We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location in Times Square” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1605 Broadway, 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bonus Points Offer
Ranked #139 of 451 hotels in New York City
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location in Times Square”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We recently spent 8 days at Crowne Plaza Times Square. Expensive but I understand all hotels in this location are. We were there during cyclone Sandy so understandably service not 100% but under the circumstances not bad. We had no hot water for a few days but again completely understandable. Metro closed so was great being such a central location. We didn't take a cab or any public transport the whole time. Literally across the road from theatres that we went to. Restaurants everywhere so we only ate in the hotel once. That was ok. The room was on the 49th floor and very comfortable and spacious (thankyou Tom at front desk). Would definately recomment Crowne Plaza Times Square but I think if we do visit Manhattan again probably wouldn't stay in Times Square. Very touristy! We spent a couple of nights at a hotel in Soho when we first arrived in New York but moved due to the hurricane, no power etc but loved that part of Manhattan and look forward to going back there

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write an awesome review for our hotel, Donna C! We are pleased that you had enjoyed your stay and were within the close proximity to the theaters you had visited. Tom greatly appreciates your recognition and like our entire staff, was ecstatic that we made your stay an enjoyable one! We look forward to your next stay with us!!
Sincerely,
Yaniv Packin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,670 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,170
    1,600
    547
    215
    138
See reviews for
1522
1408
154
554
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (958)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atascadero, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

got to the hotel a day after Sandy and managed to obtain a room due to a cancellation, 42nd floor, wonderfully clean large room. No hot water due to the storm. Front desk manager was helpfull, gracious, and could not have been nicer. Lovely hotel, cafe was great in the morning for coffee and ..... Good pre-show prefix dinner too. This was our 3rd stay in a Crowne Plaza hotes (Long Beach, ca and Milan Airport, Italy) We are very happy with our experiences, each stay had one or more unexpected delights during our stay, the staff has always been wonderful...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you fannie222 for your wonderful review of our property! I am so happy to hear that the Crowne Plaza is a top choice for you when you are traveling! I am also glad you were able to obtain a room with us despite the storm. Hopefully you join us again soon under better weather conditions!
Best,
Yaniv Packin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This hotel is brilliant , ideal location, clean, tidy, good food, great bar but what makes it stand out is the staff and how they make you feel.

All the staff went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable as possible, the service from bar and breakfast staff was quick and efficient.

This Hotel makes you feel welcome and safe, and when chaos was happening with hurricane sandy we were kept well informed but not make to feel any sense of panic.

Can't wait to visit New York again and my kids enjoyed this holiday saying it was the best ever. Don't think twice if you are looking for a central, safe , friendly, modern hotel .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Moshi09uk, thank you for your terrific review! I am sorry that you were here during the storm, but I am glad you were able to make the best of it! It is nice to see that our staff was able to make that happen for you. It is our goal to make you feel safe and comfortable, no matter what is going on around us! I hope you join us again soon when the skies are sunny!
Best,
Yaniv Packin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed here for 6 sad nights whilst in NY on business. Booked concierge room category assuming the rate would offer value for money! Bad Move. the breakfast was pathetically small and offered no normal options such as capuccino etc- I had thought the " canapes" would include, like comparable rooms at other Crowne Plaza's, druinks - wrong again. waited 30 minutes for porter on day of departure and then was expected to tip him ( even though he delayed us !) as well as the doorman and the extra guy who pushed the luggage trolley. Clearly the occupancy rate due to location has made this a tired and unfriendly place. Location is OK but forget the rest and look at otehr , more friendly options!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you maddie1957 for this feedback. I am sorry to hear that your stay at the Crowne Plaza was not up to our standards. Our hotel rates are priced competitively with the other hotels in the area and I am sorry to hear that you did feel you received your money’s worth. Please contact me at cheller@cptsnyc.com as I would be happy to discuss further with you.

Best,
Caren Heller
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We recently stayed at the Crowne Plaza to celebrate my daughters 21st birthday. We loved this hotel it's in an amazing location, very modern, has a calm feeling even though it is always bustling with people being in the centre fof Times Square. Our room on the 45th floor was large & very comfortable with a view of the Hudson River. As Priority Platinum Club members we had access to the Concierge Room on the 5th floor for breakfast, afternoon snacks, drinks. We found all the staff that we had contact with to be very polite, helpful & efficient and we would definitely like to return to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you GillyKWestMidlands for your review! We are so glad to read your positive feedback about your experience here with us! Our staff strives to make sure that all our guests have an enjoyable stay. Receiving this information from you lets us know that we are doing our job! Please come back and see us again really soon!
Best,
Yanic Packin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curacao
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Perfect location!Great hotel, nice ambiance.My room was op top-floor, gret view, no noise of the city.Breakfast, afternoon snacks included.Overall, very good choice!Will visit Crowne Plaza again.
Go-Airlink shuttle service from - to Airports, make yr reservations 24hrs hours ahead, safe,s you an additional $7,- p/pers.Nice hotel bar in the lobby with great music and gret view.
restaurants, limo,s, subway stations, shops all just around the corner!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
It was a pleasure to read your review CuracaoEdith! I am happy that you made good use of our central location and our Broadway 49 lounge! It is also nice to read that you were happy with your room! We look forward to welcoming you back!
Best,
Yaniv Packin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

I an not typically a huge fan of crowns plazas. I stayed here for work and was pleasantly surprised. The location is great if you want to stay in the heart of time square. The bathrooms looked fresh and updated. The room itself was nicer than A typical crowne plaza room. The service at the restaurant for breakfast was a bit slow. Overall a pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you romred4 for your review! I hope that your stay with us helped to change your mind about the Crowne Plaza brand as a whole! We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming to you again soon!
Best,
Yaniv Packin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan

Address: 1605 Broadway, 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#90 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#102 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#109 Business Hotel in New York City
#123 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Times Square, always New York's most exciting scene, seems all new now that the Crowne Plaza Times Square has reinvented itself. Come check out our $85 million re-invention, and see for yourself how modern design can provide a whole new kind of comfort. Enjoy one of our 795 well-appointed guest rooms outfitted with fresh contemporary accents and plush Sleep Advantage beds. Every room offers breathtaking views of Times Square, the famous Manhattan skyline or the Hudson River, unique among hotels in Times Square. Relax in our sleek lobby lounge, or have an evening cocktail in Broadway 49 Bar. Delight in a new spin on New American Eclectic cuisine at Brasserie 1605, one of the most exciting Times Square restaurants. With options like these, it's no wonder that New York seems so new. If you ve come for a meeting, you ll benefit from the new tech-friendly environment. If you re here for an event, you ll revel in the open space and atmospheric lighting, and when you walk through our front door, you step onto Broadway dazzling lights, world-class entertainment and urban energy. That's how Crowne Plaza Times Square is keeping New York new for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan Hotel New York City
Crowne Plaza Hotel Manhattan
Crowne Plaza New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.