We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diffident staff and poor value for money” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1605 Broadway, 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bonus Points Offer
Ranked #139 of 451 hotels in New York City
Melbourne
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Diffident staff and poor value for money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed here for 6 sad nights whilst in NY on business. Booked concierge room category assuming the rate would offer value for money! Bad Move. the breakfast was pathetically small and offered no normal options such as capuccino etc- I had thought the " canapes" would include, like comparable rooms at other Crowne Plaza's, druinks - wrong again. waited 30 minutes for porter on day of departure and then was expected to tip him ( even though he delayed us !) as well as the doorman and the extra guy who pushed the luggage trolley. Clearly the occupancy rate due to location has made this a tired and unfriendly place. Location is OK but forget the rest and look at otehr , more friendly options!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you maddie1957 for this feedback. I am sorry to hear that your stay at the Crowne Plaza was not up to our standards. Our hotel rates are priced competitively with the other hotels in the area and I am sorry to hear that you did feel you received your money’s worth. Please contact me at cheller@cptsnyc.com as I would be happy to discuss further with you.

Best,
Caren Heller
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,730 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,203
    1,623
    548
    218
    138
See reviews for
1512
1403
154
553
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (950)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We recently stayed at the Crowne Plaza to celebrate my daughters 21st birthday. We loved this hotel it's in an amazing location, very modern, has a calm feeling even though it is always bustling with people being in the centre fof Times Square. Our room on the 45th floor was large & very comfortable with a view of the Hudson River. As Priority Platinum Club members we had access to the Concierge Room on the 5th floor for breakfast, afternoon snacks, drinks. We found all the staff that we had contact with to be very polite, helpful & efficient and we would definitely like to return to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you GillyKWestMidlands for your review! We are so glad to read your positive feedback about your experience here with us! Our staff strives to make sure that all our guests have an enjoyable stay. Receiving this information from you lets us know that we are doing our job! Please come back and see us again really soon!
Best,
Yanic Packin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curacao
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Perfect location!Great hotel, nice ambiance.My room was op top-floor, gret view, no noise of the city.Breakfast, afternoon snacks included.Overall, very good choice!Will visit Crowne Plaza again.
Go-Airlink shuttle service from - to Airports, make yr reservations 24hrs hours ahead, safe,s you an additional $7,- p/pers.Nice hotel bar in the lobby with great music and gret view.
restaurants, limo,s, subway stations, shops all just around the corner!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
It was a pleasure to read your review CuracaoEdith! I am happy that you made good use of our central location and our Broadway 49 lounge! It is also nice to read that you were happy with your room! We look forward to welcoming you back!
Best,
Yaniv Packin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

I an not typically a huge fan of crowns plazas. I stayed here for work and was pleasantly surprised. The location is great if you want to stay in the heart of time square. The bathrooms looked fresh and updated. The room itself was nicer than A typical crowne plaza room. The service at the restaurant for breakfast was a bit slow. Overall a pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you romred4 for your review! I hope that your stay with us helped to change your mind about the Crowne Plaza brand as a whole! We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming to you again soon!
Best,
Yaniv Packin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We went for a four day , three night stay at the Crowne Plaza in New York. upon arrival we were greeted at the front desk and told computors were down and we could not get a room. We had to wait an hour before checking in. Room was spacious no complaints. The morning we left I left my cell phone in my room ( there is no debate on this, I left it there, I was charging it) When I got to the airport in Montreal Canada I realized my phone was left in the room.(approx 3.5 hrs later) I called the hotel and eventually was turned over to security. They went to the room and said there was no phone there. So it is obvious that it was stolen by a staff member. ( i would suggest the maid service) After hearing this I sent four emails to Crowne plaza, (main office and the actual hotel. ) The main corporation office replied telling me they would send it on to the actual hotel in New York. The hotel in New York DID NOT even have the decency to contact me , let alone help solve the problem. I sent several emails to them with no reply. Very disappointed on how this was handled and how I was treated. We wil NEVER stay in a Crowne Plaza Hotel ever again. It is a shame that staff can not be trusted.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Ian W, I am sorry that you did not receive a prompt response from us regarding this issue. Please contact me at cheller@cptsnyc.com so that I am able to assist you and iinvestigate the issue further
Best,
Caren Heller
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

While this hotel is a little expensive it is the perfect place from which to launch your exploration of Manhattan and NYC.

It is centrally located with Times Square right outside your door. There is easy access to taxis, buses and the subway. Central Park, 5th Avenue and other tourist spots are all within easy walking distance.

The staff are very friendly and helpful. Susana was wonderful helping me sort out some travel problems and gave us excellent service and advice about the hotel and its facilities.

I recommend this hotel to anyone intending to holiday on Manhattan Island.

Room Tip: High floor rooms have excellent views of Manhattan and surrounding areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
555555Brisbane, thank you for your fabulous review! We love hearing this wonderful feedback from our guests! Our accessible location certainly makes it easy to tour the city of Manhattan! I am also happy to read that you enjoyed the helpfulness from our staff! All of us here at Crowne Plaza strive to make our guests feel at home!
Best,
Yaniv Packin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in September as part of our honeymoon & could not recommend it highly enough. From the moment we checked in, the level of service we received from Evelyn on the front desk was superb. She upgraded us to a corner room which was really spacious, especially in comparison to regular NYC standards. The view from our room looked out on Times Square, we couldn't have asked for a better location- but thankfully the windows were fully soundproof so perfect location without any of the noise. We also received free wifi & she even sent us a bottle of wine / strawberries so she could not have been more helpful!

The bed was extremely comfortable, a perfect tonic after walking for hours around the city every day. It is a large hotel, so there is a great buzz in the lobby/ bar etc. We didn't eat here, simply due to the vast choice of eateries which we passed every day on our daily excursions.

We loved this hotel & I have recommended it to anyone I know who is travelling to NY in the near future- we will certainly stay here again on our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
THANK YOU SO MUCH, MissCK_Cork, for choosing to stay with us! We were delighted to have you as a guest of our hotel! Our front desk staff was delighted that you recognized their efforts of providing you superb service. Times Square is always an awesome view and we are glad to have been able to share that with you. We are looking forward to your next visit, which we hope is sometime soon and don’t forget to check out our restaurant too!

Sincerely,

Yaniv Packin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan

Address: 1605 Broadway, 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#90 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#99 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#110 Business Hotel in New York City
#117 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Times Square, always New York's most exciting scene, seems all new now that the Crowne Plaza Times Square has reinvented itself. Come check out our $85 million re-invention, and see for yourself how modern design can provide a whole new kind of comfort. Enjoy one of our 795 well-appointed guest rooms outfitted with fresh contemporary accents and plush Sleep Advantage beds. Every room offers breathtaking views of Times Square, the famous Manhattan skyline or the Hudson River, unique among hotels in Times Square. Relax in our sleek lobby lounge, or have an evening cocktail in Broadway 49 Bar. Delight in a new spin on New American Eclectic cuisine at Brasserie 1605, one of the most exciting Times Square restaurants. With options like these, it's no wonder that New York seems so new. If you ve come for a meeting, you ll benefit from the new tech-friendly environment. If you re here for an event, you ll revel in the open space and atmospheric lighting, and when you walk through our front door, you step onto Broadway dazzling lights, world-class entertainment and urban energy. That's how Crowne Plaza Times Square is keeping New York new for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan Hotel New York City
Crowne Plaza Hotel Manhattan
Crowne Plaza New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.