We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable room, good location...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Save Saved
You added Grand Hyatt New York to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hyatt New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   109 East 42nd Street, Park Avenue at Grand Central Terminal, New York City, NY 10017 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
A Suite Deal!
Ranked #259 of 453 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
339 helpful votes 339 helpful votes
“Comfortable room, good location...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We just returned from a two night stay at this hotel. After having just been to the Grand Hyatt in Kauai, I had high expectations. The location is great. We flew in to JFK an there is a bus service that drops you off directly across the street from this hotel. It is also easy to get back to this hotel with the subway, and you are within walking distance to Times Square and Broadway. The check-in staff was fabulous and provided great service. We had reserved a queen bed but they upgraded us with no problem to King. We did not really have a view from our room, but the room was a good size by NYC standards, and was very comfortable. The bathroom cleanliness was a 4/5 in my opinion - the rest of the room was very clean. The lobby is very cool and modern.

My only issues with this hotel were 1) the hot water ran out both mornings during my shower but came back on shortly thereafter (when I complained to the front desk, they credited me some Hyatt points). I have a feeling this may not be an unusual occurrence. Also, we returned after a show and we were hungry so we attempted to eat at the restaurant in the lobby. We waited for quite some time and nobody stopped to seat us, so we finally went into the bar and asked for service. They told us the restaurant closed 5 minutes ago (we had been waiting for a table prior to that). For our inconvenience, they gave us two bottles of water, but really, if we had received prompt service, we could have ordered food.

All in all, I would definitely stay here again. The hotel has a great location and NYC feel - I loved it for the most part.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,241
    1,717
    844
    332
    198
See reviews for
961
1183
263
947
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (600)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is its location which is right above Grand Central Station. The notion of service or personal attention seems to have no place at this hotel. It seems to me that there are better alternatives for the same or lower prices where they recognize that guests are real people and not just problems. The rooms are Hyatt normal but a bit faded and in need of renovation but it seems that different floors have rooms of different standards, i was paying a good rate so I expected a good room. I checked in late and sense the room I got was one off the last and least desirable.

Room Tip: Make sure the room you book is the room you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

we stayed at the Grand Hyatt for 5 nights and were happy with it. the room was huge with a small but adequate bathroom. the room had a king sized comfortable bed and was very modern. very good location next to grand central station and in walking distance to most attractions. the lobby staff were nice and gave us free wifi which was a plus. we found the hotel market/shop staff quite rude but we only went there once. it was a comfortable place to come home to and relax.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Two rooms booked I with King and 2nd with 2 doubles, brother and sister travelling together... Reconfirmed 1 week before travelling. Yes all ok
Day of arrival Rooms 1 king 1 double could not get through to staff that we needed two beds in 2nd room excuse oh hotel full.trundle produced for first night pack luggage and we will move you tomorrow.
2nd Day staff at desk insisted arrangements would have to stay the same as we hadn't pack bags for moving, went to room maid making up room for new family BAGS MISSING it took another hour before the bags were found and as it turned out they had been moved to a room with 2 double beds. Not very Professional for a Hyatt I would have thought. rest of stay was ok but the poor start and staff lies left a sour taste in the mouth would not recommend Hyatt NYC

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This was our first trip to NYC. We have 2 sons college age and all of us fit perfectly into the 2 double bed room. A rollaway bed was provided. We were on the 19th floor our window faced 42nd. Safe, very nicely decorated hotel. Bathroom is small, but overall room size fit the 4 of us for 3 nights without any issues. Our room was located right across from the elevator doors. However, we were pleasantly surprised we did not hear the noise like we thought we would. Good room insulation between rooms.

The hotel is on the corner of 42nd and Lexington Ave. A very safe and comfortable neighborhood. We avoided the Time Square busy tourist area, yet we were able to walk to Time square in a matter of blocks.

It is right next door to Grand Central Station. We learned to ride the subway via the MTA website and they even have a trip planner so you can type in beginning location (Grand Central) and ending location (any attraction you want to see). We went to the World Trade Center via subway and back to hotel via subway. We also went to the upper East Side and central park via subway as it was raining and our planned 1.6 mile walk was rained out. We felt safe and enjoyed the feeling of living like the locals riding the subway.

We were able to walk to 31st and Lexington for dinner at Vezzo's Pizza. A 15 min walk straight south on Lexington down to 31st. A very nice pizza and pasta restaurant which was very busy with locals. We were also able to walk 1.6 miles to the Circle Line tour (we chose the 3 hour trip around Manhattan Island and highly enjoyed the experience, well worth the 39$ fee per person) straight west on 42nd to 12th on a beautiful Sunday mid-morning.

There is a Duane Reade across the street at Lexington and 42nd. We bought all of our bottled water and yogurt, etc there as the hotel was high priced for basic items. There is a Starbucks close - go north up Lexington on the same block and same side of the street as the hotel. There is a Duncan Donuts south on Lexington between 42nd and 41st, right side of the street. A block from the hotel.

The Hyatt was very nice, accommodating, clean, friendly and we will stay again. The price is usual for that star of hotel in the area. I researched all of these types of hotels thoroughly before actually booking, they all run about the same price. I am happy with my choice and would absolutely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belmont
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We recently traveled to New York on Choir Tour, we stayed at the Grand Hyatt.
The rooms were comfortable, clean and quiet. The location right above Grand Central Station was perfect, just walk downstairs and hop on the subway.
The staff was amazing, except for the Bell Hops.
We arrived as a group, they were pre paid to take our bags up to our room, when the bus arrived out front, not one of them stepped forward to help.
The next morning we hired a van to take us to Costco to shop for snacks for the kids, when we arrived back at the hotel, we stood on the curb for over forty five minutes waiting for someone to help us, apparently the unions do not allow bell hops to move food, so we had to call to the mail room, when one gentleman arrived we were told it would be $10.00 per item to move, did not have too much choice had to pay the money. The entire time we stood on the curb, not one bell hop touched one piece of luggage, far cry from bell hops in San Francisco.
The room attendants were very friendly and always had our room clean by the time we arrived back at our hotel, when ever we would see one of them, they would always ask if we needed anything and if everything was ok.
I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again. I have no problem moving my own luggage, saves me a few bucks! Obviously will not do a Costco run again, it was four and a half miles from our hotel , but took almost an hour to get there Traffic! If you are traveling in a large group, give the kids a debit card or cash each day, all kinds of places to get a quick bite within a block or less of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I gave my husband a trip to NYC along with attending the Mets/Cubs game (go cubs!) as his wedding present from me. He has never been to NYC before, so I wanted to make sure we were centrally located and could do lots of sight-seeing. We loved the Grand Hyatt! The staff was great and helped us figure out the subway ride to the Mets game, as well as, gave us lots of maps/tips/ etc. We flew in early (9am) and were afraid that we wouldn't be able to check in, but they already had a room available. The rooms were comfortable and the bed is SO comfortable! Bathrooms are a little small, but that's to be expected in NYC (we were in a standard King room). Grand Hyatt is right beside Grand Central, right across the street from the Chrysler Building and within walking distance from Time Square and Rockefeller Plaza. We also walked to Central Park/FAO Schwartz area-this was a far walk though... Overall a great time and would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hyatt New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt New York

Address: 109 East 42nd Street, Park Avenue at Grand Central Terminal, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Green Hotel in New York City
#39 Spa Hotel in New York City
#142 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#173 Family Hotel in New York City
#195 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#209 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt New York 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier location in the heart of New York's famous midtown. Striking lobby with waterfalls, seating areas and three restaurants and lounges. Direct access to Grand Central Terminal and connected to the Chrysler Building. Steps from Times Square, Shopping and the Theatre District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Amex, Tingo, Otel, Agoda, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Grand Hyatt New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt New York City
Hyatt New York City
Hotel Hyatt New York
Grand Hotel Hyatt New York
New York City Grand Hyatt Hotel
Hyatt Hotel New York City
Grand Hyatt Hotel New York
New York Hyatt
New York City Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.