We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Very Very Average Hotel Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1605 Broadway, 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bonus Points Offer
Ranked #138 of 451 hotels in New York City
Bay Village, Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Location, Very Very Average Hotel Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The location of the hotel is fantastic. The breakfast at the hotel restaurant was fantastic. That's about all.

I am a platinum member for IHG hotel group so I have stayed at many Holiday Inn's, Crowne Plaza's, etc. This place just seemed way too average for being in such a fantastic part of NYC.

The elevators were terrible. I was on the 43rd floor and I once waited 15 minutes for an elevator. One opened up around minute 7 however there was a service guy in it saying it was out of order.

The rooms were very warm. I had the temp at 68 and the temp never got below 73. The service guy (which I waited close to an hour for) said they had no air conditioning and it probably wouldn't get any cooler.

One of the escalators taking you to the main floor was out of order.

The free breakfast for platinum members consisted of cereal, fruits, and beverages. Not quite a continental breakfast, but close.

From staying 50+ nights in a hotel room throughout the year, this place was just average.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Chadou23, thank you for reviewing our property. Your review helps us to make improvements within our property and is highly valued. We apologize for the inconveniences you have experienced throughout your stay as we are in the process of improving our mechanical issues and continuously look for ways to acknowledge our priority club members. Hopefully, these inconveniences have not hindered the possibility of a future stay with us.

Sincerely,

Yaniv Packin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,737 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,205
    1,628
    548
    218
    138
See reviews for
1514
1404
154
553
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (954)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Our family recently stayed at the Crowne Plaza in Times Square over New Year's Eve. We have stayed at this hotel several times and have always been impressed with the location and service. Stepping out into Times Square is exciting at any time, but even more so during New Year's celebrations. We had spoken to the manager during our stay last summer and Caren Heller was extremely helpful and courteous. This time we travelled with our two boys their soon to be wives. Caren shared in our excitement and made sure that our stay was perfect. The rooms overlooked Times Square and were very clean. The entire staff was friendly and made our stay memorable. We will continue to recommend this hotel to all our friends. Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Lorraine S, thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are pleased to hear you had enjoyed your stay with us! Caren, like the rest of our staff ensure our guests receive the courteous, helpful, and superior service that you had received! We are delighted that we were able to give you a memorable stay to kick of the new year and look forward to your next arrival with us!

Sincerely,
Yaniv Packin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incline Village, Nevada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Great hotel with a great location. Like my title mentions, it is in the heart of the tourist chaos that happens in NYC. Overall the rooms were nice, the staff was courteous but not outgoing, and location great. From here you can walk to almost anywhere or if you hate walking there are a number of subway entrances very close. If you have points or can afford it, this a a great location for a trip to NYC.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our property B F! Times Square can be pretty hectic, especially around the holidays! We do have to agree that you can pretty much walk anywhere from our hotel. We are pleased that you were able to enjoy the room and the location of the hotel and look forward to your next arrival with us!

Sincerely,

Yaniv Packin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lewes, united kingdom,
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is a great place to stay for visiting broadway shows, the venues are all just outside your door as is 'TKS' for half price evening and matinee tickets with great seats to almost all the shows. We had problems at the start of our stay in this hotel though as we had booked a room with a times sq view and was put on the 30th floor with no view and it was extremely tatty and tired looking - rust on the shower wall and tiling and furnishing looked worn and old. when we queried this it took over 45 mins to get some response and then we had to take our selves and our bags back down to reception to ensure we were given an appropriate room - the place was extremely busy ( we have stayed in a lot of hotels and never been or seen one as busy at this) and the reception so noisy they couldn't hear us on the internal phone. But once this was sorted our room was brilliant , refurbished as stated on the website, with great views on the 12th floor, same floor and room opposite the gym which is open to the public and next to the lifts which make a lot of pinging noises till 10.00 at night but no real problem. We had a meal in the restaurant one evening after a show and the service and food were fab as was the bar and staff were so courteous and prompt. We would recommend staying here as we did for two nights but do double check the room at booking in at reception to make sure you dont have the hassle of moving

Room Tip: Ask for a view and a room on the lower floors as these seemed to have been refurbished unlike the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Kay2056, we appreciate you taking the time to review our property! We do have to admit that we are a busy property as we are in the heart times square and the theater district. We apologize the room you had been checked into was not suitable enough as well as the time it took for a response to the issue at hand. We continue to improve the quality of our rooms and hope your experience has not hindered on returning to us in the future.

Sincerely,

Yaniv Packin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My family of 4 had a wonderful 5 night New Year's eve stay at Crowne Plaza in Time Square - greeted by a friendly check-in welcome from Lyonnel. Loving NYC so much we decided to extend our stay. Upon phone call to front desk, was asked to speak the Night Manager, Robert Carvajal. We were most aghast by the rude and disrespectful encounter with this night manager (which was not expected from a 4.5 stars hotel) - he was rude, impolite and had no interest in providing any assistance and uninterestedly asked us to speak to his staff instead.
Extension booking was finally made by a very pleasant & courteous staff named Evelyn who was most apologetic & profusely apologising on behalf of her manager.
Would have given 1 star but because of the like of Evelyn & Lyonnel - here are our 4 stars for the friendly staff & services.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, MarkJenv! We are delighted to hear that our front desk staff was able to assist you in such a pleasant manner. We do apologize for the encounter you experienced with our night manager. All associates of the Crowne Plaza Times Square are aware of the hospitality we are to offer our guests and are expected to uphold our standards. We will further investigate the issue and greatly apologize for your experience. If you wish to further discuss the matter, please feel free to do so via email at info@cptsnyc.com. We hope this situation does not hinder your thoughts of staying with us in the future and we look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,

Yaniv Packin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My family of 6 stayed at the Crowne Plaza in Time Square from 12/30/12 till 1/1/13 for New Years Eve. The staff was extremely friendly and very informative. The rooms were clean and very comfortable. We had 2 connecting rooms with a great view of Time Square with one room having a king bed and the other room having 2 double beds, which worked out well. The Breakfast on the concierge floor (5) was convenient with a wide selection of food. What an experience our family will never forget. We would like to thank Caren for the wonderful treatment we received.

Room Tip: As for a Time Square view - Great for the NY experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
We appreciate the time you took, Donna B, to review our property! It makes us smile when we hear that your stay with us was “…an experience our family will never forget”. We are so pleased when our guests have memorable experiences with our hotel! We hope to see you again in the near future!

Sincerely,

Yaniv Packin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My fiance and I were looking for a nice getaway weekend in NYC and one of my friends told me about this hotel in the heart of NYC. I'm usually not a fan of hotels in Manhattan, but this place was worth every penny spent. We were met by this guy named Avi who along with the staff made our stay very enjoyable. Overall, excellent service and hospitality along with a well trained staff is what you'll get when staying at this place. I have and will continue to recommend others to stay here when traveling to NYC.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Levi N, thank you for reviewing our property! We are delighted to know we were able to make your stay very enjoyable! It was with great pleasure that we were able to deliver the type of service you had received as we do our very best to ensure everyone receives excellent service. We hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,

Yaniv Packin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan

Address: 1605 Broadway, 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#90 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#99 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#109 Business Hotel in New York City
#119 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Times Square, always New York's most exciting scene, seems all new now that the Crowne Plaza Times Square has reinvented itself. Come check out our $85 million re-invention, and see for yourself how modern design can provide a whole new kind of comfort. Enjoy one of our 795 well-appointed guest rooms outfitted with fresh contemporary accents and plush Sleep Advantage beds. Every room offers breathtaking views of Times Square, the famous Manhattan skyline or the Hudson River, unique among hotels in Times Square. Relax in our sleek lobby lounge, or have an evening cocktail in Broadway 49 Bar. Delight in a new spin on New American Eclectic cuisine at Brasserie 1605, one of the most exciting Times Square restaurants. With options like these, it's no wonder that New York seems so new. If you ve come for a meeting, you ll benefit from the new tech-friendly environment. If you re here for an event, you ll revel in the open space and atmospheric lighting, and when you walk through our front door, you step onto Broadway dazzling lights, world-class entertainment and urban energy. That's how Crowne Plaza Times Square is keeping New York new for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Agoda, Venere, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan Hotel New York City
Crowne Plaza Hotel Manhattan
Crowne Plaza New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.