We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You really are at Grand Central Station” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Save Saved
You added Grand Hyatt New York to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hyatt New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   109 East 42nd Street, Park Avenue at Grand Central Terminal, New York City, NY 10017 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
A Suite Deal!
Ranked #259 of 453 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“You really are at Grand Central Station”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The lobby at the Grand Hyatt feels as though it really is Grand Central Station. There are so many people it has a chaotic feel - people and bags everywhere. Suprisingly, anyone can enter the lobby and then get right onto the elevators. Unlike other hotels where one must use a room key to work the elevator, this hotel allows anyone up on the floors. After one of my co-workers had an scary incident with someone trying to get into the business center without a room key while she was in there alone, I never felt quite safe in this hotel. The rooms were spacious but modern and devoid of character. My room had no bathtub - only a shower which I don't really like. All in all this hotel is just too big with too many people everywhere - restaurants, lobby, conference center. I know it is NYC but I didn't need to be reminded of it every minute in the hotel with large crowds everywhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,246
    1,723
    847
    332
    200
See reviews for
964
1,185
263
955
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (603)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The Grand Hyatt New York was booked at 260 a night, I was upgraded to a club room upon arrival. Great club room, breakfast was very good with lots of selections. We ate in one night and the short ribs were outstanding along with the selection of breads. Great service at the bar. The room was spacious and clean. No complaints with the bed, slept very well.

Room Tip: Get a club room, its up high enough you don't hear any noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The Grand Hyatt is located very conveniently right next to Grand Central Station on Manhattan, and is within walking distance of places like Times Square and Rockefeller Center.

I was first greeted by the modern and stylish lobby, then by the freshly renovated room, everything was clean, well functioning and efficient. The beds were very comfortable, and gave me very good sleep.

Service was very good, since I came in from overseas there were no problems having packages from online vendors sent to the hotel for pickup when I arrived.

A decent breakfast was available in the Grand Club.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BUENOS AIRES
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Once again in New York City, Manhattan, one of the most great cities in the US, I stayed at these Hyatt once again.
The Hotel was completely renovated, with the huge lobby now more biggest than ever!! Nice Front Desk, nice Furniture and the most important: the Staff was very helpful.
My room , a Suite, was perfect!! view to be in NYC WOW yes , I got view from my room an even my living area, two big plasma, comfy bed, fridge, coffee maker , and with lot of room to move, work or just lay in a coach to watch you favorite movie, right at the screen, listen music or reading a book at night.
I also have access to the Grand Club, so I can take breakfast, free beverages, pink salmon old day long, and everything you need for a City like NY where you are running even shopping or working all day long.
When I return at the evening the Grand Club was perfect for a drink, a soda, eat something like finger food.
Quick room service for dinner and for any inconvenience during your stay, you just call, and they are in your room in a few minutes.
Perfect area , for me the best, beside Grand Central Station, even waking distance to all tourist attractions and SHOPPING !!! one of the things I really LOVE and ENJOY at NYC.
Special thanks to my great friend, at the reservations office JORGE LAZO, thanks Jorge!!!!
He is the most helpful person i ever knew , always attending every guest one by one and make us feel like home.
I recommend this FABULOUS HOTEL

Room Tip: Corner rooms, high floor,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This is an ok hotel but nothing to shout about. It's a big, impersonal hotel without much character, it's old but recently renovated. Rooms have tiny pigeon hole bathrooms. Location is good. I have stayed here a number of time so I can't be all bad.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I stayed here just one night on a recent business trip, arriving late and leaving early in the morning the following day. I travelled on the subway from JFK which was quite easy (took an hour) and the hotel turned out to be right above the subway station which was great.

Check in was very efficient - fully automated, I collected my room key from a machine in the lobby. My room was modern, comfortable and had good wi-fi. The bathroom was OK but the layout of the fittings was a bit odd - new units (save the bath tub) have been retro-fitted to the old layout and it was a bit cramped.

Breakfast was good and reasonably priced: quick and friendly service and very helpful serving staff.

Check out was just as efficient as checking in. Would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Undeniably great location, within walking distance to many Manhattan landmarks and a great base for a NYC shopping and sightseeing trip. Cabs easy to get even during peak periods and right next to Grand Central. Area is safe, we felt very safe walking (stumbling) back to the hotel late at night.

When you walk into the hotel you undoubtedly realise you are in a LARGE hotel - this is definitely a 'Grand' Hyatt (rather than a Park Hyatt or Hyatt Regency) - lobby has a very open floorplan and service is polite if not brisk and impersonal. Lifts are very busy but pretty speedy, so no complaints there. The trek from the lift to the room can be a hike, given the hotel size.

Rooms were very generously sized for midtown and on the 36th floor, no street noise and great views of the NYC concrete jungle! Decor of the rooms and comfort of the beds were exactly what you'd expect from a Hyatt hotel - i.e. solid, tasteful, and comfortable, if not grandiosely luxurious.

Stayed here for a week on a family vacation in January 2013 on Hyatt points, not sure if I would fork out cash for this place. This is undoubtedly a hotel that caters mostly to the business traveller.

Room Tip: Get a high floor away from the lift to avoid noise (even if it is a bit of a walk from the lift).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hyatt New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt New York

Address: 109 East 42nd Street, Park Avenue at Grand Central Terminal, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Green Hotel in New York City
#142 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#173 Family Hotel in New York City
#197 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#214 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt New York 4*
Number of rooms: 1306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier location in the heart of New York's famous midtown. Striking lobby with waterfalls, seating areas and three restaurants and lounges. Direct access to Grand Central Terminal and connected to the Chrysler Building. Steps from Times Square, Shopping and the Theatre District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hyatt New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt New York City
Hyatt New York City
Hotel Hyatt New York
Grand Hotel Hyatt New York
New York City Grand Hyatt Hotel
Hyatt Hotel New York City
Grand Hyatt Hotel New York
New York Hyatt
New York City Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.