We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not up to what I expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hyatt New York to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   109 East 42nd Street, Park Avenue at Grand Central Terminal, New York City, NY 10017 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Your Points
Ranked #269 of 458 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good, but not up to what I expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Spent 3 days pre cruise at the grand Hyatt with my husband and adult son. On the positive side -The room was standard for US, clean and tidy although not particularly spacious with 2 Queen sized beds which were really quite comfortable and nice pillows. We had room 2518 which was had a side view of the Chrysler building. The hotel is central and within easy walking distance to many attractions. The lobby was usually busy and as it was coming to the festive season there was complimentary snacks and non alcoholic drinks free on a couple of days. grand Central can be reached via the lobby and is well worth a venture as there is a good selection of shops and food hall, as well as fantastic architecture.
On a negative note the hospitality toiletries were so not to be desired and looked like they had been recycled for several months as the tops of the lotions had faded and the contents were not full. I squeezed out the contents to ensure they could not be reused on another unsuspecting customer. The sensor touch lighting was also temperamental, particularly the bathroom nightlight.
We.did not use the bar services nor the room service as this was very extortionate. The rooms do not have any tea/coffee making facilities in the room which is quite disappointing, but I suppose they get away with this with the 24 hour market square coffee / snack bar. nonetheless this was expensive, did not vary form day to day and service was very slow.
Overall I must admit I was expecting a little more, but it was of a good standard! but nothing special in my opinion, other than clean! tidy and good location.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,379
    1,883
    948
    358
    216
See reviews for
1,060
1,314
275
1,056
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (714)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Hotel is very well located, Rooms are beautifully presented although our room was not generous in size for 2 double beds. Very clean and nice decor. Lobby is always crowded and very busy no matter what time of day or night you arrive. Staff were all fairly pleasant however there lacks that bit of refinement for the type of hotel it presents. Had a bit of a noisy air/con but they came to fix it. We loved being virtually next door to central station and this wonderful arcade full of amazing boutique style stalls with all sorts of delicious food. I really cant rate the hotel too badly except for, I had my brand new Fendi Sunglasses (never worn) stolen from my room, so if you do stay in this hotel... lock your valuables in the safe provided and lock your suitcases. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is Located right on Grand Central Terminal. Rooms have a very decent size for New York City. We had a room with two beds and it was enough for a family of four for six days. The room was very clean and looked as if was recently renovated. The lobby was always crowded with a lot going on in the evenings. Seems like the ball rooms are very popular.
The food court at the Grand Central Terminal was very convenient and a life saver since we traveled with kids.
The location is also very good for walking anywhere.
I highly recommend staying here.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is walking distance to almost everything and right above Grand Central Station. Our room was a good size as was the bathroom. Wifi is not free (free at Hyatt Fort Lauderdale) ! And we didn't think much of the restaurant. The main foyer is continuously busy but on saying that we got good service. Concierge was most helpful.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights 6/12 to 9/12 with 6 girlfriends. Check in was pain free and swift. All staff very helpful, polite and welcoming. Stayed in room 3055, room small but very comfortable beds, clean linen and nice pillows. Good shower in the bathroom and decent hairdryer. View from room was over the roof of Grand Central not the best view but we did not stay in the room other than to sleep! Excellent location for all the main attractions, Times Square, Bryant Park, 5th Avenue and Rockerfeller centre all within a short walking distance. As per most hotel bars, the drinks were expensive, cheapest bottle of wine was $48. Hotel has a café bar where you can purchase water, coffee, tea etc, again this was expensive. Tea and a bottle of water came to $9. Would recommend the Café Metro further up the street which does, tea/coffee, breakfasts, salads, pizza etc for a lot less in a nice, clean friendly environment.
Would stay at this hotel again when visiting New York in view of excellent location, very comfortable and welcoming/polite staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

First the minor but annoying bad things: concierge desk is worse I've ever seen at any hotel. Don't trust them. Next, the Market store downstairs is overpriced and understaffed. Drug store and other stores out front of hotel go there instead (but avoid hot dog pretzel stand out front). Last bad note is if you're not tech savvy, good luck figuring out the lights and I dock system. Now the good things: Restaurant is 5 star quality. Tip the staff and look forward to fantastic service (it is Park Avenue). Next, the room darkening blinds are fabulous, especially if you're an odd hour sleeper. Tip the maid staff and service is fantastic here too. Last but Def not least, seek out Diane at check in desk. Absolutely best hospitality Agent I have met in 20 years in the business. Overall, decent hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Because it is Grand Central Station! This hotel is literally on top of Grand Central Station and right next to the Chrysler Building so the location is excellent if you are sightseeing or doing business in Manhattan. I had a high floor room that was small but nicely furnished. The interior spaces and lobby are impressive. The 24 hour cafe is very helpful in the city that never sleeps. It is expensive of course, but you are in mid-town Manhattan and there is not much you can do about it.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hyatt New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt New York

Address: 109 East 42nd Street, Park Avenue at Grand Central Terminal, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Green Hotel in New York City
#147 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#191 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#200 Family Hotel in New York City
#221 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt New York 4*
Number of rooms: 1306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier location in the heart of New York's famous midtown. Striking lobby with waterfalls, seating areas and three restaurants and lounges. Direct access to Grand Central Terminal and connected to the Chrysler Building. Steps from Times Square, Shopping and the Theatre District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Hyatt New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt New York City
Hyatt New York City
Hotel Hyatt New York
Grand Hotel Hyatt New York
New York City Grand Hyatt Hotel
Hyatt Hotel New York City
Grand Hyatt Hotel New York
New York Hyatt
New York City Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.