We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Impression” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1605 Broadway, 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bonus Points Offer
Ranked #114 of 446 hotels in New York City
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
“First Impression”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

It was our first time staying at this hotel and the location was wonderful. We stayed there for New Year's Eve and it was very convenient. We were offered an upgrade to an executive suite which was a pleasant surprise but there wasn't a refrigerator. The bed was extremely comfortable. The luggage/baggage porter's were very nice, especially James & Ming. Also, the doorman, Hector, was phenomenal! He was very personable and went out of his way to accommodate us. We'd definitely stay there again!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Lisa M, thank you for review our hotel! Our staff was delighted to hear you had mentioned them in your review! We do our best to ensure each guest enjoys their stay with us and are treated with the service he or she deserves. We look forward to your next stay with us!

Sincerely,

Yaniv Packin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,387 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,067
    1,489
    499
    203
    129
See reviews for
1386
1317
144
513
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (872)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Great location, we were lucky enough to score a corner room with a fantastic view of Times Square.

Room was comfy, spacious and equipped with everything we needed. We had a really nice room service meal at a reasonable price. Even with all the traffic the noise levels were not disruptive.

We had fantastic service from all the staff, in particular Avi who provided assistance and advice to make our trip even more memorable, so if you are at the hotel and need anything please seek him out.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you so very much for the great review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed all the aspects of our Hotel. Please come and stay with us again!

Best,

Yaniv Packin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lowestoft
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed in here before for 3 nights going of on a cruise in December and although the hotel is fabulously situtated the rooms we had looked very tired. I know if you upgarde to concierge they are better but i would have liked the standard room to be in a better state than it was. havign stayed at Crowne Plazas aroudn the world thsi was the only one where the paint was peeling and the shower tray looked older than me!. havign said that given the location i woudl stay again but woudl be ready for the below par decor.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, upgrade to the higher floor rooms, they seem to be in better repair than those...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you bigbrifmLT for taking the time to review our hotel. We apologize for the room you had received. We are in the process of providing attention to rooms such as the one you were checked into and can ensure you will check into a better room for a future stay with us.

Sincerely,

Yaniv Packin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My wife and I have travelled to NYC on multiple occasions and have stayed at a different hotels in the city. As tourists to the city ( from Toronto), we want a hotel close to all the various attractions, but also want a hotel that provides exceptional services. The Crowne Plaza in Times Square has become our NYC hotel of choice due to it's great location.... and a great front desk staff .Of note we want to thank Caren Heller ( front desk manager) for assisting us on past visits. Her exceptional personalized service made our familiy of 6 choose the Crowne for celerating New Years Eve. It was a great choice.
Our recent stay ( Dec 30th -Jan 2nd) was "exceptional", made possible by Caren who assisted us in facilitating the booking of two wonderful rooms ( overlooking Times Square), providing some friendly advice, personalized service and great conversation. We will be back.
John S.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Times Square are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you so much. We really appreciate the time and effort you took to write a review. Our front office department employees are highly trained and very professional. Our main focus is to give you a great experience from the time you check- in. We look forward to seeing you again.

Best,

Yaniv Packin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Village, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The location of the hotel is fantastic. The breakfast at the hotel restaurant was fantastic. That's about all.

I am a platinum member for IHG hotel group so I have stayed at many Holiday Inn's, Crowne Plaza's, etc. This place just seemed way too average for being in such a fantastic part of NYC.

The elevators were terrible. I was on the 43rd floor and I once waited 15 minutes for an elevator. One opened up around minute 7 however there was a service guy in it saying it was out of order.

The rooms were very warm. I had the temp at 68 and the temp never got below 73. The service guy (which I waited close to an hour for) said they had no air conditioning and it probably wouldn't get any cooler.

One of the escalators taking you to the main floor was out of order.

The free breakfast for platinum members consisted of cereal, fruits, and beverages. Not quite a continental breakfast, but close.

From staying 50+ nights in a hotel room throughout the year, this place was just average.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Chadou23, thank you for reviewing our property. Your review helps us to make improvements within our property and is highly valued. We apologize for the inconveniences you have experienced throughout your stay as we are in the process of improving our mechanical issues and continuously look for ways to acknowledge our priority club members. Hopefully, these inconveniences have not hindered the possibility of a future stay with us.

Sincerely,

Yaniv Packin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Our family recently stayed at the Crowne Plaza in Times Square over New Year's Eve. We have stayed at this hotel several times and have always been impressed with the location and service. Stepping out into Times Square is exciting at any time, but even more so during New Year's celebrations. We had spoken to the manager during our stay last summer and Caren Heller was extremely helpful and courteous. This time we travelled with our two boys their soon to be wives. Caren shared in our excitement and made sure that our stay was perfect. The rooms overlooked Times Square and were very clean. The entire staff was friendly and made our stay memorable. We will continue to recommend this hotel to all our friends. Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Lorraine S, thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are pleased to hear you had enjoyed your stay with us! Caren, like the rest of our staff ensure our guests receive the courteous, helpful, and superior service that you had received! We are delighted that we were able to give you a memorable stay to kick of the new year and look forward to your next arrival with us!

Sincerely,
Yaniv Packin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incline Village, Nevada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Great hotel with a great location. Like my title mentions, it is in the heart of the tourist chaos that happens in NYC. Overall the rooms were nice, the staff was courteous but not outgoing, and location great. From here you can walk to almost anywhere or if you hate walking there are a number of subway entrances very close. If you have points or can afford it, this a a great location for a trip to NYC.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our property B F! Times Square can be pretty hectic, especially around the holidays! We do have to agree that you can pretty much walk anywhere from our hotel. We are pleased that you were able to enjoy the room and the location of the hotel and look forward to your next arrival with us!

Sincerely,

Yaniv Packin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan

Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan Hotel
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan Hotel New York City
Crowne Plaza Hotel Manhattan
Crowne Plaza New York City
Address: 1605 Broadway, 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#74 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#97 Business Hotel in New York City
#103 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Times Square, always New York's most exciting scene, seems all new now that the Crowne Plaza Times Square has reinvented itself. Come check out our $85 million re-invention, and see for yourself how modern design can provide a whole new kind of comfort. Enjoy one of our 795 well-appointed guest rooms outfitted with fresh contemporary accents and plush Sleep Advantage beds. Every room offers breathtaking views of Times Square, the famous Manhattan skyline or the Hudson River, unique among hotels in Times Square. Relax in our sleek lobby lounge, or have an evening cocktail in Broadway 49 Bar. Delight in a new spin on New American Eclectic cuisine at Brasserie 1605, one of the most exciting Times Square restaurants. With options like these, it's no wonder that New York seems so new. If you ve come for a meeting, you ll benefit from the new tech-friendly environment. If you re here for an event, you ll revel in the open space and atmospheric lighting, and when you walk through our front door, you step onto Broadway dazzling lights, world-class entertainment and urban energy. That's how Crowne Plaza Times Square is keeping New York new for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.