We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hyatt New York to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   109 East 42nd Street, Park Avenue at Grand Central Terminal, New York City, NY 10017 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #277 of 464 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
belmont
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We recently traveled to New York on Choir Tour, we stayed at the Grand Hyatt.
The rooms were comfortable, clean and quiet. The location right above Grand Central Station was perfect, just walk downstairs and hop on the subway.
The staff was amazing, except for the Bell Hops.
We arrived as a group, they were pre paid to take our bags up to our room, when the bus arrived out front, not one of them stepped forward to help.
The next morning we hired a van to take us to Costco to shop for snacks for the kids, when we arrived back at the hotel, we stood on the curb for over forty five minutes waiting for someone to help us, apparently the unions do not allow bell hops to move food, so we had to call to the mail room, when one gentleman arrived we were told it would be $10.00 per item to move, did not have too much choice had to pay the money. The entire time we stood on the curb, not one bell hop touched one piece of luggage, far cry from bell hops in San Francisco.
The room attendants were very friendly and always had our room clean by the time we arrived back at our hotel, when ever we would see one of them, they would always ask if we needed anything and if everything was ok.
I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again. I have no problem moving my own luggage, saves me a few bucks! Obviously will not do a Costco run again, it was four and a half miles from our hotel , but took almost an hour to get there Traffic! If you are traveling in a large group, give the kids a debit card or cash each day, all kinds of places to get a quick bite within a block or less of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,553
    2,077
    1,052
    398
    241
See reviews for
1,177
1,452
286
1,233
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (805)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
High Point, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I gave my husband a trip to NYC along with attending the Mets/Cubs game (go cubs!) as his wedding present from me. He has never been to NYC before, so I wanted to make sure we were centrally located and could do lots of sight-seeing. We loved the Grand Hyatt! The staff was great and helped us figure out the subway ride to the Mets game, as well as, gave us lots of maps/tips/ etc. We flew in early (9am) and were afraid that we wouldn't be able to check in, but they already had a room available. The rooms were comfortable and the bed is SO comfortable! Bathrooms are a little small, but that's to be expected in NYC (we were in a standard King room). Grand Hyatt is right beside Grand Central, right across the street from the Chrysler Building and within walking distance from Time Square and Rockefeller Plaza. We also walked to Central Park/FAO Schwartz area-this was a far walk though... Overall a great time and would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Second time in this hotel. Primarily because of the location and my corporate pricing. There were no bed side lamps in my room and it took 3 days of continuous talking to the front desk to get an answer that it will stay like that. No bed lights because they are broken and they are back ordered. No suggestion of another room or alternatives.Could not pass the front desk and no one returned my calls. Bad for you Hyatt. I used to spend between a week and 10 days a year with you. I will be looking at other hotels next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Great location,Very welcoming on arrival. Hotel is clean and smart,handy for all the attractions . Room was well spaced out and comfortable,plus wifi was great valve for money.Grand Central Station was next door to catch train all over New York

Room Tip: Room 1584 away from lifts and good size
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
179 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

A caveat up front - when I say decent value in the title it's only because I was paying my company's corporate rate, which is admittedly almost one half less than the standard room rate for the room we had. But, putting that aside, we like this hotel for its convenient location, fast elevators, recently renovated rooms, and the service. The good things - the staff is very polished for a big corporate hotel. More like a boutique in terms of service. Love the very fast elevators. The gym is decent sized and has all the amenities like chilled towels, cold water, headphones, etc. Our room was probably on the large size for a standard room, and for mid-town Manhattan it was more spacious than I expected. And of course, location is great. The not so goods - the bathroom sink/shelf set up is ridiculous, who the h*ll can wash his/her face without spilling water everywhere? They need to ditch the shelf above the sink. The HVAC system fan was noisy and even on the coldest setting the room was always just a tad warm for our taste. Given its size and location the hotel hosts a lot of large groups so sometimes it's tough squeezing through the crowds in the lobby. The electronic light switches in the rooms seem to have a mind of their own, requiring frequent taps to turn on/off...... But if you can get a discounted rate through your company or AAA, or AARP or some other club, this is a nice hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the west side on the upper floors. You'll be looking across Grand Central sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
395 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Hotel has very welcoming, accommodating staff. Room was contemporary with a creative division between the bedroom and desk/work area with TV to accommodate both. Room was very clean, great shower/bathroom, with exceptional housekeeping. Left running shoes and realized this after traveling to Wash DC from NYC (a first "misstep" for me) and called the hotel from DC. Yes, they had my running shoes, and shipped them to me! We needed to use the business center extensively and the hotel was extremely accommodating. We weren't a bother and in fact, they made it less expensive for us.

Don't worry about staying above the Grand Central train terminal. There was no anticipated noise, distraction from the station below. In fact, in terms of the hotel location, the Grand Central terminal offered everything: food, maps, stores. The historic interior of Grand Central Station is beautiful, great photo ops and offers an upstairs lounge. Stay away during rush hour, VERY busy as you would imagine.

Don't let the address fool you, Broadway shows are not "just" down the street. The walk to the theatre district is longer than expected - the east/west blocks are much longer (about a 3 block equivalent) than the north/south blocks.You have to walk several blocks more east to the theatres. However, the hotel is so close to the Empire State Building, Crysler Building, Macy's, Harold Square (across from Macy's), Bryant Park and subways take you to SOHO, Chinatown, Little Italy. The location of this hotel combined with its superior staff makes it one of my NYC favorites. Exceeds my high expectations.

Room Tip: If you don't like the "city" noise, ask to stay on an upper floor. I've had no pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I stayed at the Grand Hyatt for two weeks. Whilst the hotel has great location, this is the only positive thing I can say about this hotel. Given the price the Hyatt charges it is a disappointing experience. Considering you can negotiate a similar price at the Waldorf I would stay there in the future.

Here are a few things I observed in my stay – whilst none is a deal breaker combined it made of a poor experience I did not expect from a Hyatt hotel:
- Noise from the hallway is audible in the room
- The room is small relative to what you pay for
- The hotel is always busy day and night with the lobby full of people. It feels like the lobby is an extension of Grand Central Station with people just passing through
- The room furnishings is not great – I cut my leg on the table in the room
- They stopped restocking the bath room supplies after a few days
- There was an open half empty coke can in the mini bar from the previous guest
- It costs you $2 to keep your bags at the hotel after you check out
- There is no in room free wifi (only in the lobby)
- The bath tube drain was blocked

Room Tip: Get a room in the Waldorf instead
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Grand Hyatt New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt New York

Address: 109 East 42nd Street, Park Avenue at Grand Central Terminal, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Green Hotel in New York City
#168 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#195 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#215 Family Hotel in New York City
#225 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt New York 4*
Number of rooms: 1306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier location in the heart of New York's famous midtown. Striking lobby with waterfalls, seating areas and three restaurants and lounges. Direct access to Grand Central Terminal and connected to the Chrysler Building. Steps from Times Square, Shopping and the Theatre District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Otel so you can book your Grand Hyatt New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt New York City
Hyatt New York City
New York City Grand Hyatt Hotel
Hotel Hyatt New York
Hyatt Hotel New York City
Grand Hotel Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt Hotel New York
New York Hyatt
New York City Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.