We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mid-Town Bargain -- kind of” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1605 Broadway, 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30% this Summer
Ranked #165 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mid-Town Bargain -- kind of”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Got an excellent deal on this hotel for my mid-week stay in Manhattan. Room was typical NYC, small but nicely appointed. Location is right in Times Square so it is very convenient. Breakfast was ridiculously expensive. Go outside the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you Jonathan L, for reviewing our hotel! We are pleased that you enjoyed our rooms and the convenience of being in the heart of time square. Our breakfast prices are decided based on the comeptitve hotels in the area. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!
Sincerely,
Yaniv Packin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,072 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,827
    2,072
    707
    291
    175
See reviews for
1,978
1,799
196
711
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,327)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

This was my first trip to New York and the location of this hotel helped greatly with the overall experience of this fabulous city. You step out of the main entrance and directly into times square.
There were four in our party so we had requested adjoining rooms and both of the rooms were very large with huge comfortable beds, Large bathroom with full bath, shower and washing facilities.
The staff were all polite and helpful in every way.
I would highly recommend staying here if comfort & a great central location are high on your list.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Karen t, thank you so much for highly recommending our hotel! We are delighted we were able to deliver upon your requests regarding the adjoining rooms. Our staff work very hard to please every guest and were very appreciative of the praise you mentioned as well! We hope to see you again!

Sincerely,

Yaniv Packin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Great hotel, very nice attentions from the front desk, very fancy and big, you can stay up till late and walk in the area because it is in front of times square and near everything. The elevators are so fast!!! woowww! you can be go to floor 38 in like 10 seconds. A great place to stay in nyc.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
eve_3019, thank you for your great review of our hotel. We are definitely in the heart of Times Square and are centrally located! Our staff also thanks you for your praise and are pleased that you received the attention you deserved. We look forward to having you back as our guest!

Sincerely,

Yaniv Packin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The hotel is centrally located at the Broadway; a lot of sights are at a walking distance. The hotel rooms are very spacious and there are lovely beds.
The best, however, at the Crowne Plaza, is Mrs Vicky Martin in the Lobby. She was as friendly and helpful as no other person there and did her best to find aut a very important e-mail for us of wich we knew that it should have been arrived at the hotel. She was very patient in making different phone calls, trying hard to calm us down and she was extraordinary nice to us - und finally, after a long time of searching and asking - she succeeded in finding our e-mail.
She has always made us feel that we are not just numbers among people but human beings and welcome guests at the hotel.
Dear Vicky, we are very grateful to you and thank you very much indeed for your help, your overwhelming friendliness and cordiality.
Keep up your good work. You are an outstanding and wonderful person and our world desperately needs such special people like you are.
All the best from Herta, Rudy, Anna and Eva

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you Hetra L, for writing an awesome review about our hotel! Like our entire staff, Vicky Martin works hard to deliver exceptional service and greatly appreciated the recognition and praise you mentioned in your review. We are also delighted to know that we had met your needs in regard to location and a comfortable, spacious room! We all look forward to having you as a guest again!

Sincerely,

Yaniv Packin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed at this hotel as a 1 night stay for our anniversary so we could fully enjoy our dinner at Daniel and would not have to drive (good thing, 10 wine courses had me feeling pretty good). I was surprised at the professionalism and friendliness of the entire staff from the parking attendant to the bell boy. Being a local I shy away from times square and the craziness of the tourist scene but this hotel was not a tourist trap place. Our corner upper floor room had a beautiful view. Next time I spend a night in the city after dinner, I will spend it here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Being a local, Peter S, we are pleased that you chose to stay at our hotel! We also thank you for writing such a pleasant review. Our staff is always friendly and professional and they were extremely delighted when they heard how you appreciated them and mentioned them in your review. We hope to see you soon as we enjoyed having you as a guest of our hotel!

Sincerely,

Yaniv Packin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I have stayed here a number of times and the quality comfort service & cleanliness are always consistent. This is a perfect location for theatre sightseeing & shopping. The excitement of Times Square is just outside the door while the serenity of the public areas are a welcome respite after a busy day.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are great but have never experienced a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlowden, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
We could not thank you more for the wonderful review, Angela K! It is always a focus of ours to provide excellent service- consistently to our guests, and we appreciate that you took the time to recognize this! We only hope that you return to stay with us again soon and we can continue to exceed your expectations!

Warm Regards,
Yaniv Packin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California, United States
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I had planned on attending a conference at the hotel, however, it was cancelled after I arrived due to Hurricane Sandy. Despite all that was happening in the area the staff was very helpful and nice. I experienced no problems until the last morning when there was no hot water due to Con Ed shutting it off at midnight.

The room was spacious and the area (close to time square) is perfect for shows and restaurants. Even during Sandy some things remained open.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlowden, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Roy N, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! Although Hurricane Sandy greatly affected the New York City area, it was our goal to keep our guests as comfortable as possible. We are grateful for your understanding of the situation presented by Con Edison’s decision to close our steam pipes. On behalf of the team at the Crowne Plaza Times Square, we hope your travels bring you back to us soon!

Warm Regards,
Yaniv Packin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan

Address: 1605 Broadway, 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#102 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#111 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#146 Family Hotel in New York City
#155 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan 4*
Number of rooms: 795
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Times Square, always New York's most exciting scene, seems all new now that the Crowne Plaza Times Square has reinvented itself. Come check out our $85 million re-invention, and see for yourself how modern design can provide a whole new kind of comfort. Enjoy one of our 795 well-appointed guest rooms outfitted with fresh contemporary accents and plush Sleep Advantage beds. Every room offers breathtaking views of Times Square, the famous Manhattan skyline or the Hudson River, unique among hotels in Times Square. Relax in our sleek lobby lounge, or have an evening cocktail in Broadway 49 Bar. Delight in a new spin on New American Eclectic cuisine at Brasserie 1605, one of the most exciting Times Square restaurants. With options like these, it's no wonder that New York seems so new. If you ve come for a meeting, you ll benefit from the new tech-friendly environment. If you re here for an event, you ll revel in the open space and atmospheric lighting, and when you walk through our front door, you step onto Broadway dazzling lights, world-class entertainment and urban energy. That's how Crowne Plaza Times Square is keeping New York new for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan Hotel New York City
Crowne Plaza Hotel Manhattan
Crowne Plaza New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.