We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hyatt New York to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   109 East 42nd Street, Park Avenue at Grand Central Terminal, New York City, NY 10017 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
A Suite Deal!
Ranked #259 of 459 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wayland, Mass
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My wife and had a great stay at the Grand Hyatt located at grand central station. The staff were very professional and accommodating. My wife loved talking with Megan, a new Hyatt employee from Chicago. We traveled to NYC from Boston on Amtrak. Cab fare from Penn Station was $8.00. From the Hyatt it is really easy to catch the subway to downtown or Central Park. The Hyatt was a great choice for weekend visit and the bed was very comfortable after a long day walking around the City.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,354
    1,835
    911
    345
    214
See reviews for
1,028
1,277
273
1,031
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (682)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I stayed here for a girls weekend with a couple of my best friends. The room was clean, modern and even had a great view of Grand Central Station. The room itself was small. Which you would expect from a NYC hotel. We spent most of our time enjoying the city. The one drawback of this hotel are the overpriced drinks at the bar. The bar and lobby are very modern and stylish but not worthy of 20$ mojitos.

Room Tip: As for a larger bathroom if traveling with females.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, CT
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

I picked this hotel because it is on top of Grand Central. I had a bunch of meetings over two days in New York, so I took MetroNorth in, dropped off my bag with the bellman and took subways and buses everywhere. For someone from CT, the location is really excellent. I was pleasantly surprised by the size and quality of the room. It was huge and very clean. All amenities were great. I liked the advance online check-in service and my room was ready early. Separate charge for wifi (approx. $12/day). would definitely return. (PS, I did not get the vouchers others mentioned.)

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Was very impressed with my stay at the Grand Hyatt. It has been renovated and has a sleek, modern decor. It is a great location right next to Grand Central Station, and plenty of sights, shops, and restaurants around. We got a great deal here, and I would definitely stay here again. The beds were super comfortable after long days of shopping!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

I'm not sure why this hotel is so far down the trip advisor list in NYC. It's the best hotel I've stayed at (I found it better than Waldorf towers but everyone's tastes are different) in the city. Rooms are very large for New York standards, beds extremely comfortable, rooms well decorated and well equipped. Location is excellent. I have already booked this hotel for my next visit.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoughton, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Having read reviews before my trip, I was prepared, and at registration asked if I could make three requests: a high floor, a room far from the elevators, and to be on Park Avenue rather than 42nd Street. The very friendly young man at the desk was able to honor all three requests, the third only because I had reserved a room with two double beds. He even offered a late checkout for the day we were leaving, at no extra charge. He also gave me six vouchers good for coffee, tea, or water, at the little food shop in the lobby. I'm not sure if everyone gets those, or if they are for Hyatt credit card customers. Our room was spacious, and immaculately clean. The beds were incredibly comfortable, and there was a chaise, a well-padded desk chair, plenty of space in drawers and in the closet, and also a refrigerator large enough for two full size bottles, and several smaller items. We had a great view, but were not bothered at all by noise from traffic, as we were so high up. We never did take the train, but enjoyed exploring Grand Central Station, and walked to Times Square, a nearby restaurant, and a Broadway show, taking cabs for restaurants which were farther away. Every staff member we dealt with or met was friendly and helpful, and the lobby has an exceptionally generous number of chairs, sofas, and padded benches, so when we had one last hour to spend before heading for our bus, we had a comfortable place to take turns minding our bags, as each of us took one last trip to a nearby store or point of interest. I would love to return to this hotel!!

Room Tip: My tips are above: a high floor, far from the elevator, and for quiet, ask for Park Avenue rather t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We are really in love with this place. I have only good words to say. The most friendly, kind and attentive staff I've ever come across. Right from when we stepped into the hotel we were taken care of by Claudine who escorted us to Megan and they were a wonder of service and smiles.
Room (2808) and bathroom was great and felt very fresh. Cleaning was impeccable.
We had breakfast a few mornings and there too the staff was so nice that you couldn't resist sitting there with a smile on your face and feeling good.
The lovely Mayra made sure we got excellent seatings every time we visited. Our table waitress was a joy to meet. Everybody we met just smiled and wanted to make sure we were happy.
We had fresh orange juice, omelets, waffles, smoothies that tasted perfect.
Add to all this that the location was superb.
Front door men were super professional in getting us cabs.
Couldn't have made a better choice for a first time trip to New York.
Will surely come back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hyatt New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt New York

Address: 109 East 42nd Street, Park Avenue at Grand Central Terminal, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Green Hotel in New York City
#142 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#180 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#182 Family Hotel in New York City
#213 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt New York 4*
Number of rooms: 1306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier location in the heart of New York's famous midtown. Striking lobby with waterfalls, seating areas and three restaurants and lounges. Direct access to Grand Central Terminal and connected to the Chrysler Building. Steps from Times Square, Shopping and the Theatre District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hyatt New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt New York City
Hyatt New York City
Hotel Hyatt New York
Grand Hotel Hyatt New York
New York City Grand Hyatt Hotel
Hyatt Hotel New York City
Grand Hyatt Hotel New York
New York Hyatt
New York City Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.