We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1605 Broadway, 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #147 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Curacao
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“10”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Perfect location!Great hotel, nice ambiance.My room was op top-floor, gret view, no noise of the city.Breakfast, afternoon snacks included.Overall, very good choice!Will visit Crowne Plaza again.
Go-Airlink shuttle service from - to Airports, make yr reservations 24hrs hours ahead, safe,s you an additional $7,- p/pers.Nice hotel bar in the lobby with great music and gret view.
restaurants, limo,s, subway stations, shops all just around the corner!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
It was a pleasure to read your review CuracaoEdith! I am happy that you made good use of our central location and our Broadway 49 lounge! It is also nice to read that you were happy with your room! We look forward to welcoming you back!
Best,
Yaniv Packin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,446
    1,813
    612
    244
    155
See reviews for
1,718
1,583
170
618
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,124)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

I an not typically a huge fan of crowns plazas. I stayed here for work and was pleasantly surprised. The location is great if you want to stay in the heart of time square. The bathrooms looked fresh and updated. The room itself was nicer than A typical crowne plaza room. The service at the restaurant for breakfast was a bit slow. Overall a pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you romred4 for your review! I hope that your stay with us helped to change your mind about the Crowne Plaza brand as a whole! We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming to you again soon!
Best,
Yaniv Packin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We went for a four day , three night stay at the Crowne Plaza in New York. upon arrival we were greeted at the front desk and told computors were down and we could not get a room. We had to wait an hour before checking in. Room was spacious no complaints. The morning we left I left my cell phone in my room ( there is no debate on this, I left it there, I was charging it) When I got to the airport in Montreal Canada I realized my phone was left in the room.(approx 3.5 hrs later) I called the hotel and eventually was turned over to security. They went to the room and said there was no phone there. So it is obvious that it was stolen by a staff member. ( i would suggest the maid service) After hearing this I sent four emails to Crowne plaza, (main office and the actual hotel. ) The main corporation office replied telling me they would send it on to the actual hotel in New York. The hotel in New York DID NOT even have the decency to contact me , let alone help solve the problem. I sent several emails to them with no reply. Very disappointed on how this was handled and how I was treated. We wil NEVER stay in a Crowne Plaza Hotel ever again. It is a shame that staff can not be trusted.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Ian W, I am sorry that you did not receive a prompt response from us regarding this issue. Please contact me at cheller@cptsnyc.com so that I am able to assist you and iinvestigate the issue further
Best,
Caren Heller
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

While this hotel is a little expensive it is the perfect place from which to launch your exploration of Manhattan and NYC.

It is centrally located with Times Square right outside your door. There is easy access to taxis, buses and the subway. Central Park, 5th Avenue and other tourist spots are all within easy walking distance.

The staff are very friendly and helpful. Susana was wonderful helping me sort out some travel problems and gave us excellent service and advice about the hotel and its facilities.

I recommend this hotel to anyone intending to holiday on Manhattan Island.

Room Tip: High floor rooms have excellent views of Manhattan and surrounding areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
555555Brisbane, thank you for your fabulous review! We love hearing this wonderful feedback from our guests! Our accessible location certainly makes it easy to tour the city of Manhattan! I am also happy to read that you enjoyed the helpfulness from our staff! All of us here at Crowne Plaza strive to make our guests feel at home!
Best,
Yaniv Packin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in September as part of our honeymoon & could not recommend it highly enough. From the moment we checked in, the level of service we received from Evelyn on the front desk was superb. She upgraded us to a corner room which was really spacious, especially in comparison to regular NYC standards. The view from our room looked out on Times Square, we couldn't have asked for a better location- but thankfully the windows were fully soundproof so perfect location without any of the noise. We also received free wifi & she even sent us a bottle of wine / strawberries so she could not have been more helpful!

The bed was extremely comfortable, a perfect tonic after walking for hours around the city every day. It is a large hotel, so there is a great buzz in the lobby/ bar etc. We didn't eat here, simply due to the vast choice of eateries which we passed every day on our daily excursions.

We loved this hotel & I have recommended it to anyone I know who is travelling to NY in the near future- we will certainly stay here again on our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
THANK YOU SO MUCH, MissCK_Cork, for choosing to stay with us! We were delighted to have you as a guest of our hotel! Our front desk staff was delighted that you recognized their efforts of providing you superb service. Times Square is always an awesome view and we are glad to have been able to share that with you. We are looking forward to your next visit, which we hope is sometime soon and don’t forget to check out our restaurant too!

Sincerely,

Yaniv Packin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

On walking out the front door we were in the middle of times square, nice sized room great view of times square well worth the extra £30
Highly recomended
Ate out for the whole stay so didnt try the food but enjoyed the bar and views of times square
Only downside no free wifi
Nice helpful staff

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you lain2936 for your awesome review! It was a great pleasure having you as a guest and we are ecstatic that you had enjoyed your stay. We apologize for our internet policy, but we do hope you stay with us again. Perhaps you would like to book a concierge room for your next stay, which includes internet. We look forward to seeing you again and hope that you get the chance to dine in our restaurant!

Sincerely,
Yaniv Packin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cairo
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My husband and I checked out after a 7 night stay at CP Times Square, booked through Booking.com. We have to say we are completely disappointed and feel we were ripped off.

It all began during the check-in, when an arrogant and highly condescending front desk staff (by the name of Rhoda) showed a very rude attitude and would not listen to our request, as we had booked a Deluxe room, higher floor overlooking Times Square, breakfast included. The employee simply ruled out the specs of the room booked, claiming that all Booking.com guests had that same description, which is not true.

To our surprise, right after checking out, we discovered we were robbed. The basic price of the room per night we were charged was 557 USD before tax, amounting to 633 USD after tax. However, the website of the hotel has very different figures, where a room like ours is booked at a rate of 340 USD. My husband specifically asked the staff if we were being over-charged for making our reservation through Booking.com, and the person clearly said no. The only difference is that booking directly with the hotel gives you more flexibility in choosing a room you like.

We filed an official complaint to the hotel management. The hotel treated it as irrelevant to them, claiming it was an issue with booking.com. However, our main concern was with the hotel for deliberately misleading us, as we could have simply cancelled the booking for the rest of the stay, right after the first night. To us, this only proves the hotel is in cahoots with booking.com. So, watch out when dealing with either.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear NohaKamal,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Please accept my sincerest apology for the service you received at check in and any inconvenience you may have experienced. I am also sorry for the issues you had at check out. I have sent you a private message to obtain some additional details regarding your experience. Thank you for staying and we look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan

Address: 1605 Broadway, 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#99 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#102 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#119 Family Hotel in New York City
#144 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan 4*
Number of rooms: 770
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Times Square, always New York's most exciting scene, seems all new now that the Crowne Plaza Times Square has reinvented itself. Come check out our $85 million re-invention, and see for yourself how modern design can provide a whole new kind of comfort. Enjoy one of our 795 well-appointed guest rooms outfitted with fresh contemporary accents and plush Sleep Advantage beds. Every room offers breathtaking views of Times Square, the famous Manhattan skyline or the Hudson River, unique among hotels in Times Square. Relax in our sleek lobby lounge, or have an evening cocktail in Broadway 49 Bar. Delight in a new spin on New American Eclectic cuisine at Brasserie 1605, one of the most exciting Times Square restaurants. With options like these, it's no wonder that New York seems so new. If you ve come for a meeting, you ll benefit from the new tech-friendly environment. If you re here for an event, you ll revel in the open space and atmospheric lighting, and when you walk through our front door, you step onto Broadway dazzling lights, world-class entertainment and urban energy. That's how Crowne Plaza Times Square is keeping New York new for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan Hotel New York City
Crowne Plaza Hotel Manhattan
Crowne Plaza New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.