We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel in a prime location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hyatt New York to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   109 East 42nd Street, Park Avenue at Grand Central Terminal, New York City, NY 10017 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #282 of 464 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel in a prime location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Although expensive, the Grand Hyatt is a great hotel that comes highly recommended. The room was typical Hyatt in quality which is a good thing. Considering how small some rooms can be in Manhattan I was pleasantly surprised to have so much space in the room. Noise is all but eradicated from the outside by the well insulated windows. Views can vary but unless you're staying nearer Central Park or right on Times Square this is often the case anyway.

Other nice touches like the touch panels for lighting, docking station, additional toiletries and in room iron/board made the stay so much easier and pleasant. The lobby and other facilities in the hotel are nice and if you're looking for something a bit cheaper to eat or drink you can always get the lift into the magnificent Grand Central Terminal and find something on the concourse or nearby shops there. It's New York - there are options everywhere!

A final note to the brilliant gentleman who helped me get my Wrestlemania chair back home in the mail office in the business centre - a friendly and knowledgeable guy that couldn't do enough to help me.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,605
    2,120
    1,075
    408
    246
See reviews for
1,205
1,488
294
1,274
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (824)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hungerford, Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

This was my second tIme au the Hyatt and I can only say its improved from our last visit! Looks amazing , staff were fantastic , rooms had excellent refurb , great site seeing location! Overall highly recommended! New bar over lobby looks and feels the part!! But its a Bit pricey!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Just returned from a 3 day stay at the Grand Hyatt and I have nothing but the best things to say about this hotel. The staff (big shoutout to Diane who truly made this trip so special) were all courteous, kind and very helpful. You can't beat the location of this hotel, it's central to everything. The rooms are immaculate - very modern, clean and SPACIOUS (well, by New York City standards anyway). I've had friends stay at other top notch hotels in the city and their room sizes were half the size of the Hyatt. Would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed two nights on a recent business trip. Our NYC offices are around the corner so very convenient. My room was very nice, typical Hyatt. I like that Hyatt give you toothpaste as a toiletry. A small, subtle but unique differentiator. Had a nice view of the Chrysler building. Got a reasonable night sleep though even on a high floor was awake at 5am due to traffic noise on Lexington Ave. The fitness center is well equipped including kettle bells, and a heavy bag, but in an exceedingly cramped space. Floor space was at a premium. Wireless worked flawlessly- streamed video w/no problems. Since this was on business I didn't worry about the rate, but it would have probably made me choose a different location for personal travel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Good size room, nice decor and colour coordination. Bathroom a bit worn, I see my bathroom is also a bit smaller than some other guest photos. Around the corner from the subway station. Newark airport shuttle close by, 50 minute ride at 5pm on a Tuesday. There seem to be 60+ rooms on a floor, I would stay away from the elevators.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
223 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Grand Central terminal was a great location to stay. The hotel lobby was large and modern and it was nice to have the convenience of the subway and shops. The rooms have no personality and we had a terrible view (but not everyone can have a view). The rooms were in good condition but could be cleaner and the water pressure was terrible.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My only other Grand Hyatt experience has been in Hong Kong and the New York version is no comparison. The room was fine but small, and the bathroom smaller still. It is a huge hotel and the checking-in feels like a production line. The decoration, although recently refreshed, looks and feels drab to me. The bed was comfortable and the shower fine so at one level I can't complain. But the overall experience was merely functional and not delightful. I won't be returning.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hyatt Times Square New York
Hyatt Times Square New York
#48 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,185 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York Grand Central
The Westin New York Grand Centra...
#220 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,837 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt 48 Lex
Hyatt 48 Lex
#130 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#58 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 4,371 reviews
Midtown
Andaz 5th Avenue
Andaz 5th Avenue
#46 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,683 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#168 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 5,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt New York

Address: 109 East 42nd Street, Park Avenue at Grand Central Terminal, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Green Hotel in New York City
#171 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#196 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#204 Family Hotel in New York City
#223 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt New York 4*
Number of rooms: 1306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier location in the heart of New York's famous midtown. Striking lobby with waterfalls, seating areas and three restaurants and lounges. Direct access to Grand Central Terminal and connected to the Chrysler Building. Steps from Times Square, Shopping and the Theatre District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Otel so you can book your Grand Hyatt New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt New York City
Hyatt New York City
Grand Hotel Hyatt New York
Hyatt Hotel New York City
Hotel Hyatt New York
New York City Grand Hyatt Hotel
Grand Hyatt Hotel New York
New York Hyatt
New York City Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.