We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well appointed city hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1605 Broadway, 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30% this Summer
Ranked #170 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“well appointed city hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stayed in this hotel a week ago for 3 nights with my 2 daughters and grandaughter. It's obviously a city hotel so doesn't really have the ' personal touch ' but I have stayed at many city hotels before and know this. The reception and bar staff were very polite and helpful, giving excellent service. Before we left England we requested 2 connecting rooms which they confirmed straight away and we were very pleased with this so we could all be together. The rooms are clean and the beds extremely comfortable. One of the hairdryers didn't work, i phoned housekeeping and they dealt with it immediately.
This is my 3rd visit to New York and I have stayed twice here. It is pricey but very central, and a price you would expect to stay in a major city. Personally I wouldn't stay in Times Square again as I would rather see the outer neighbourhoods i.e Greenwich village, but for the 1st time visitor, inc. my party, it is ideal, just a few steps and you are in the thick of it. All in all a good experience and I would recommend it to anyone who wants a comfortable stay, good service and central location. I would advise people to eat away from Times Square as it is more expensive and there are some great restaurants a walk away and more authentic.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Sheila r, thank you for your review! We are delighted you were able to enjoy your stay with us! Our staff takes pride in what we do and appreciate that you had a comfortable stay with good service and a central location. There are definitely a lot of restaurants in the area to choose from. Next time you are in the area, stop by for a free drink on us!
Sincerely,
Yaniv Packin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,884
    2,123
    721
    295
    182
See reviews for
2,040
1,827
200
722
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,348)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We recently spent 8 days at Crowne Plaza Times Square. Expensive but I understand all hotels in this location are. We were there during cyclone Sandy so understandably service not 100% but under the circumstances not bad. We had no hot water for a few days but again completely understandable. Metro closed so was great being such a central location. We didn't take a cab or any public transport the whole time. Literally across the road from theatres that we went to. Restaurants everywhere so we only ate in the hotel once. That was ok. The room was on the 49th floor and very comfortable and spacious (thankyou Tom at front desk). Would definately recomment Crowne Plaza Times Square but I think if we do visit Manhattan again probably wouldn't stay in Times Square. Very touristy! We spent a couple of nights at a hotel in Soho when we first arrived in New York but moved due to the hurricane, no power etc but loved that part of Manhattan and look forward to going back there

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write an awesome review for our hotel, Donna C! We are pleased that you had enjoyed your stay and were within the close proximity to the theaters you had visited. Tom greatly appreciates your recognition and like our entire staff, was ecstatic that we made your stay an enjoyable one! We look forward to your next stay with us!!
Sincerely,
Yaniv Packin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

got to the hotel a day after Sandy and managed to obtain a room due to a cancellation, 42nd floor, wonderfully clean large room. No hot water due to the storm. Front desk manager was helpfull, gracious, and could not have been nicer. Lovely hotel, cafe was great in the morning for coffee and ..... Good pre-show prefix dinner too. This was our 3rd stay in a Crowne Plaza hotes (Long Beach, ca and Milan Airport, Italy) We are very happy with our experiences, each stay had one or more unexpected delights during our stay, the staff has always been wonderful...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you fannie222 for your wonderful review of our property! I am so happy to hear that the Crowne Plaza is a top choice for you when you are traveling! I am also glad you were able to obtain a room with us despite the storm. Hopefully you join us again soon under better weather conditions!
Best,
Yaniv Packin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This hotel is brilliant , ideal location, clean, tidy, good food, great bar but what makes it stand out is the staff and how they make you feel.

All the staff went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable as possible, the service from bar and breakfast staff was quick and efficient.

This Hotel makes you feel welcome and safe, and when chaos was happening with hurricane sandy we were kept well informed but not make to feel any sense of panic.

Can't wait to visit New York again and my kids enjoyed this holiday saying it was the best ever. Don't think twice if you are looking for a central, safe , friendly, modern hotel .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Moshi09uk, thank you for your terrific review! I am sorry that you were here during the storm, but I am glad you were able to make the best of it! It is nice to see that our staff was able to make that happen for you. It is our goal to make you feel safe and comfortable, no matter what is going on around us! I hope you join us again soon when the skies are sunny!
Best,
Yaniv Packin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed here for 6 sad nights whilst in NY on business. Booked concierge room category assuming the rate would offer value for money! Bad Move. the breakfast was pathetically small and offered no normal options such as capuccino etc- I had thought the " canapes" would include, like comparable rooms at other Crowne Plaza's, druinks - wrong again. waited 30 minutes for porter on day of departure and then was expected to tip him ( even though he delayed us !) as well as the doorman and the extra guy who pushed the luggage trolley. Clearly the occupancy rate due to location has made this a tired and unfriendly place. Location is OK but forget the rest and look at otehr , more friendly options!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you maddie1957 for this feedback. I am sorry to hear that your stay at the Crowne Plaza was not up to our standards. Our hotel rates are priced competitively with the other hotels in the area and I am sorry to hear that you did feel you received your money’s worth. Please contact me at cheller@cptsnyc.com as I would be happy to discuss further with you.

Best,
Caren Heller
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We recently stayed at the Crowne Plaza to celebrate my daughters 21st birthday. We loved this hotel it's in an amazing location, very modern, has a calm feeling even though it is always bustling with people being in the centre fof Times Square. Our room on the 45th floor was large & very comfortable with a view of the Hudson River. As Priority Platinum Club members we had access to the Concierge Room on the 5th floor for breakfast, afternoon snacks, drinks. We found all the staff that we had contact with to be very polite, helpful & efficient and we would definitely like to return to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you GillyKWestMidlands for your review! We are so glad to read your positive feedback about your experience here with us! Our staff strives to make sure that all our guests have an enjoyable stay. Receiving this information from you lets us know that we are doing our job! Please come back and see us again really soon!
Best,
Yanic Packin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curacao
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Perfect location!Great hotel, nice ambiance.My room was op top-floor, gret view, no noise of the city.Breakfast, afternoon snacks included.Overall, very good choice!Will visit Crowne Plaza again.
Go-Airlink shuttle service from - to Airports, make yr reservations 24hrs hours ahead, safe,s you an additional $7,- p/pers.Nice hotel bar in the lobby with great music and gret view.
restaurants, limo,s, subway stations, shops all just around the corner!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
It was a pleasure to read your review CuracaoEdith! I am happy that you made good use of our central location and our Broadway 49 lounge! It is also nice to read that you were happy with your room! We look forward to welcoming you back!
Best,
Yaniv Packin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#55 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 4,386 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#94 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 5,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Times Square New York
Hyatt Times Square New York
#48 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,221 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#28 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,914 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#120 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 5,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan

Address: 1605 Broadway, 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#102 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#117 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#144 Family Hotel in New York City
#158 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan 4*
Number of rooms: 795
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Times Square, always New York's most exciting scene, seems all new now that the Crowne Plaza Times Square has reinvented itself. Come check out our $85 million re-invention, and see for yourself how modern design can provide a whole new kind of comfort. Enjoy one of our 795 well-appointed guest rooms outfitted with fresh contemporary accents and plush Sleep Advantage beds. Every room offers breathtaking views of Times Square, the famous Manhattan skyline or the Hudson River, unique among hotels in Times Square. Relax in our sleek lobby lounge, or have an evening cocktail in Broadway 49 Bar. Delight in a new spin on New American Eclectic cuisine at Brasserie 1605, one of the most exciting Times Square restaurants. With options like these, it's no wonder that New York seems so new. If you ve come for a meeting, you ll benefit from the new tech-friendly environment. If you re here for an event, you ll revel in the open space and atmospheric lighting, and when you walk through our front door, you step onto Broadway dazzling lights, world-class entertainment and urban energy. That's how Crowne Plaza Times Square is keeping New York new for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan Hotel New York City
Crowne Plaza Hotel Manhattan
Crowne Plaza New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.