We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have picked a better hotel in New York for the money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Grand Hyatt New York to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   109 East 42nd Street, Park Avenue at Grand Central Terminal, New York City, NY 10017 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
A Suite Deal!
Ranked #260 of 454 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brisbane
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Couldn't have picked a better hotel in New York for the money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2009

It would be hard to imagine the New York experience getting much better than this. Rooms are massive, foyer is grand, terrific hotel all round.

Great shoe shine out the front and a couple of blocks from the centre of NYC or the UN, Empire State and any number of other attractions. Walk to everywhere in NYC from here, and on top of Grand Central Station to boot.

Terrific, email for details if required.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,274
    1,748
    863
    335
    204
See reviews for
981
1,212
264
975
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (621)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
321 reviews 321 reviews
175 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
321 helpful votes 321 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2009

RECOMMENDED (price dependent): I've stayed at the Grand Hyatt several times in last 20 years. Hotel is well located for transit and getting around. Check-in was prompt and friendly and a room change was handled in a friendly manner. The property is in general good condition. Rooms are fairly large by NY standards and relatively quiet. Furnished updated and tasteful. Internet while not free, was only $10 a day. Negatives: our bathroom was quite tiny and with no shower illumination (meaning in the dark). No coffee or tea maker. Bedding is sub-par for a 4* property. Room service prices were out of mind. The 'net is this is a fine choice if you get a good deal, if you get stung by a high rate, there are likely other nearby choices you may wish to consider.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2009

Just returned from a five night break at the Grand Hyatt. As the previous reviewer commented, the location is perfect, away from the manic bustle of Times Square but still within walking distance. We had a king deluxe room, only slightly more expensive than the basic package. The room (2736) was very spacious and spotlessly clean although the bathrooms in the hotel could probably do with an upgrade and there was no view. However, this did mean that the room was very quiet and we had no trouble with our neighbours. We have high standards and were pleasantly surprised with the hotel, expecially after reading some of the previous reviews. New York is very expensive as the exchange rate is dreadful but all things considered, we can't wait to return! A couple of tips - take the Staten Island ferry to see the Statue of Liberty as it is free and book any Broadway shows with the Box Office at the venue.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2009

We just got back from a week in New York City and I couldn't wait to write a review about our stay there! First of all, we were extremely impressed with the city overall, from the airport (JFK) to the subways, to every little part of the city. It is a very clean and friendly city!! It was our first time there, we brought our two teenage children, and we all had a GREAT time! It was Easter week and toward the latter part of the week the city got crowded, especially Times Square, but still we were able to avoid the crowds for the most part. Which brings me to my review of the Grand Hyatt. Being as how we'd never been to NYC before, I thought that mYbe being closer to Times Square was the way to go, but NO! We found that the location of the Hyatt was absolutely perfect!!!!! It is next to Grand Central Station (which means that it is convenient to get to ANYWHERE in the city by taking the subway) but it is far enough from the ridiculous crowds in Times Square (which feels like Vegas)! We were always so happy to get back to our hotel at the end of each day. The lobby is BEAUTIFUL, the staff are really wonderful, and our room was great. The day we got there, the front desk attendant, Gordon, wrote out explicit directions for us to get a quick little self-guided tour of the city, from our hotel. It was such a great walk around in order to see some of the famous sites around, like Times Square, Rockefeller Center and Radio City Music Hall. As soon as I saw Times Square, I was SOOOO happy that I didn't book a hotel in that area. Our hotel was convenient to everything you would want to see, with the added bonus of being like a respite from the chaos of the city. We loved it and can't wait to go back! We would definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Californai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2009

Great hotel, nice rooms and perfect location! Highly rec!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2009

Check-in was great, and we were upgraded to the club level. The room was spacious by NYC standards and was clean. The linens were really nice and the bed comfortable. The bar was nice, though pricey, and was open late. Our only complaint was that someone in the room next to us left room service items in the hallway, and they were not cleaned up for several hours.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randers
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2009

first visit to NYC and got a good deal on the Grand Hyatt. Being in the center of NYC and on Manhattan, it was perfect for us. Just perfect. And everybody were friendly, serviceminded and helpful. I would strongly recommend this hotel to everybody that asks. Only thing, (why only 4 stars on rooms) is that the room is rather small - of course you dont spend a lot of time in the room but it fitted the 2 double beds and a desk and that was it. But again, wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hyatt New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt New York

Address: 109 East 42nd Street, Park Avenue at Grand Central Terminal, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Green Hotel in New York City
#142 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#184 Family Hotel in New York City
#191 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#213 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt New York 4*
Number of rooms: 1306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier location in the heart of New York's famous midtown. Striking lobby with waterfalls, seating areas and three restaurants and lounges. Direct access to Grand Central Terminal and connected to the Chrysler Building. Steps from Times Square, Shopping and the Theatre District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Amex, Orbitz, Otel, Agoda, Reservation Counter, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hyatt New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt New York City
Hyatt New York City
Hotel Hyatt New York
Grand Hotel Hyatt New York
New York City Grand Hyatt Hotel
Hyatt Hotel New York City
Grand Hyatt Hotel New York
New York Hyatt
New York City Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.