We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame when this happens” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hyatt New York to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   109 East 42nd Street, Park Avenue at Grand Central Terminal, New York City, NY 10017 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #274 of 464 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Shame when this happens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Hotel is very well located, Rooms are beautifully presented although our room was not generous in size for 2 double beds. Very clean and nice decor. Lobby is always crowded and very busy no matter what time of day or night you arrive. Staff were all fairly pleasant however there lacks that bit of refinement for the type of hotel it presents. Had a bit of a noisy air/con but they came to fix it. We loved being virtually next door to central station and this wonderful arcade full of amazing boutique style stalls with all sorts of delicious food. I really cant rate the hotel too badly except for, I had my brand new Fendi Sunglasses (never worn) stolen from my room, so if you do stay in this hotel... lock your valuables in the safe provided and lock your suitcases. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,492
    2,015
    1,020
    386
    231
See reviews for
1,140
1,403
282
1,177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (780)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is Located right on Grand Central Terminal. Rooms have a very decent size for New York City. We had a room with two beds and it was enough for a family of four for six days. The room was very clean and looked as if was recently renovated. The lobby was always crowded with a lot going on in the evenings. Seems like the ball rooms are very popular.
The food court at the Grand Central Terminal was very convenient and a life saver since we traveled with kids.
The location is also very good for walking anywhere.
I highly recommend staying here.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is walking distance to almost everything and right above Grand Central Station. Our room was a good size as was the bathroom. Wifi is not free (free at Hyatt Fort Lauderdale) ! And we didn't think much of the restaurant. The main foyer is continuously busy but on saying that we got good service. Concierge was most helpful.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights 6/12 to 9/12 with 6 girlfriends. Check in was pain free and swift. All staff very helpful, polite and welcoming. Stayed in room 3055, room small but very comfortable beds, clean linen and nice pillows. Good shower in the bathroom and decent hairdryer. View from room was over the roof of Grand Central not the best view but we did not stay in the room other than to sleep! Excellent location for all the main attractions, Times Square, Bryant Park, 5th Avenue and Rockerfeller centre all within a short walking distance. As per most hotel bars, the drinks were expensive, cheapest bottle of wine was $48. Hotel has a café bar where you can purchase water, coffee, tea etc, again this was expensive. Tea and a bottle of water came to $9. Would recommend the Café Metro further up the street which does, tea/coffee, breakfasts, salads, pizza etc for a lot less in a nice, clean friendly environment.
Would stay at this hotel again when visiting New York in view of excellent location, very comfortable and welcoming/polite staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

First the minor but annoying bad things: concierge desk is worse I've ever seen at any hotel. Don't trust them. Next, the Market store downstairs is overpriced and understaffed. Drug store and other stores out front of hotel go there instead (but avoid hot dog pretzel stand out front). Last bad note is if you're not tech savvy, good luck figuring out the lights and I dock system. Now the good things: Restaurant is 5 star quality. Tip the staff and look forward to fantastic service (it is Park Avenue). Next, the room darkening blinds are fabulous, especially if you're an odd hour sleeper. Tip the maid staff and service is fantastic here too. Last but Def not least, seek out Diane at check in desk. Absolutely best hospitality Agent I have met in 20 years in the business. Overall, decent hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
287 reviews 287 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Because it is Grand Central Station! This hotel is literally on top of Grand Central Station and right next to the Chrysler Building so the location is excellent if you are sightseeing or doing business in Manhattan. I had a high floor room that was small but nicely furnished. The interior spaces and lobby are impressive. The 24 hour cafe is very helpful in the city that never sleeps. It is expensive of course, but you are in mid-town Manhattan and there is not much you can do about it.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

We were celebrating our anniversary and decided on 4 night stay at the hotel. Had also upgraded to a suite using an upgrade certificate. Upon arrival we were told there was no record of the upgrade although it was confirmed twice with the reservation department. We were told they would move us to a jr. suite the next day and to leave a cell phone number so we would be called as soon as it was ready. Told them we were here celebrating our anniversary and really did not want to be changing rooms after one night but agreed to it after their offer to help us move our things.The check in process took very long and we were tired after the flight.
The next morning, before we left the hotel, we reconfirmed the suite and were again told to leave a cell number and we would be called. We spent most of the day out sightseeing. No one called us about the room being ready. When we returned to the hotel at 5 pm we were told the room was ready a long time ago but nobody called us. No offer to help us or even a bottle of wine as a goodwill gesture for all the trouble. Upon entering the room we discovered an open cleaning chemical bottle left on the vanity by housekeeping. We have stayed there before and have thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Something has changed at the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Grand Hyatt New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt New York

Address: 109 East 42nd Street, Park Avenue at Grand Central Terminal, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Green Hotel in New York City
#162 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#196 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#210 Family Hotel in New York City
#223 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt New York 4*
Number of rooms: 1306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier location in the heart of New York's famous midtown. Striking lobby with waterfalls, seating areas and three restaurants and lounges. Direct access to Grand Central Terminal and connected to the Chrysler Building. Steps from Times Square, Shopping and the Theatre District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Amex, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Hyatt New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt New York City
Hyatt New York City
Grand Hotel Hyatt New York
Hyatt Hotel New York City
New York City Grand Hyatt Hotel
Hotel Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt Hotel New York
New York Hyatt
New York City Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.