush Sleep Advantage beds. Every room offers breathtaking views of Times Square, the famous Manhattan skyline or the Hudson River, unique among hotels in Times Square. Relax in our sleek lobby lounge, or have an evening cocktail in Broadway 49 Bar. Delight in a new spin on New American Eclectic cuisine at Brasserie 1605, one of the most exciting Times Square restaurants. With options like these, it's no wonder that New York seems so new. If you ve come for a meeting, you ll benefit from the new tech-friendly environment. If you re here for an event, you ll revel in the open space and atmospheric lighting, and when you walk through our front door, you step onto Broadway dazzling lights, world-class entertainment and urban energy. That's how Crowne Plaza Times Square is keeping New York new for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan Hotel New York City
Crowne Plaza Hotel Manhattan
Crowne Plaza New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.