We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One word: AMAZING” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hyatt New York to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   109 East 42nd Street, Park Avenue at Grand Central Terminal, New York City, NY 10017 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #284 of 464 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One word: AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Just returned from a 3 day stay at the Grand Hyatt and I have nothing but the best things to say about this hotel. The staff (big shoutout to Diane who truly made this trip so special) were all courteous, kind and very helpful. You can't beat the location of this hotel, it's central to everything. The rooms are immaculate - very modern, clean and SPACIOUS (well, by New York City standards anyway). I've had friends stay at other top notch hotels in the city and their room sizes were half the size of the Hyatt. Would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,610
    2,127
    1,080
    410
    248
See reviews for
1,214
1,493
294
1,279
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (827)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed two nights on a recent business trip. Our NYC offices are around the corner so very convenient. My room was very nice, typical Hyatt. I like that Hyatt give you toothpaste as a toiletry. A small, subtle but unique differentiator. Had a nice view of the Chrysler building. Got a reasonable night sleep though even on a high floor was awake at 5am due to traffic noise on Lexington Ave. The fitness center is well equipped including kettle bells, and a heavy bag, but in an exceedingly cramped space. Floor space was at a premium. Wireless worked flawlessly- streamed video w/no problems. Since this was on business I didn't worry about the rate, but it would have probably made me choose a different location for personal travel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Good size room, nice decor and colour coordination. Bathroom a bit worn, I see my bathroom is also a bit smaller than some other guest photos. Around the corner from the subway station. Newark airport shuttle close by, 50 minute ride at 5pm on a Tuesday. There seem to be 60+ rooms on a floor, I would stay away from the elevators.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
223 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Grand Central terminal was a great location to stay. The hotel lobby was large and modern and it was nice to have the convenience of the subway and shops. The rooms have no personality and we had a terrible view (but not everyone can have a view). The rooms were in good condition but could be cleaner and the water pressure was terrible.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My only other Grand Hyatt experience has been in Hong Kong and the New York version is no comparison. The room was fine but small, and the bathroom smaller still. It is a huge hotel and the checking-in feels like a production line. The decoration, although recently refreshed, looks and feels drab to me. The bed was comfortable and the shower fine so at one level I can't complain. But the overall experience was merely functional and not delightful. I won't be returning.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Hotel was renovated last year and is of a good standard. Check in was easy and I was upgraded and given free wifi for taking a room with two beds....fine for me as i was traveling alone. Location is convenient with Grand Central right next door. The service from all employees I encountered was good. Only strange thing was the $2 charge per bag to hold luggage, I have not experienced this anywhere in the world.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Stayed here for Spring Break and was pleasantly surprised. Right next to Grand Central subway makes this a great hub for trips in the city. As a Gold Passport member, had access to the Hyatt Club level which always had goodies and a nice breakfast. Despite loads of people they kept it clean and moving nicely. We stayed in a suite upgrade room which was an awesome size and modern decor.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hyatt Times Square New York
Hyatt Times Square New York
#48 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,212 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York Grand Central
The Westin New York Grand Centra...
#220 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,846 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt 48 Lex
Hyatt 48 Lex
#127 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#56 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 4,383 reviews
Midtown
Andaz 5th Avenue
Andaz 5th Avenue
#46 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,690 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#166 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 5,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt New York

Address: 109 East 42nd Street, Park Avenue at Grand Central Terminal, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Green Hotel in New York City
#171 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#194 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#207 Family Hotel in New York City
#227 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt New York 4*
Number of rooms: 1306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier location in the heart of New York's famous midtown. Striking lobby with waterfalls, seating areas and three restaurants and lounges. Direct access to Grand Central Terminal and connected to the Chrysler Building. Steps from Times Square, Shopping and the Theatre District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Grand Hyatt New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt New York City
Hyatt New York City
Grand Hotel Hyatt New York
Hyatt Hotel New York City
Hotel Hyatt New York
New York City Grand Hyatt Hotel
Grand Hyatt Hotel New York
New York Hyatt
New York City Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.